Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Having trouble moving from Manual Voltage to Adaptive Voltage

    Hi everyone

    First let me say that I am not an experienced overclocker by any means, I only have experience doing basic overclocking with manual voltage. Please don't crucify me if I misunderstand something or make a mistake.

    With that out the way, I have a Maximus X Hero Z370 motherboard and I am currently running my 8700k at 4.8Ghz with a manual Vcore of 1.275V in BIOS (1.264V read by AIDA64, CPUID, AI suite etc) and LLC level 6. DRAM is just set to XMP 3200mhz (G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB). The system is stable during AIDA64 FPU stress test and can complete a Realbench stress test without error. The core voltage reading stays at 1.264V in all situations.

    I have read other threads on this forum that say it's not ideal to be on LLC level 6 and full voltage all the time so I am trying to change to adaptive voltage. I have followed this guide in an attempt to do so: http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lak...163.1518169370

    I understand the guide is for Kaby Lake CPUs but I am led to believe that the process remains the same for Coffee Lake and the BIOS UI is more or less the same.

    The issue I am having is that after following the instructions in the guide, when i run AIDA64 FPU stress test to test stability, the core voltage continually drops and the CPU clock speed drops with it. The voltage will start at 1.264 and after starting the test it will gradually reduce all the way down to 1.00V and the clock speed to 4Ghz before I cancel the test.

    I have included some screenshots of my BIOS settings that I used, please let me know if I have missed any important information and I will do my best to provide it. Any help would be appreciated. For now I have just reverted to my manual voltage settings.






  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Try setting Multicore Enhancement to Auto. LLC to 5. LLC found in External Digital+Power Control.

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,869

    And AIDA isn't flagging thermal throttling whilst the test is running?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Try setting Multicore Enhancement to Auto. LLC to 5. LLC found in External Digital+Power Control.
    I could be wrong, but I remember reading that multi core enhancement has no effect when you dial in your own OC settings?

    I can try LLC 5, I did try LLC 4 and the exact same thing happened though.

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    And AIDA isn't flagging thermal throttling whilst the test is running?
    Nah it's not thermal throttling, I have a custom watercooling loop with a 420mm radiatior, temps were in the 50s at the time.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    I could be wrong, but I remember reading that multi core enhancement has no effect when you dial in your own OC settings?

    I can try LLC 5, I did try LLC 4 and the exact same thing happened though.



    Nah it's not thermal throttling, I have a custom watercooling loop with a 420mm radiatior, temps were in the 50s at the time.

    Assuming there is no throttling (use core temp to assess). Clear cmos, set the overclock again. This time, leave the multi core enhance setting at its default and don’t answer no to applying mce if prompted when enabling XMP. Doing so locks the TDP. Can’t really tell which process you went through initially, but it’s likely related to one of these. Once the TDP is locked, you have to revert to defaults to reset the condition.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Assuming there is no throttling (use core temp to assess). Clear cmos, set the overclock again. This time, leave the multi core enhance setting at its default and don’t answer no to applying mce if prompted when enabling XMP. Doing so locks the TDP. Can’t really tell which process you went through initially, but it’s likely related to one of these. Once the TDP is locked, you have to revert to defaults to reset the condition.
    Ok I'll give this a shot. Will post the results afterward. Thanks.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Ok so I've just carried out the above and with LLC level 4 my system can pass AIDA64 FPU stress test and Realbench Stress Test without losing clock speed. It is worth noting with LLC on auto the system crashed straight away when starting AIDA64 FPU test.

    I'm seeing 1.264V idle (high performance power plan, 0.650V on balanced) however it jumps to 1.280V for a split second every so often for some reason. At full load in ADIA64 FPU test the voltage drops to 1.232V and is stable. Temps are lower than before as a result which is good:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.8Ghz 1.275V LLC4 adaptive 15min stabilitytest.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	46.1 KB 
ID:	73821

    However in Realbench I see the voltage bounce around between 1.216V to 1.248V the entire time. You can see it in this video:



    On a side note you can see ROG CPUID and Core temp's readings seem to flicker during the stress test, is this normal because the system is being hammered or is it a sign of instability? Realbench still passed with no errors.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RealBench-20180515044331.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	371.1 KB 
ID:	73822

    Forgive me for being a noob here but I'm still a little unclear as to what level of LLC is safe for my voltage setting. My understanding is that LLC reduces vdroop but can increase the voltage overshoot when coming off load. I also understand that this overshoot is so brief it's not detectable by software, which is why I'm confused about what level is safe for long term use. I got the above info from this video from Der8auer:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XGhpKHWYAg

    Thanks a lot for helping me get this far, I really appreciate it.
    Last edited by Zammin; 05-16-2018 at 04:04 AM.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,869

    Level 4 LLC is fine. If the system is stable, no need to increase LLC further. Core temp fluctuation is perfectly normal during load transitioning whilst Realbench is being run.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Level 4 LLC is fine. If the system is stable, no need to increase LLC further. Core temp fluctuation is perfectly normal during load transitioning whilst Realbench is being run.
    Thanks, it's good to know LLC 4 is safe. It's very difficult for new overclockers like myself to determine since the voltage spikes are undetectable by software.

    Regarding core temp and CPU-Z what I was referring to was the actual text in areas of the window flickering during Realbench. I'm not seeing any other signs of instability so I'm guessing it's just being slightly slower to update those fields while the system is being stressed to the max.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Also I've fixed the video so it's no longer potato quality haha. For some reason youtube doesn't like uploads directly from my phone.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •