Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    64bit Aura Sync SDK DLL?

    Hi,

    I noticed the DLL included is arcane and only uses half my computer. Any chance you guys can compile a 64 bit version as well?

    I'm making a Java wrapper and to use a win32 DLL, I'll have to downgrade my SDK to 32 bit, which will hurt the performance of any software which will use this wrapper.

    Thank you in advance,

    CX

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    RGB only uses 32 bits anyhow. I doubt the LEDs are capable of displaying 2^16 more intermediate RGB shades than they already do. I also doubt the RGB PWM controller has > 32-bit resolution. In fact, I'm even skeptical about whether consumer RGB hardware (outside of display panels) can even display the 2^24 or 2^32 distinct colours they proudly advertise.

    Not sure where "half the computer" isn't being used ... the RGB hardware is operating exactly as it was designed to do. Unless you have a 64-bit OS which refuses to install a 32-bit driver?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    A 32-bit program has nothing to do with the color space of the LED's provided. This is simply a definition of how much bits the instructions are, how big the registers, how large the address space is for the RAM (only 4 Gb for 32-bit) and so on. Using 32-bit programs on a 64-bit computer means that it still runs, but the processor is limited, making it less efficient than its 64-bit version. Therefore one should always install the 64-bit version of programs where possible.

    The Aura Sync SDK uses 3 bytes for each LED, thus using 24-bits of data. This is arbitrary and they may as well have only used 8-bits or 48-bits, it is unrelated to the bus size of the processor. RGB LEDs use voltages and don't have any inherent limitations to the number of colors they can display, this is strictly limited by the specification of the component which translates these bits into voltages. For example the WS2811B standard (used by the addressable RGB header) also uses 24-bits for each LED and converts it into a 3 12V signals.

    The reason I am interested in a 64-bit SDK is that I am trying to create a Java wrapper. Having a 32-bit SDK forces my JVM to run in a 32-bit environment, meaning everything this program does will be in 32-bit land. Creating a 64-bit SDK is relatively simple and not much work, but only ASUS can do it. That's why I was asking.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    I do understand 32-bit vs 64-bit.
    And I understand that the RGBs themselves don't even make use of 32 bits addressing. (Unless perhaps they're RGBW?)

    What I don't understand is the need for Aura x64 RGB drivers vs Aura x86 RGB drivers. They'll both run on any x64 OS. The only possible restriction is the installer, which might arbitrarily decree that you need the x64 version and simply refuse to proceed with the installation on a "wrong" OS version.

    And there's always WinXP Compatibility Mode, emulation, virtualization - all the rest of that stuff. If the driver already works (automatically) then what exactly needs to be changed, and why?

    Not arguing against Asus compiling a x64 version (or providing enough opensource for us to compile our own). Your need as a dev seems reasonable to me, and probably not unique. If Asus makes it unappealing (for whatever reason, in whatever way) for people to use their hardware then they'll end up selling less hardware, lol, it's only in their best interest to accommodate. All that being said - it kinda seems like your java should be able to handle it for you - and I suppose you can't assume the same for every possible platform your code might run on, except that having ASUS AURA hardware kinda narrows the list down a whole lot.
    Last edited by Korth; 07-17-2018 at 07:40 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    (Unless perhaps they're RGBW?)
    Nah, they use the Green Red Blue format.

    I wasn't talking about some program that I must run, I was talking about the SDK DLL. There's no way for 64-bit Java to communicate with a 32-bit DLL, that's basically the problem.

  6. #6
    siv-ray
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    I do understand 32-bit vs 64-bit.
    And I understand that the RGBs themselves don't even make use of 32 bits addressing. (Unless perhaps they're RGBW?)

    What I don't understand is the need for Aura x64 RGB drivers vs Aura x86 RGB drivers. They'll both run on any x64 OS. The only possible restriction is the installer, which might arbitrarily decree that you need the x64 version and simply refuse to proceed with the installation on a "wrong" OS version.
    I expect you don't and talking about 32 colour bits when the issue is 32 vs. 64 address bits clearly shows this.

    The AURA SDK should provide:

    1) x32 drivers (.SYS files) that are needed for x32 Windows (present) - note x32 drivers work only on x32 windows
    2) x64 drivers (.SYS files) that are needed for x64 Windows (present) - note x64 drivers work only on x64 windows
    3) x32 library (.DLL files) that are needed for x32 Applications (present) - note will also work on x64, but not preinstall x64
    4) x64 library (.DLL files) that are needed for x64 Applications (absent) - note will only work on x64 including preinstall x64

    I too need the x64 library .DLL as I have both x32 and x64 builds. The x32 runs OK on x64 Windows most of the time, but only supports 32 CPUs whereas the x64 build supports at lest 640 CPUs and probably more.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array PipJones PC Specs
    PipJones PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850K @ 4500 CPU / 3900 Cache / AVX -2
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX1080ti FE with EK W/C
    MonitorIiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
    Storage #1256Gb Samsung NVMe (MZ-V5P256BW)
    Storage #24x HGST HTS721010A9E630 1TB 2.5" 7K1000 SATA 3 7200rpm (RAID 10)
    CPU CoolerCustom EK Loop
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Raptor K30 Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB FPS Gaming Mouse
    OS Windows 10/64
    PipJones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    @Asus, please escalate.

    @Asus: How do we escalate this request?

    Quote Originally Posted by siv-ray View Post

    The AURA SDK should provide:

    1) x32 drivers (.SYS files) that are needed for x32 Windows (present) - note x32 drivers work only on x32 windows
    2) x64 drivers (.SYS files) that are needed for x64 Windows (present) - note x64 drivers work only on x64 windows
    3) x32 library (.DLL files) that are needed for x32 Applications (present) - note will also work on x64, but not preinstall x64
    4) x64 library (.DLL files) that are needed for x64 Applications (absent) - note will only work on x64 including preinstall x64

    I too need the x64 library .DLL as I have both x32 and x64 builds. The x32 runs OK on x64 Windows most of the time, but only supports 32 CPUs whereas the x64 build supports at lest 640 CPUs and probably more.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by PipJones View Post
    @Asus: How do we escalate this request?
    they silently updated the sdk one or two weeks ago. they added a lot of things and also x86 & x64 dlls but sadly no documentation yet.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array PipJones PC Specs
    PipJones PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850K @ 4500 CPU / 3900 Cache / AVX -2
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX1080ti FE with EK W/C
    MonitorIiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
    Storage #1256Gb Samsung NVMe (MZ-V5P256BW)
    Storage #24x HGST HTS721010A9E630 1TB 2.5" 7K1000 SATA 3 7200rpm (RAID 10)
    CPU CoolerCustom EK Loop
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Raptor K30 Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB FPS Gaming Mouse
    OS Windows 10/64
    PipJones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Thanks!

    Many thanks for the update.

    Hopefully SIV development can do something with it. They did great things with another vendors hardware through SIV.

    @Asus: Would it be possible to provide documentation and / or put SIV development in contact with Asus development?

    Quote Originally Posted by crashniels View Post
    they silently updated the sdk one or two weeks ago. they added a lot of things and also x86 & x64 dlls but sadly no documentation yet.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    48

    Hi all,

    I'll second Pip's and SIV-Ray's and CX Gamer's request for a 64-bit Aura SDK with all required components and documentation. This is the Aura SDK developers forum right? So here's hoping an Aura SDK development team member will respond. You want Aura to be widely adapted by 3rd party hardware and software engineers right? So please avail the files they need to develop 64-bit Aura control applications.

    Bling Enthusiast *
    Last edited by BillBittel; 10-02-2018 at 02:47 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •