Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question Can't enter BIOS setup anymore

    I already opened a service request yesterday. Later I found this forum. I am posting the same error description here and hope for help. Maybe faster than the official support? ;-)

    My problem is, that I can't enter the BIOS setup anymore. I don't know why this is happening.
    Even if I cold boot without any drive attached (nor SATA, nor M.2) I can't get into BIOS setup. (Also RAID controller card and sound card are unplugged)
    It doesn’t matter what I do - at the end the system always tries to boot up an operating system - which obviously fails, because I disconnected all drives. There is a boot- / BIOS-password set. Which is known to me. But I can‘t remove it because I can't enter the BIOS setup.
    If I reset the Bios settings by "Clean CMOS" button on the backpanel, the system shows anmessage at next boot, that the settings are reset and I shall press "F1" to enter BIOS - but if I hit "F1" the systems just continues to boot. I also can't enter BIOS setup (UEFI...) by using the corresponding Windows function.

    There was a time when I was able to enter the Bios setup. I don't know what caused the current problem, but here are a few things I did recently:
    - Updated BIOS to 1003 (but I am quite sure that I was able to enter BIOS setup after this)
    - Removed Samsung 960 pro SSD and installed Samsung 970 pro SSD
    - Installed clean Windows 10 64bit
    - Flashed new firmware on my RAID controller card

    Do you have any idea what I can do to get able to enter BIOS setup again? I already tried a lot of things and I am already kind of frustrated now... :-(

    My maindboard is the ROG Zenith Extreme. If there are any other details which are relevant, please let me know.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for your suggestion. But I can't really catch the point in the linked post.

    Do you mean I should downgrade my BIOS to 0211 and the update it in the order 0211 > 0305 > 0503 > 0701 > 0902 > 1003. ?
    Unfortunately I am not able to do this, because I can not enter the BIOS setup - that's why I have no access to the flash utility in the BIOS setup.
    Is there a tool to flash from Windows?

    Or did I understand it wrong?

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    How did you flash 1003? Using the in BIOS tool...EZ flash

    IF so I would first suggest flashing a freshly downloaded version of 1003 using BIOS Flashback method...

    If you still have problems maybe flash release BIOS and then your previous working BIOS...both BIOS Flashback method. (I don't think you need to do each BIOS in turn)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention! I totally forgot about the "BIOS FlashBack" function! I will try it todays evening. Hopefully this will solve the issue.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    It's by far the most reliable way to flash the BIOS in my experience....let us know how it goes

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Lightbulb

    There are good news and bad news. I was able to update the BIOS via the suggested method. And now the password prompt is gone. This shows to me, that the BIOS is successfully written and the settings are reset. Unfortunately the problem is still existing. The system is promting "Press F1 to Run SETUP", but if I hit F1 the boot up just continues.

    But good news is, I may have found another path to follow. What I did not mention in my first post is, that I also updated the firmware of my monitor (Samsung C49HG90). I never thought this may be possible, but this could have the effect, that the monitor for some reason is not able to display the BIOS setups resolution, framerate or whatsoever...
    (The following forum thread guided me in that direction: http://extreme.pcgameshardware.de/ma...s-bios-3.html?) According to this thread, the BIOS could have detected that the monitor is unable to display and just reboots the system instead of showing an error message or beep or something.
    I will try now first to change the DisplayPort cable to a HDMI cable. If this does not change it, I will carry my computer next to my TV screen and try it with this one.

    Hopefully this is the only reason and I get my BIOS setup accessable again!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Press_F1_to_run_SETUP.jpg  


  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Maybe also pare system down to basics...disconnect all non essential USB stuff and only have OS drive installed while troubleshooting

    Any LEDs staying lit or Qcodes staying displayed? Have you cleared CMOS after successfully flashing BIOS?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Cool

    SUCCESS!!

    I did not change the cable, because I got another idea. There is a "split screen" function to "reduce" the monitors resolution from 3840 x 1080 to 2 times 1920 x 1080. This finally fixed the problem!
    So it looks like the newest monitor firmware (version 1017.1) changed something, so the monitor is not able to display the mainboards BIOS setup anymore.

    Not sure whos fault it is - ASUS or Samsung? I will wait for the official ASUS support reply and let them know what I found out. Maybe they can get in touch with Samsung to figure it out who has to fix it with the next firmware or BIOS.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 01_Set_split_screen.jpg  

    02_Success.jpg  


  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Nice one...glad you got it fixed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •