Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array eera5607 PC Specs
    eera5607 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO m.2
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GQ, 80+ GOLD
    OS Linux Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Question RAM at 3200 MHz or not? Issue with overclocking

    Hello everyone,

    I used EZ Tuning Wizard to overclock my system. These are the specs of my system:

    MoBo: ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code LGA1151 DDR4
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz
    CPU: Intel i7-7700K

    I don't understand why after I configured the BIOS using the wizard the RAM frequency was kept at 2197 MHz even if the modules support 3200 MHz. Apart from that, I noticed that the XMP config says "XMP DDR4-3200" but the system info on BIOS and the OS say that RAM frequency is 2197. If I manually select the closest DRAM frequency ratio (3193 MHz) the system become inestable.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	180526195106.jpeg 
Views:	1 
Size:	129.9 KB 
ID:	73985

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Selection_002.png 
Views:	55 
Size:	64.4 KB 
ID:	73986

    If I set the Ai Overclock Tuner to auto, and set everything to auto I can manually select BCLK Frequency: DRAM Frequency Ratio to be 3200 MHz and in that case the system recognizes the frequency correctly (3200 MHz) but the all CPU parameters are now on auto, so I lose the configuration from the EZ Tuning Wizard.

    What can I do?

    Thank you very much for the help.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 9xrF5tO.jpg  

    Last edited by eera5607; 05-26-2018 at 08:40 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,783

    The XMP profile should not be setting your BLCK frequency at 103.00, so something is not right.

    I suggest clearing the CMOS and starting over. Once cleared, enable the XMP profile only for now.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array eera5607 PC Specs
    eera5607 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO m.2
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GQ, 80+ GOLD
    OS Linux Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    The XMP profile should not be setting your BLCK frequency at 103.00, so something is not right.
    Yes, the EZ Tuning Wizard changes the BLCK frequency to 103.00 automatically. I don't understand why because it is suppose to select the appropriate settings for my system and I don't feel comfortable manually configuring many settings so I prefer to use the wizard. I changed the BLCK frequency to 100.0000 and the DRAM frequency to 3200 MHz. I'm no sure if that is a good solution. At the end am I also losing overclock for the CPU?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Check out the following overclocking article by Raja. While the article focuses on 270 a lot of it is applicable to your board. Here's a quote that might be applicable to your situation.


    "Also noteworthy is that the highest working memory ratio is DDR4-4133. Higher speeds require adjustment of BCLK with the DDR4-4133 (or lower) ratio selected. If you do purchase a memory kit rated faster than DDR4-4133, don’t be alarmed if you see BCLK being changed to a higher value when you select XMP. The change is mandatory."


    https://rog.asus.com/articles/guides...locking-guide/
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    Processor8700K Delidded 5.1GHz
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO - 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    71

    The EZ tuning wizard is great in theory (don't ban me Asus monitor's) but not in reality so much.

    Take a look at der8auer's video here < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlR7CNuoOXk > This is a really good guide for overclocking the 7700K on a ROG board without using EZ tuning wiz.- Even though he's working with an APEX it will work the same on your Code IX - he even states its same for Hero and others. I've set it up on my 7700K on a IX Code as well. The first thing you will is enable the XMP profile - then you'll begin the overclock. Just follow along with him.

    (Caveat) - You may need/want to first rest your system back to optimized defaults so that you can start fresh. This may seem a little overkill I know, but sometimes the tuning wizard will leave settings applied even after you've reloaded optimized defaults. This has been the surest way I've found to start fresh.
    Boot into BIOS, load optimized defaults hit F10 to save and exit. Shut down, use the clear CMOS button to clear CMOS. Boot back into BIOS reload optimized defaults, F10 exit. Reboot back into BIOS and begin the steps in the guide.


    My 7700K system is built on a Maximus IX code has been running 5.0GHz with 1.3v for 16 months
    I am using a 2x16GB Corsair 3200 CL16 rated kit with the XMP profile enabled. Very close in config to yours.

    I've followed the same method pretty much on my 8700K on a X hero, only with 3.12v and 5.2GHz, as well as on a TUF Mark 1 and a 7700K. That CPU though running at 4.8GHz on 1.24v (daily driver machine)... So what I am saying it's a pretty solid guide/methodology for a simple o'clock without the wiz.
    Other systems in addition to the gaming rig in the profile specs:
    Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, 32GB GSkill c14 @3200 , 960Pro 512, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6, pg348q
    x470 Taichi, 2700X, 16GB GSkill c14 @3200, 960Evo 500, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c, dell u3415w

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •