Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy MAXIMUS X HERO WiFi XMP and Boot

    Hi
    I have mximus x hero wifi with BIOS version 1301, Following problem only occurs when enabling XMP:
    When i press the power button for turning on the PC the system starts but after a second, offs and On again, Why?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #1Gainward RTX 2080Triple/tempsense on Displayport needed
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    143

    Hi there,

    that one is asked for quiet often. Worry not!
    And kindly look into this similar thread:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-then-power-on

    Rgds
    Carlyle

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,370

    Hello mrjavadtaheri

    It sounds like you need to tweak the CPU System Agent voltage and CPU VCCIO voltage, usually setting these two to 1.15v achieves stability.

    A list of your pc specs would be helpful.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    My system spec:
    case: Corsair Crystal 570X
    fan:6xCorsair 120 LL series+Commander Pro
    kbd: Corsair K70 Rapidfire
    mouse: Corsair Scimitar
    mpad: Corsair MM800 Polaris
    cpu: i7-8700K
    mobo: ROG Maximus X Hero WiFi AC
    mem: GSkill TraidentZ RGB 3200MHz 2x8GB
    vga: Gigabyte GTX970-4GB
    psu: Corsair HX850i
    cooler: CoolerMaster ML240L
    monitor: Asus PG279Q
    ssd: Samsung NVMe 960 EVO-250GB
    hdd: WD Black 1TB+WD Blue 500G
    speaker: microlab M2000 5.1 channel

    Also boot time take long, when the yellow LED is on under Q-Code 7 Segments?!!!
    Last edited by mrjavadtaheri; 05-25-2018 at 04:54 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Have you tried manual memory input/tweaks versus using XMP profile?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Have you tried manual memory input/tweaks versus using XMP profile?
    No, i am not professional over clocker!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Jumping in a little late.

    Does it only do the start and shutoff and restart sequence once, after enabling XMP? Or, is it after every single shutdown/reboot? That behavior after first enabling the XMP profile is normal as its learning and setting the config. However, it shouldn't continue to do this repeatedly moving forward.

    Assuming that some basic troubleshooting has occurred; the Ram is in the correct slots, (A_2 and B_2) and that the modules have been removed and then re-seated.

    Also, when you enable the XMP profile you should Answer NO when it asks if you want to apply the multi-core enhancements. Just to rule out any factors as added voltages, timings etc. that could be causing stability issues.

    Manually adding in your RAM timings etc does not require any real expertise since you would be entering the stock timings for your XMP profile but, just manually doing it yourself vs letting the "magic" do it for you. It's when you start to stray away from the stock timings and voltages that you should be a little more cognizant of what you are doing. It's really quiet easy to enter those timings in, and I'm sure myself or others would be happy to show you how.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    Jumping in a little late.

    Does it only do the start and shutoff and restart sequence once, after enabling XMP? Or, is it after every single shutdown/reboot? That behavior after first enabling the XMP profile is normal as its learning and setting the config. However, it shouldn't continue to do this repeatedly moving forward.

    Assuming that some basic troubleshooting has occurred; the Ram is in the correct slots, (A_2 and B_2) and that the modules have been removed and then re-seated.

    Also, when you enable the XMP profile you should Answer NO when it asks if you want to apply the multi-core enhancements. Just to rule out any factors as added voltages, timings etc. that could be causing stability issues.

    Manually adding in your RAM timings etc does not require any real expertise since you would be entering the stock timings for your XMP profile but, just manually doing it yourself vs letting the "magic" do it for you. It's when you start to stray away from the stock timings and voltages that you should be a little more cognizant of what you are doing. It's really quiet easy to enter those timings in, and I'm sure myself or others would be happy to show you how.
    I installed RAM modules in A2 and B2, also i select NO after enabling XMP, but not help me! Also this problem occurs when i disconnecting power cord after shuting down.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    This will happen when you cut power to the board, it's normal behavior.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •