Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Question Need help using adaptive voltage per core (Rampage VI Extreme)

    Hi,

    I'm trying to use adaptive voltage per core, but it seems the motherboard is ignoring my settings and using the "default" voltage curve.
    The MB is a Rampage VI Extreme and the cpu is an i9-7940X (14 cores). Latest UEFI (1301) and ME driver for it. OS: Win10 Fall Creators Update.


    BIOS settings I have set that, after reading some guides and posts, I feel can have some influence on making this work/not work:
    -> Cpu core ratio: by specific core:
    ----> each core set to adaptive in the submenu, one of them set to 1.25v (as a test) and the others with the target voltage on "auto".
    ----> Note: Also tried setting a target value on each of the cores, but made no difference.
    -> Cpu SVID: My understanding is that this needs to be set to "enabled" or "auto". Also tried to disable it once, but made no difference.
    -> Intel EIST: enabled.
    -> Turbo mode: enabled.
    -> Cpu Core Voltage (global): auto
    -> Cpu Input Voltage: auto

    Note: As a test, I'm trying with 1.25v in each core when the "auto" setting uses around 1.15v, so it should not be an issue of me setting lower values than the standard curve. I use Cinebench to make sure the cpu goes full load while checking the voltage.
    Note2: If i set each core to "offset" or "manual" core voltage, that seems to work fine.

    Can anyone give me some help getting this to work please?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-18-2018 at 11:06 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Have a read here sounds like the some issue i had lack of understanding.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    Have a read here sounds like the some issue i had lack of understanding.
    Thanks for the reply.

    I can make my cpu use adaptive "globally" for all cores as you do there. That works fine for me.
    I'm having trouble using "adaptive" per core (meaning using different adaptive voltage target for each of the cores).
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-18-2018 at 12:13 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Just re-checked using adaptive for all cores (synched ratio) and noticed that it is not working either. Guess I was late doing tests, misread some number and thought it was working fine when it was not.

    Anyway, I tried the same options used in the thread that LiveOrDie linked and it does not work for me. I don't know what else to try. Any ideas?
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-20-2018 at 10:33 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Quote Originally Posted by Inkar View Post
    Just re-checked using adaptive for all cores (synched ratio) and noticed that it is not working either. Guess I was late doing tests, misread some number and thought it was working fine when it was not.

    Anyway, I tried the same options used in the thread that LiveOrDie linked and it does not work for me. I don't know what else to try. Any ideas?
    If you adaptive voltages are not working try setting it higher until it does.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    If you adaptive voltages are not working try setting it higher until it does.
    Can't make it work.

    If I use auto voltage, I get this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HWinfo - auto.PNG 
Views:	6 
Size:	216.3 KB 
ID:	73914

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IXTU-auto.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	407.7 KB 
ID:	73915




    Now, if I set adaptive in the bios using the settings in the previous post I get this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	180522110024.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	160.0 KB 
ID:	73918

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo-adaptive.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	402.6 KB 
ID:	73916

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IXTU-adaptive.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	405.0 KB 
ID:	73917

    As you can see, IXTU shows that the voltage limit should be what I set in the bios, 1.291V, but for some reason it is not happening and the voltages remain as if everything was on auto.

    I do not understand how this can happen at all.

    Note: I did not use IXTU to set anything. Just used it to see what the values look like in Windows.
    Note2: Also tried with SVID enabled, since Raja said in the Kaby guide that it should be enabled. Same result as with it disabled.
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-22-2018 at 09:57 AM. Reason: Added Note2

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Without having the entire picture my guess is there is some setting holding you back.
    Check the thread again and set only what you see there different from optimized values and leave the rest alone unitl you get where you want to be then only change one thing at a time. We all want to get there faster but often attempting too many things at once leaves us chasing out tails.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Abaidor PC Specs
    Abaidor PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-64GTZR | Trident Z RGB 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2WD 10TB Gold
    CPU CoolerEK Rampage VI Monoblock
    CaseC0smos 2 Modded
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Abaidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    259

    I have successfully set my 7940X to 4.7GHz boost (2 cores) + 4.4Ghz all the other cores with similar settings to JustinThyme. It took some time though since I was totally new to this and my last OC attempt was 10 years ago. My memory is 64GB @3600Mhz CL17 (Trident Z RGB XMP)

    I have 1.23 adaptive voltage (for turbo 4.7GHZ) and 1.15 for the rest of the cores. I am sure I can squeeze more from the CPU but I am satisfied since it runs so cool 99% of the time @32-35c and my fans are so quiet. I might try to reduce the 1.23 voltage too but won't be bothered for the time being.

    BTW my CPU is not delided yet and will keep it this way since I don't need to push it any further for the time being and will keep my warranty. I upgraded from a Q9550 @ 3.4GHz so this is a huge jump for me already.

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,819

    Non Delidded depending on cooling, up to 1.23v should be fine for non AVX workloads on all cores. My 7940X will do 4.6 @ 1.2v, although every sample is different. For AVX workloads, however, non delidded this may likely be too much voltage. Depends entirely on what your usage is

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Abaidor PC Specs
    Abaidor PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C17Q-64GTZR | Trident Z RGB 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2WD 10TB Gold
    CPU CoolerEK Rampage VI Monoblock
    CaseC0smos 2 Modded
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Abaidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    259

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Non Delidded depending on cooling, up to 1.23v should be fine for non AVX workloads on all cores. My 7940X will do 4.6 @ 1.2v, although every sample is different. For AVX workloads, however, non delidded this may likely be too much voltage. Depends entirely on what your usage is
    1.23v is only on 2 cores and only for 4.7GHz turbo (will also lower most probably since I am still testing). The rest of the cores are on 1.15V max.

    99% of the time in Windows the clocks are 1.2GHz and 0.7V.

    However, I am not doing any AVX workloads 99% of the time and have offsets 3 & 5 in place.

    For cooling I am using a custom loop EK Monoblock, Dual D5 Pumps, and a big fat MO-RA 420 Pro external radiator with 9 X ML140 Pro fans. I have also taken great care with my Case airflow and all temps are really nice e.g. PCH 54-60c. DIMMs no more thna 40c.


    I will delid in the future but since I do not need more right now I might as well enjoy some extra warranty.

    My plan is to shift to hard tubing in 2-3 months from now (need a rest) so given the chance I will delid the CPU too. I will gather all the required materials (delid tool, liquid metal, liquid tape) and be ready.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •