cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i7 8700k OC problem - BCLK stays at 96 instead of 100

Fourside
Level 7
Hello dear ROG enthusiasts 🙂

About 2 weeks ago i got my new Gaming rig after 8 years of abstinence from PC Gaming.
Had alot of fun building my PC and delidding my 8700k and ive been tinkering with my OC ever since. Im new to overclocking and read alot about it.

Yet still i was wondering for quite some time why my OC was always lower than showed in the UEFI, even the stock OC only went to 4.5ghz on one core, all 6 cores with MCE. Took me as a noob way to long to realize that my BCLK once booted is only 96 instead of 100.

i took some pictures from all my UEFI settings (sorry in case i took some unneccessary pics) and also 2 pics of a cinebench with CPU-Z open and HWinfo

heres the link https://imgur.com/a/tXgArhH

things i already tried:
- Updating UEFI to (0616, previously 0615, same results)
- resetting CMOs and start over (multiple times)
- Enabling XMP
- Enabling MCE
- Enabling XMP + MCE
- Set an AVX offset of 1 results in another 100mhz less
- Setting LLC to level 3-7
- Power management set to Auto or Performance
- SVID to Auto or Best Case scenario

My MB is a ROG STRIX Z370-F

if you guys need any more information just ask! im hyped to keep trying 🙂 thanks for any help in advance!
13 REPLIES 13

Fourside
Level 7
no one an idea? all the stuff about the topic i find online is about really minor diffrences, like 99.8. My 96 severly cuts my OC down from 4.8ghz (which is only a starting point) to 4.6ghz.

some people mentioned its a software issue, but i get the same readings in all the monitoring softwares i tried.

do i need to replace the MB? its pretty much the last idea i got unless someone else may be able to help me out 🙂

Fourside
Level 7