Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Crosshair VII won’t load USB Win10

    Hey all.

    *Just put together a new rig (first build in about 7 years)

    Crosshair VII Hero BIOS 0601
    Ryzen 2700X
    Trident-Z 32GB 3200
    GTX Ti VGA
    WD 512GB M.2 NVME

    -Posted perfectly on the first shot. *Went through and updated to the latest BIOS. *
    -Changed boot priority to the USB 3.0**
    -UEFI enabled
    -Inserted Win10 USB and restarted...
    -posts to “choose version to install” (64/32 bit)
    -status bar movement of files being read...

    Then get the *various errors (0x0000$&@ etc) saying The data can’t be installed/read.

    Has someone gone through this which this board yet? *What am I missing?*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array brkkab123 PC Specs
    brkkab123 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 32GBs
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard sound
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB SATA & W.D. Black 2.0TB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK-XLC Predator 240 1.1 w/push/pull add-on fans kit
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X530 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR 3700
    Accessory #1 Logitech c615 HD Webcam
    Accessory #2 Seagate Backup Desk 3.0TB
    Accessory #3 Logitech U920 Driving Force Racing Wheel/Logitech Driving Force Shifter/GT Omega Wheel Stand

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    307

    From what I've heard this is a Windows 10 1803 issue. To install Windows 10 1803 only put your flash drive in one of the back panel;s USB 2.0 ports, as it won't work on a USB 3.0 port.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by brkkab123 View Post
    From what I've heard this is a Windows 10 1803 issue. To install Windows 10 1803 only put your flash drive in one of the back panel;s USB 2.0 ports, as it won't work on a USB 3.0 port.
    Ok. *I’ll give it a try on a back panel USB, however I did try it in the front USB in both the 3.0 and 2.0 slots already (Thermaltake View-31 case) when I get some time this evening.*

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Nope.*


    Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the
    cause. *To fix the problem:

    1. *Insert your Windows installation disk and restart your computer
    2. *Choose language settings, and then click “Next”
    3. *Click “Repair your computer”

    If you do not have this disc, yadda yadda yadda.

    File: \Windows\system32\boot\winliade.exe

    Status: 0x0000221

    Info: the header checksum for this file doesn’t match the computer
    * * * * checksum.*

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    144

    Use a DVD?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    Processor8700K Delidded 5.1GHz
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO - 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    73

    Definitely use a USB 2.0 Flash drive and 2.0 port. As others have stated, the Windows installer prefers that. Also, if installing to the NVMe you might want to disconnect any other storage you have so that it is the only detectable drive in the system while you do the install. I'd be incline to recreate the installation media and potentially re-flash the bios too. But, I have serious paranoia issues...

    You have a nice configuration and Windows will boot and load from the USB no worries. Potentially the BIOS update changed the boot order or something more dramatic at a lower level. I've seen stranger things happen. Relax Slow down and just take it back to basics. I was more serious than not about suggesting to reflash the bios on the board, booting in to bios to save the new config. Recreate your windows installation media on a another PC using a USB 2.0 drive and if you don't have a 2.0 Drive use a 2.0 port. Then insert the flash with the installation media into a USB 2.0 port on the back of the board (right below the flashback button) and give it a go.

    Might be worth mentioning... The m.2_1 socket where a NVMe drive should live if wanting direct lanes to CPU is the bottom socket. Not the one in the middle of the board with the fancy heat-sink. I know, right... You can if you desire move the heat-sink to the bottom slot but, I didn't. I like the way it looks where it is. I have no thermal issues with an NVMe in the bottom without a heat-sink.
    Other systems in addition to the gaming rig in the profile specs:
    Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, 32GB GSkill c14 @3200 , 960Pro 512, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6, pg348q
    x470 Taichi, 2700X, 16GB GSkill c14 @3200, 960Evo 500, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c, dell u3415w

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    Definitely use a USB 2.0 Flash drive and 2.0 port. As others have stated, the Windows installer prefers that. Also, if installing to the NVMe you might want to disconnect any other storage you have so that it is the only detectable drive in the system while you do the install. I'd be incline to recreate the installation media and potentially re-flash the bios too. But, I have serious paranoia issues...

    You have a nice configuration and Windows will boot and load from the USB no worries. Potentially the BIOS update changed the boot order or something more dramatic at a lower level. I've seen stranger things happen. Relax Slow down and just take it back to basics. I was more serious than not about suggesting to reflash the bios on the board, booting in to bios to save the new config. Recreate your windows installation media on a another PC using a USB 2.0 drive and if you don't have a 2.0 Drive use a 2.0 port. Then insert the flash with the installation media into a USB 2.0 port on the back of the board (right below the flashback button) and give it a go.

    Might be worth mentioning... The m.2_1 socket where a NVMe drive should live if wanting direct lanes to CPU is the bottom socket. Not the one in the middle of the board with the fancy heat-sink. I know, right... You can if you desire move the heat-sink to the bottom slot but, I didn't. I like the way it looks where it is. I have no thermal issues with an NVMe in the bottom without a heat-sink.
    I flashed the BIOS and have also tried completely clearing CMOS and going back to the stock settings.

    I did not know about the NVME location. *The WD512 Drive is the only one installed, so I will swap to the other socket tonight if I get a chance to work on it. *FWIW: “chance” = home from work on time, dinner made, kids fed, school lunches made, dishes done, dog fed/played with/walked, garbage out, and kids to bed on time.*

    Stay tuned... *

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by lightknightrr View Post
    Use a DVD?
    I already bought the Win10 USB, and there are no optical drives in my new build.*

    If nothing else works, I may try that route, but I’d rather not have to.

    After all, it’s halfway through 2018 and we are supposed to have flying cars that fold into briefcases by now... why is installing Windows still such a PITA?*

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Well, no luck. *Changed the M.2 position, booted with the Windows USB in a 2.0 slot on the back I/o.

    Reset BIOS, and changed the boot priority. Win *UEFI enabled. *

    Upon reboot, chose Win64, it reads the files for a few seconds, and goes back to the above error. *Unless anyone else can get me a fix, I’m going to have to take it to a PC shop and pay to have this garbage dealt with. **

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    LOL... the local PC shop want $125 to install Windows.*

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •