Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No POST or BIOS

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    No POST or BIOS

    This is a new build. Second day trying to get it to work.

    Build:
    ASUS Z270-AR 1151 ATX
    Corsair 64 GB 16x4 D4 2666
    Corsair Crystal 260X RGB ATX
    Zotac GTX1080Ti FE 11GB

    Tower lights up, RGB fans light up, fans spin, video card lights up, no memory LED on the motherboard, power LED lights up and RGB keyboard lights up. No POST beeps or BIOS on screen. Looking for advice?

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by aSentOne; 05-24-2018 at 12:44 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    Seat and reseat those RAM sticks multiple times. Also try just one stick in testing, and double-triple check you've got the right slots. That RAM on the QV list ?
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks for the info. I appreciate all the help.

    Memory Corsair 64GB 16x4 D4 2666mhz are compatible with the Asus Z270-AR motherboard 1151 ATX.

    Reseated memory one stick twice in correct DIMM A2 slot and no POST or BIOS on screen. Used all four sticks for all four DIMM slots. Same result.

    RGB keyboard still lights up, RGB fans both light up and spin, tower lights up, video card lights up, no memory LED and power LED lights up.

    Also turned on tower without DIMMS/RAM no post.

    Any other suggestions?
    Last edited by aSentOne; 05-24-2018 at 05:51 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array LeChat PC Specs
    LeChat PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence LED 3400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING HYBRID
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 T2
    Keyboard EVGA Z-10
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech g933
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    34

    What CPU are you using?

    Quote Originally Posted by aSentOne View Post
    This is a new build. Second day trying to get it to work.

    Build:
    ASUS Z270-AR 1151 ATX
    Corsair 64 GB 16x4 D4 2666
    Corsair Crystal 260X RGB ATX
    Zotac GTX1080Ti FE 11GB

    Tower lights up, RGB fans light up, fans spin, video card lights up, no memory LED on the motherboard, power LED lights up and RGB keyboard lights up. No POST beeps or BIOS on screen. Looking for advice?

    Thanks in advance.

    Could try connect your monitor to the onboard GPU on your processor (If it has any).

    Cheers!

    K

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    LeChat, thanks.

    Have connected the monitor both to the graphics card then to the motherboard hdmi. Same result.

    Any other suggestions on what to check or troubleshoot?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array LeChat PC Specs
    LeChat PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence LED 3400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING HYBRID
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 T2
    Keyboard EVGA Z-10
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech g933
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    34

    - Maybe try removing the GPU, then reboot using the onboard HDMI.
    - Try to press the MemOK button the motherboard untill the DRAM_LED starts blinking.
    - Try to reseat your CPU.

    Cheers!

    L

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Disconnect all drives and all USB peripherals, then try to post.

    You may have a short, have you tried posting with the board outside of your case?

    Make & model of your PSU?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks for the help, davemon50, LeChat and NemesisChild I found the issue.

    Turned out I didn't connect the CPU 8 pin cable from the PSU to the motherboard. I thought it wasn't going to be used since there was nothing clearly labelled CPU power on the board. The board had an 8 pin cable connection labelled EATX1 that explains in the booklet ATX Power Connection. Was confused because it didn't say anything about CPU power. Connect CPU 8 pin from PSU to motherboard and BIOS. Appreciate all the help.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by aSentOne View Post
    Thanks for the help, davemon50, LeChat and NemesisChild I found the issue.

    Turned out I didn't connect the CPU 8 pin cable from the PSU to the motherboard. I thought it wasn't going to be used since there was nothing clearly labelled CPU power on the board. The board had an 8 pin cable connection labelled EATX1 that explains in the booklet ATX Power Connection. Was confused because it didn't say anything about CPU power. Connect CPU 8 pin from PSU to motherboard and BIOS. Appreciate all the help.
    The simple things in life, glad you got it sorted out.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    Quote Originally Posted by aSentOne View Post
    Thanks for the help, davemon50, LeChat and NemesisChild I found the issue.

    Turned out I didn't connect the CPU 8 pin cable from the PSU to the motherboard. I thought it wasn't going to be used since there was nothing clearly labelled CPU power on the board. The board had an 8 pin cable connection labelled EATX1 that explains in the booklet ATX Power Connection. Was confused because it didn't say anything about CPU power. Connect CPU 8 pin from PSU to motherboard and BIOS. Appreciate all the help.

    Yep, basic connection. Sometimes we go for the complicated solutions first. Glad you have it working now.
    Davemon50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •