Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    ASUS Notebook: How To migrate from old HHD to a new SSD? Anyone Help?

    Hello,
    I bought a new SSD 256 GB Disk for my ASUS Notebook A55VJ and I am trying to move the old content of the new.
    Old Hard Drive: 1TB Western Digital (Of wich only 180 Gb are occupied)
    New Hard Drive: SSD 256 Gb Western digital

    I would like to make an exact copy of the old drive with the hidden partition but seem impossible.
    The partition I would like to copy are:
    *:SYSTEM (EFI SYSTEM PARTITION) 300 NB
    *:Recovery (Recovery Partition) 600 MB
    *: Reserved Partition 128MB
    C: OS (Data Partition) 52 GB
    *:Restore (Recovery Partition)

    I tried to use several Software to clone the old HDD disk to the new SSD disk but the hidden partition of the had disk are cloned in a wrong way,
    in the old HDD inside Windows 10 I can see only C: and I can see the hidden Partitions only with a partition tool.

    If I swap the New Cloned SSD Hard Disk on the SATA connector of my notebook all the "hidden" partitions are now visible in Windows 10 in form of new drives and now I have A:, B:, C: etc.
    The computer boot correctly only once, but if I try to press F9 to try to see if the hidden partitions are correctly working, I get a blue screen and The notebook Wont start anymore.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    Last time I migrated HDD to SSD the free version of Macrium Reflect worked. Note that the automatic partition remapping didn't work though and threw an error because the new disk was smaller. In the migration mapping tool I had to manually copy the partitions in order and manually resize them to make room for the next partition. Once they all fit it was one batch process and the copy was successful.
    Last edited by xeromist; 05-30-2018 at 03:57 PM.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Last time I migrated HDD to SSD the free version of Macrium Reflect worked. Note that the automatic partition remapping didn't work though and threw an error because the new disk was smaller. In the migration mapping tool I had to manually copy the partitions in order and manually resize them to make room for the next partition. Once they all fit it was one batch process and the copy was successful.
    Could you please describe the steps to do it?
    I am a newbie and I need some help.
    It will be alot appreciated
    Thank you very much

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    It has been a while since I did it but this blurb on Macrium's site sounds about right. It's pretty straightforward but I just wanted to caution you to drag the partitions individually (like this says). When I let the tool try to map all of the partitions automatically it threw an error and I didn't immediately understand why.

    http://reflect.macrium.com/help/v5/h...state_disk.htm
    To clone to the partitioned SSD
    In Macrium Reflect, click the Backup tab.

    Click the disk you want to clone.
    Links appears below the selected disk.

    Click Clone this disk.
    The Clone dialog appears with the source disk selected.

    In the target disk area, click Select a disk to clone to and select the SSD disk.



    Caution: To create a working clone, you must clone all the system partitions. System partitions are required for the operating system to boot successfully. Macrium Reflect indicates system partitions by displaying the operating system logo, for example the Windows flag, in the top left corner of the partition on the partition diagram.

    Drag and drop the source partitions to the target disk.

    Optionally, for each target partition, change the partition properties: click Cloned partition properties.

    On the Partition Properties dialog you can change the drive letter, partition type, and partition size. Click the Maximum, Minimum and Original size buttons to automatically adjust the partition size, or, manually set the partition size and free space.

    Note: The assigned drive letter is for the current Windows session. If you are cloning a Windows system disk then the letter chosen here is not used when booting into the cloned disk.

    Click Clone.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •