Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    CH VII + GSkill TridentZ 3466

    Just bought the x470 CH + 2700x + TridentZ 3466mhz memory

    Memory is F4-3466C16D-32GTZR - 2 x 16GB Kit

    Does anyone else use this memory?

    The board wont boot setting the memory to the 3466 profile in bios. Should i just get another kit instead?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    Processor8700K Delidded 5.1GHz
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO - 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    71

    You mean by setting the DOCP profile? What BIOS, 601? I am hoping someone else has input as I was about to pick up that kit of 3466 (2x16GB). I have 4x8GB (F4-3466C16D-16GTZSK) and its not stable when using four dims. If I drop to just two dimms 2x8GB it is stable. But I really wanted 32GB. I had trouble getting it to post using the DOCP profile at first with all four dimms, I pulled two out applied the DOCP profile and was fine. I then added the other 2 sticks and was fine meaning, I could post, boot and even run several Cinebench runs, an hour of Aida 64 and couple hours of Prime but after a while using the system normally I started getting random lockups etc. I pulled two sticks back out and everything is fine at 16GB total. 8 Hours of Prime couple hours gaming using the system as normal all OK but dang I want to run 32GB and at 3400+ . As of now I am running 32GB of Corsair (CMK32GX4M2B3200C16) at 3200 and its rock solid but, I'd still like to get to 3466.

    I am sure you have done this already - try re-seating the memory even swapping the slots they are in with each other. Make sure you are in A2 and B2 (second and forth slots from the CPU)
    Other systems in addition to the gaming rig in the profile specs:
    Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, 32GB GSkill c14 @3200 , 960Pro 512, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6, pg348q
    x470 Taichi, 2700X, 16GB GSkill c14 @3200, 960Evo 500, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c, dell u3415w

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    You mean by setting the DOCP profile? What BIOS, 601? I am hoping someone else has input as I was about to pick up that kit of 3466 (2x16GB). I have 4x8GB (F4-3466C16D-16GTZSK) and its not stable when using four dims. If I drop to just two dimms 2x8GB it is stable. But I really wanted 32GB. I had trouble getting it to post using the DOCP profile at first with all four dimms, I pulled two out applied the DOCP profile and was fine. I then added the other 2 sticks and was fine meaning, I could post, boot and even run several Cinebench runs, an hour of Aida 64 and couple hours of Prime but after a while using the system normally I started getting random lockups etc. I pulled two sticks back out and everything is fine at 16GB total. 8 Hours of Prime couple hours gaming using the system as normal all OK but dang I want to run 32GB and at 3400+ . As of now I am running 32GB of Corsair (CMK32GX4M2B3200C16) at 3200 and its rock solid but, I'd still like to get to 3466.

    I am sure you have done this already - try re-seating the memory even swapping the slots they are in with each other. Make sure you are in A2 and B2 (second and forth slots from the CPU)

    Yup by setting DOCP profile. BIOS version is 0601.

    When is set to DOCP sometimes it boots and sometimes it won't , but when it boots and i run cinebench and play games it just suddenly hangs.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    Processor8700K Delidded 5.1GHz
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO - 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    71

    Quote Originally Posted by RageTooL View Post
    Yup by setting DOCP profile. BIOS version is 0601.

    When is set to DOCP sometimes it boots and sometimes it won't , but when it boots and i run cinebench and play games it just suddenly hangs.
    That's a bummer - yup same symptoms basically I had when using the four sticks at 3466. Have you tried running it at a lower clock like 3400, 3333 or 3200? The 2x16gb kit of vengeance lpx @ 3200 I swapped in is rock solid... All the advice I've been getting from other forums is to try running it at a lower speed. I happened to have the other kit so I just swapped for lower speed RAM. Plus, two sticks vs four is less stressful on the IMC, and is the preferred config.
    Last edited by Delta9K; 06-01-2018 at 05:44 AM.
    Other systems in addition to the gaming rig in the profile specs:
    Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, 32GB GSkill c14 @3200 , 960Pro 512, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6, pg348q
    x470 Taichi, 2700X, 16GB GSkill c14 @3200, 960Evo 500, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c, dell u3415w

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    That's a bummer - yup same symptoms basically I had when using the four sticks at 3466. Have you tried running it at a lower clock like 3400, 3333 or 3200? The 2x16gb kit of vengeance lpx @ 3200 I swapped in is rock solid... All the advice I've been getting from other forums is to try running it at a lower speed. I happened to have the other kit so I just swapped for lower speed RAM. Plus, two sticks vs four is less stressful on the IMC, and is the preferred config.
    im just looking at a memory oc, and on the latest bios ive just hit the next two straps above 3466mhz..anyway, I clocked it back down with 4dimms (2 x 3466mhz and 2 x 4266 or something similar)... I flashed them both with the same spd data and ran them together from day one with my 1800x at 3466 when hardly anyone was hitting that speed. you probably have one dodgy dim holding you back... ive now got them at 3466 @15 15 15 32 good luck!!!
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •