Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry Windows 10 Feature Update 1803, G752VY winload.efi Problem AGAIN

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 05-03-18 at 04.27 PM.PNG 
Views:	85 
Size:	8.8 KB 
ID:	73621

    *RANT

    This thing happening again. Previously i dealt with this problem on 1607 update, referring to the 30 page long thread here about similar update failure on NVMe. I tried all the solutions about disabling S.M.A.R.T and the likes to no avail. I'm aware that clean format works, but that's not an option for me. I sent a complaint and they ask me to RMA, which also not an option because it will simply take too long and i don't have spare laptop/computer to use. In the end, i managed to update 1607 to 1709 by cloning the OS to a SATADrive, remove the NVMe SSD and then updating on the SATA Drive, i had thought that's it, no such problem will arise anymore.

    Well NOW it's happening again, feature update, winload.efi problem, the whole thing. The so called new NVMe driver from ASUS, the disabling of S.M.A.R.T, Raid mode whatever nothing works AGAIN. Had my Windows upgraded to PRO version so i can refuse updates bcs it eat to my SSD lifespan and network usage unnecessarily.

    Is there any working solution at all to this long running problem?? please?? Why do i have to clone my disk and update on spare SATA every.single.feature.update,, am i cursed? G752 BIOS doesn't even read the Samsung 950 PRO NVMe and only list it as 'Windows Boot Manager' in 'Boot'

    Edit: My laptop is G752VY. My OS installed in the Samsung 950 PRO SSD that came with the laptop. And i've read whole 30 pages of this thread.
    Last edited by hamsterzagard; 05-03-2018 at 09:53 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Will THIS THREAD provide any help for you ?
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asdsadsad.PNG 
Views:	66 
Size:	4.8 KB 
ID:	73648

    From 1709 updated today. :<

    You're doing something that's causing the issue maybe. Are you trying to install stuff like Samsung Magic?

    Note, prior to this update, a couple months back I did a clean, fresh install.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Will THIS THREAD provide any help for you ?
    Tried that new driver, still the same problem.


    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asdsadsad.PNG 
Views:	66 
Size:	4.8 KB 
ID:	73648

    From 1709 updated today. :<

    You're doing something that's causing the issue maybe. Are you trying to install stuff like Samsung Magic?

    Note, prior to this update, a couple months back I did a clean, fresh install.
    You're so lucky. I been having this problem since 1607, got around that problem with a fresh install. All the other feature update after that fail with, or without samsung magician, not even disabling S.M.A.R.T work for me. The only thing work for me is updating on SATA, its just too much hassle everytime :/ ,, the problem likely bcs im using AHCI mode instead of RAID. I notice in AHCI, the NVMe doesnt show in BIOS, while RAID show it.. But the switching method AHCI <-> RAID doesnt work for me and it might take a re-install to do it >.<

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    I can't remember what I did myself, I didn't touch my BIOS because I know you can screw it up so easily. If I remember correctly, it was in RAID but the drives weren't raided by setup.

    I am currently running two NVME 250gb SSD's by Samsung, and use them as separate drives. They work fine.

    Perhaps next time if you run into the issue, put the BIOS back to its normal config, (unsure if Factory Default is actually the same) then put all your stuff back on.

    I've learned with the G752s there's just no winning with it when you change a default value. Once my NVMe didn't ever show anymore, I had to swap the unit. After that, keyboard went.. finally figured that I updated too much stuff..

    So yeah, don't fiddle with settings, even if it looks stupid, chances are they'll bite you real hard.. :c
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Quote Originally Posted by hamsterzagard View Post
    Tried that new driver, still the same problem.




    You're so lucky. I been having this problem since 1607, got around that problem with a fresh install. All the other feature update after that fail with, or without samsung magician, not even disabling S.M.A.R.T work for me. The only thing work for me is updating on SATA, its just too much hassle everytime :/ ,, the problem likely bcs im using AHCI mode instead of RAID. I notice in AHCI, the NVMe doesnt show in BIOS, while RAID show it.. But the switching method AHCI <-> RAID doesnt work for me and it might take a re-install to do it >.<
    Yes, it does that a Clean install to switch from RAID to AHCI on NVME SSD.
    Raid Driver is installed at the beginning of the clean install the driver needed IRST Driver Needed download the f6flpy-x64.zip extract to the same USB install media your using to Clean Install with
    Once you start the Install by booting UEFI USB install media hit the Shift F10 key that will bring up a CMD window. use Diskspat to Clean and convert your SSD to GPT or Just Clean it, close the cmd wndow you won't see your SSD in the install to but there will be a link to install a driver click on that and point it to your RST driver. Boom there is your SSD continue the install.
    Of course it our switching from RAID to AHCI, You still boot UEFI, you may still need to use diskpart to clean the SSD but it will show up as a partition to install too.

    If the EFI partition gets screwed up after a WU or Image Restore, Macrium Reflect has a feature to repair boot sector and it works\

    I just installed 1803 Pro on my 960 Pro M.2 NVME as an in-place upgrade using the MCT to create my install media the upgrade went smoothly with no issue. I had switched from RAID to AHCI and clean installed 1709. I did this just to be sure myself how its done. Are there any advantaged I don't see any I can use Magician but so what. the latest firmware updates are Bricking M.2 SSD so there is not much else that I can't do without Magician. Benchmark is basically the same as they were running the RAID driver. So it comes down like a lot of other stuff if you understand how the RST driver works it just personal preference.
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 05-04-2018 at 01:56 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Same issue here, everytime happen with this new updates.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Quote Originally Posted by Killaz_87 View Post
    Same issue here, everytime happen with this new updates.
    Try running these DISM tools before you try again.

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /CheckHealth
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
    SFC /scannow
    chkdsk C: /f

    If you having a booting problem Macrium Reflect has a boot repair tool that works very well
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Try running these DISM tools before you try again.

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /CheckHealth
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
    SFC /scannow
    chkdsk C: /f

    If you having a booting problem Macrium Reflect has a boot repair tool that works very well
    Thanks, with all the CMD command come out with no issue.

    Got this error the first time 0xc1900101 and this the second time 0x80240034.

    Update: Just finished now to try with macrium, no changes at all.Always winload.efi
    Last edited by Killaz_87; 05-27-2018 at 05:07 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Quote Originally Posted by Killaz_87 View Post
    Thanks, with all the CMD command come out with no issue.

    Got this error the first time 0xc1900101 and this the second time 0x80240034.

    Update: Just finished now to try with macrium, no changes at all.Always winload.efi
    Searching on these errors brings up this for the first one
    And this on the 2nd

    These are windows 10 issues suggest you check out the Ten Forums for better help with windows issues.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •