Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Can I upgrade the processor in this thing, G752VL-BHI7N32?

    Hello everyone,


    I currently own an ASUS G752VL-BHI7N32 laptop. I'm interested in upgrading this machine If I can. I know I can upgrade the RAM and install a blu-ray drive, but I have no clue about the processor. It currently has a Core i7-6700 HQ Processor in it. Can the processor in this laptop be upgraded and If it can what are my options?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by adrian2055 View Post
    Hello everyone,


    I currently own an ASUS G752VL-BHI7N32 laptop. I'm interested in upgrading this machine If I can. I know I can upgrade the RAM and install a blu-ray drive, but I have no clue about the processor. It currently has a Core i7-6700 HQ Processor in it. Can the processor in this laptop be upgraded and If it can what are my options?
    TL;DR: No.

    Intel i7-6700HQ uses a BGA socket, which means the chip is soldered to the motherboard. You can't pull the processor out of the socket and replace it as you would do with a desktop processor with an LGA socket.
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-18-2018 at 06:35 PM. Reason: Updated 6700K link so it shows the socket type line immediately.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Inkar View Post
    TL;DR: No.

    Intel i7-6700HQ uses a BGA socket, which means the chip is soldered to the motherboard. You can't pull the processor out of the socket and replace it as you would do with a desktop processor with an LGA socket.
    iAw man that stinks! Oh well. Thanks for the info

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,634

    All you can upgrade is RAM, HDD, SSD (NVMe), CD Drive, WIFI?

    GPU and CPU are integrated / soldered onto the mainboard. Could desolder the CPU? But soldering on a new one would probably be incompatible. ;d

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •