Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    How is that possible?

    Hello,

    Last night while I was playing my 2 screens turn off and my graphics card fan accelerated ( Asus strix 1080ti OC) Forced to do a reset.

    Then I was able to continue playing without any problems.

    This morning impossible to play, 2 black screen and forced to reset with all games.

    After doing a lot of tests, the only solution that worked was to put the bios back with STRIX1080TISilent.exe and since I don't have any problems anymore.

    How to explain that, how a bios can suddenly be a problem?

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    Were you doing any overclocking?

    It's rare but any storage or memory can have a random bit flip which can corrupt whatever is stored on it. So theoretically BIOS chips can be spontaneously corrupted but I've never seen it happen.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    The only overclocking I do is the one available directly from the Tweak II GPU application ( OC, gaming or silent)

    On the other hand I read that the voltage were not the same with the silent firmware, that can explain also the difference but as I had not noted the voltage before I do not know if it is that.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,832

    Black screen will be GPU instability. So whatever boost clock and voltage the card was running at on the previous configuration, it wasn't entirely stable.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    It's really weird my problem, after installing the bios I didn't have any problems yesterday, I test with several games, and I launched 3Dmark in stress for several hours.

    My computer remained on all night and this morning impossible to wake the screens, forced to do a reset, yet the computer was working because my automatic backup worked normally this morning at 8 AM and no error in the event viewer.

    The disc led was blinking normally, but it was impossible to make a teamviewer maybe because the video card wasn't working anymore.

    I'll change the power supply on Tuesday to see if it's that but I really have no idea what the problem is. My computer was working great until Friday night when there was the first problem.

    I can't find the problem because it doesn't appear often like before I install bios 86.02.39.00.23 quiet but I don't know before the one I had.

    With the old video bios as soon as I started a game it crashed.

    It's hard to know if it's a video card problem or a power problem. if anyone has an idea I'm very interested.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    You can test your GPU card in another machine.

    You can do the same with your PSU, though results will be less conclusive unless it's dying hard.

    I'd go through the usual troubleshooting methods first. Re-seat the GPU card, clean the PCIe connectors if needed, check all power inputs are firmly secured (at both ends if the PSU is modular), Clear CMOS and strip the system down to minimal hardware (and one DIMM) then build and test upward one piece at a time until a hardware fault can be isolated/replicated or just magically seems to fix itself.
    Last edited by Korth; 05-20-2018 at 10:49 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •