Page 139 of 154 FirstFirst ... 39 89 129 137 138 139 140 141 149 ... LastLast
Results 1,381 to 1,390 of 1539
  1. #1381
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    190

    Quote Originally Posted by Long_Y0! View Post
    2x16 is completely different, but here it's 2x8 and it should be much better than that.
    Right, 2x8 should perform better than 2x16 with the 2700x?

  2. #1382
    ROG Member Array gabrielsp85 PC Specs
    gabrielsp85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus STRIX X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)CMW16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    MonitorIt's trash. plz help
    CPU CoolerRYUO 240 AIO
    CaseH500i
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-ACRH17
    gabrielsp85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    So what is the most stable BIOS for the 2700x and 2x8GB memory running at 2666 (not overclocked)? I am still on 4207 and never updated after that.
    4602 was the most stable BIOS I tried. After the 32MB BIOS came out RAM compatibility was gotten worse and after you flash a 32MB BIOS you can't flashback a 16MB BIOS. I was able to run 4x8GB 3200MHz CL14 RAM with ease, now I have to bump the voltage higher than before to reach stability. Not only that, the core voltage has increased significantly for no reason. So If you're not using a Ryzen 3000 CPU don't upgrade past 4602.

  3. #1383
    ROG Member Array gabrielsp85 PC Specs
    gabrielsp85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus STRIX X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)CMW16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    MonitorIt's trash. plz help
    CPU CoolerRYUO 240 AIO
    CaseH500i
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-ACRH17
    gabrielsp85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    Right, 2x8 should perform better than 2x16 with the 2700x?
    Will be about the same, but you cant use the garbage XMP and do the timings manually. It will definitely be better than 4x8GB, but if you don't need 32GB, go with 2x8GB.

  4. #1384
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielsp85 View Post
    4602 was the most stable BIOS I tried. After the 32MB BIOS came out RAM compatibility was gotten worse and after you flash a 32MB BIOS you can't flashback a 16MB BIOS. I was able to run 4x8GB 3200MHz CL14 RAM with ease, now I have to bump the voltage higher than before to reach stability. Not only that, the core voltage has increased significantly for no reason. So If you're not using a Ryzen 3000 CPU don't upgrade past 4602.
    Exactly what happened to me. I could flash back to the 4602 but it isn't the same anymore. It screwed over my RAM settings. I'm RMAing my RAM anyways...

  5. #1385
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    41

    Hello, I have strange problem. On back of my mobo I have connected wireless usb adapter and it works great. If I connect USB stick on front panel of my case and start to use usb stick my internet speed becomes very slow. What could this be? I am still on BIOS 4204 and I am using my old windwos installation from my previous mbo. Should I update BIOS and reinstall Windows? Also when updating BIOS I just put it on stick and update through BIOS, as far as I seen there si no bridge BIOS so I can safely update to latest version?

  6. #1386
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    Right, 2x8 should perform better than 2x16 with the 2700x?
    I'm not sure why the size would make a difference? I am running 2x16 Samsung B die 3200 CL14 with a 2700x and zero problems. Didn't even have to make manual adjustments after applying the XMP/DOCP profile.

    Now 4x8 could be a problem, Zen and Zen+ don't seem to like 4 sticks of RAM, I had that and couldn't get it to hold the XMP profile. Moved it to my Plex rig with a 1600 and downclocked it to 2866 to keep it stable.

  7. #1387
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by schmak View Post
    I'm not sure why the size would make a difference?.
    Dual Rank memory overclocks significantly worse than Single Rank.
    So unless your 16 GB stick is somehow single rank - it won't overclock nearly as good as single rank.

  8. #1388
    New ROGer Array Crosslhs82 PC Specs
    Crosslhs82 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus rog strix f gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX. Flare x
    Graphics Card #1Zotac gtx 1070 ti
    Sound CardOnbound
    MonitorVizio 24in tv 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo 250gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair h110i
    CaseThermatake f31 suppressor
    Power SupplyCorsair cx650m
    Keyboard Logitech wireless combo
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Win 10 1809
    Network RouterOnbound lan

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielsp85 View Post
    4602 was the most stable BIOS I tried. After the 32MB BIOS came out RAM compatibility was gotten worse and after you flash a 32MB BIOS you can't flashback a 16MB BIOS. I was able to run 4x8GB 3200MHz CL14 RAM with ease, now I have to bump the voltage higher than before to reach stability. Not only that, the core voltage has increased significantly for no reason. So If you're not using a Ryzen 3000 CPU don't upgrade past 4602.
    I was on 4602 and should have Never updated to 5204.
    I'm currently still working on a 4.125 ghz oc @ 1.40v just to get somewhere close to the cb scores i use to have with my 2600x of 1440 to 1462 on xfr pbo enabled.
    Now it's 1415 best. As far as my ram g.skill flare x 3200 2x8 set to r drm calc 3200 fast it's stable with no errors but go past and it throughs errors or Bsod's and or even just a blank screen.
    It used to run 3400 fast no errors but since 5204 i have lost alot of hair.

    IF the 5204 was only meant for Zen 2 cpu's then Asus should have had that statement in the Bios link as the other bios links said to be sure to update the chipset drivers first.
    So
    IF YOU ARE NOT INSTALLING A ZEN 2 CPU DO NOT UPDATE TO THIS BIOS.

    Something like that would have saved my Hair.

    So this can aslo be a update to the 2600x with g.skill 3400 no boot.

    Was finally able to get it to boot with mem training @1.42 - 1.44v but still had issuse's that i can't figure out how to resolve.

    Tried the suggestions of earlier comments to do offset vcore voltage it did work but is not getting what the manual oc is getting.

    Current settings
    LLC auto
    Cpu core ratio 41.25. 4.125ghz
    Vddcr volt o/ride 1.40v
    Soc 1.10v
    Performance enhancer level 2
    Pbo enabled
    Level 10 + 200mhz
    Docp / 3200 frequency set to r drm calc fast. 14 14 14 28 42

    Running OCCT v5.3.2
    Small data set 72.5c
    Medium data set 72c. Had screen blank out like it went into hibernation which all sleep modes are turned off in power plans and wake timers enabled.
    Increase voltage now just over 1.4060

    So OC attempt still in progress.

    This is in a room that has now a/c, i do have fans trying to get some a/c in this room, so my temps do fluctuate slightly. ( apartment ) no option for renovations.

    Specs
    R stx x470 f, r5 2600x G.Skill flare x 3200 2x8
    Corsair h110i with noctua 110cfm 3000rpm fans as exhaust at top of
    Thermaltake f31 suppressor case
    970 evo plus 500gb m.2 os drive win 10 home 1903
    Crucial mx500 m.2 500gb
    Samsung 860 evo 250gb sata ssd
    2x pny 120gb sata ssd's
    Seagate baracuda 3tb
    Zotac gtx 1070 ti 8gb
    Corsair cx650m bronze 80+ psu

    At this rate i may not have to pay for a haircut ever again LOL.



    Ok so i have this thing set at 4.125ghz
    LLC level 5
    And vddcr cpu override set 1.38750 been running occt for over 2 hrs now on medium data set temp maxed out 1c higher then when i was on 4602 @77c in a warm room but still no joy on ram higher then 3200 fast.
    Could someone look at this pic and let know what you think of this oc?


    https://m.imgur.com/a/zfrcPWc
    Last edited by Crosslhs82; 08-23-2019 at 05:24 AM. Reason: Update to post

  9. #1389
    ROG Member Array Filters PC Specs
    Filters PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X470-F
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)TridentZ F4-3200C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1070 Gaming 8g
    Storage #1Samsung Evo850
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 M.2
    CPU CoolerCustom Water loop EK
    CaseFractal Design R5
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    OS Win10Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Crosslhs82 View Post
    I was on 4602 and should have Never updated to 5204.
    I'm currently still working on a 4.125 ghz oc @ 1.40v just to get somewhere close to the cb scores i use to have with my 2600x of 1440 to 1462 on xfr pbo enabled.
    Now it's 1415 best. As far as my ram g.skill flare x 3200 2x8 set to r drm calc 3200 fast it's stable with no errors but go past and it throughs errors or Bsod's and or even just a blank screen.
    It used to run 3400 fast no errors but since 5204 i have lost alot of hair.

    IF the 5204 was only meant for Zen 2 cpu's then Asus should have had that statement in the Bios link as the other bios links said to be sure to update the chipset drivers first.
    So
    IF YOU ARE NOT INSTALLING A ZEN 2 CPU DO NOT UPDATE TO THIS BIOS.

    Something like that would have saved my Hair.

    So this can aslo be a update to the 2600x with g.skill 3400 no boot.

    Was finally able to get it to boot with mem training @1.42 - 1.44v but still had issuse's that i can't figure out how to resolve.

    Tried the suggestions of earlier comments to do offset vcore voltage it did work but is not getting what the manual oc is getting.

    Current settings
    LLC auto
    Cpu core ratio 41.25. 4.125ghz
    Vddcr volt o/ride 1.40v
    Soc 1.10v
    Performance enhancer level 2
    Pbo enabled
    Level 10 + 200mhz
    Docp / 3200 frequency set to r drm calc fast. 14 14 14 28 42

    Running OCCT v5.3.2
    Small data set 72.5c
    Medium data set 72c. Had screen blank out like it went into hibernation which all sleep modes are turned off in power plans and wake timers enabled.
    Increase voltage now just over 1.4060

    So OC attempt still in progress.

    This is in a room that has now a/c, i do have fans trying to get some a/c in this room, so my temps do fluctuate slightly. ( apartment ) no option for renovations.

    Specs
    R stx x470 f, r5 2600x G.Skill flare x 3200 2x8
    Corsair h110i with noctua 110cfm 3000rpm fans as exhaust at top of
    Thermaltake f31 suppressor case
    970 evo plus 500gb m.2 os drive win 10 home 1903
    Crucial mx500 m.2 500gb
    Samsung 860 evo 250gb sata ssd
    2x pny 120gb sata ssd's
    Seagate baracuda 3tb
    Zotac gtx 1070 ti 8gb
    Corsair cx650m bronze 80+ psu

    At this rate i may not have to pay for a haircut ever again LOL.



    Ok so i have this thing set at 4.125ghz
    LLC level 5
    And vddcr cpu override set 1.38750 been running occt for over 2 hrs now on medium data set temp maxed out 1c higher then when i was on 4602 @77c in a warm room but still no joy on ram higher then 3200 fast.
    Could someone look at this pic and let know what you think of this oc?


    https://m.imgur.com/a/zfrcPWc
    Man first you Have LLC too high on cpu voltage its better if u set higher voltage and lower LLC to max 3 to avoid spike.
    Ssecond soc voltage also no need 1.1, you can set soc llc3 and lower that voltage at 1.05.
    I was using a 2600x whit gskill 3200c14 2x8 at 3533 C14 fast setting no problem soc 1.05 llc3 ram voltage 1.43 on the latest bios whitout problem, if your imc can't handle lower to 3466mhz difference its rly minimal

    After that are u using D ram calculator from 1usmus ? If not ceck it out
    Last edited by Filters; 08-23-2019 at 05:27 PM.

  10. #1390
    New ROGer Array Crosslhs82 PC Specs
    Crosslhs82 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus rog strix f gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX. Flare x
    Graphics Card #1Zotac gtx 1070 ti
    Sound CardOnbound
    MonitorVizio 24in tv 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo 250gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair h110i
    CaseThermatake f31 suppressor
    Power SupplyCorsair cx650m
    Keyboard Logitech wireless combo
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Win 10 1809
    Network RouterOnbound lan

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Filters View Post
    Man first you Have LLC too high on cpu voltage its better if u set higher voltage and lower LLC to max 3 to avoid spike.
    Ssecond soc voltage also no need 1.1, you can set soc llc3 and lower that voltage at 1.05.
    I was using a 2600x whit gskill 3200c14 2x8 at 3533 C14 fast setting no problem soc 1.05 llc3 ram voltage 1.43 on the latest bios whitout problem, if your imc can't handle lower to 3466mhz difference its rly minimal

    After that are u using D ram calculator from 1usmus ? If not ceck it out
    Thanks for the response i will try working the Llc down.
    So far from time of last post till now it has ran 4hrs of OCCT ver 5.3.2 and maxed temp @77c.
    Also passed a 8 hr run of asus realbench Stress with 8gb ram setting.
    Currently running aida64 cpu,fpu,cache,and system memory with no avx running @65c.

    I did try in the first attemps with Lower LLC and higher voltage but it just wasn't stable.
    As far as the ram it is on Ryzen dram calculator settings.
    I didn't try LLC on the soc but whether it was low or high it wasn't stable.
    It took mem training and 1.42v to 1.44v to even boot 3400 safe and couldn't find a way to get rid of the errors it was throughing.
    But 3200 fast has no errors.
    The 3200 fast and 4.125ghz oc does get me back in the 1400's in cinebench r15 where anything else doesn't.

    If it stays as is i will know it the limmit for now.
    But come income tax time i may get a 3600x or 3700x and new ram depending on how the bugs have been worked out at that time.
    I still have a fx6300 and a fx8350 running so at that time would be short a mobo.
    ASUS THIS IS WHERE YOU NEED TO PAY ATTENTION
    The next mobo to replace the aging fx8350 WILL HAVE BIOS FLASHBACK......
    And very doubtful i will drop the coins for a Crosshair's or x570.
    So looks like 1 of your competitors will win as they have several mobo's with flashback.

Page 139 of 154 FirstFirst ... 39 89 129 137 138 139 140 141 149 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •