Page 165 of 186 FirstFirst ... 65 115 155 163 164 165 166 167 175 ... LastLast
Results 1,641 to 1,650 of 1852
  1. #1641
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Sunshine View Post
    I would say a Noctua NH-15 would be good but AIO or WC loop would be better. As far a VRMs the board will most likely be fine with good airflow. Its rated for 360A max output. A 3900X puts out 142w full load which even if it was pulling 1.5v under load would be 210-215A. But the 3000 series chips under full load are about 1.35-1.38v all core which is 190-195A. So just over half the max out put of the board.

    3950X will be full load 240A range at worst, which is 65% of max output. But in all reality if your running 16 core at full load for long periods of time then you should be investing in a Threadripper system. And I would say no to OC the 3950X on this board.
    I found this video very interesting. Its not all about how much the VRM can handle, but about how well the heat is dissipated as well. The VRM may be able to do 360w, but if its getting too hot, you'll run into thermal throttling. That being said, my 2700x requires much more wattage than my 3800x does, nearly twice the amount of power. last I checked 16cores/2 = 8, or the 3800x, vs the 3950x so maybe its fine.

    https://youtu.be/o0vmGHbwx1M

  2. #1642
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    212

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook161 View Post
    I found this video very interesting. Its not all about how much the VRM can handle, but about how well the heat is dissipated as well. The VRM may be able to do 360w, but if its getting too hot, you'll run into thermal throttling. That being said, my 2700x requires much more wattage than my 3800x does, nearly twice the amount of power. last I checked 16cores/2 = 8, or the 3800x, vs the 3950x so maybe its fine.

    https://youtu.be/o0vmGHbwx1M
    Thats something I was wondering about since I have a 2700X, how much more wattage does a 3950X require and how much more heat does it generate than a 2700X? What about comparing the 2700X vs the 3900X?

  3. #1643
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    Thats something I was wondering about since I have a 2700X, how much more wattage does a 3950X require and how much more heat does it generate than a 2700X? What about comparing the 2700X vs the 3900X?
    Man, you have 3 years of free service, so even if your pc case has no good airflow in it and you load your 3950X with LinX 24/7 and the motherboard dies - you will probably get it replaced for free anyway. And if you did want a cool VRM - you should've gone for Crosshair Hero.
    So I wouldn't worry about that. And if your pc case has at least decent airflow and you only play games and occasionally encode videos - I really doubt the motherboard won't handle that just fine. And if you use your PC for professional rendering - you should've had enough money to buy a better motherboard at least.

    tl;dr don't worry.

  4. #1644
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    HI,
    I have trouble with USB 3.1 the Speed is 20mb or not working at all. Is there any chipset firmware upgrade or any fix for it?

  5. #1645
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Heres your answer for water cooling 3950X


  6. #1646
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    LOL

    I hope it's worth the wait.

  7. #1647
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    212

    Well, those are all good points and not coincidentally, I'm doing some of those things. I do encode videos, or to be more precise I make videos when I play Space Engine and I download and convert movie soundtracks to .ogg files and then I combine them with the videos and make .WMV videos with the soundtracks overlayed on the videos to upload to YouTube. They're only 720P videos but converting them to .WMV from Flashback's proprietary format is what uses up the cpu (Flashback is what I use to make the videos).... my cpu temp is up around 70-72C while converting them to .WMV format (the files are around 1 hour long each and take about 10 min to convert.)

    Here's an example of what I'm doing:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rz1h...ature=youtu.be

    Also, I have an unrelated question. Does playing music all the time eventually blow out the music card? I have a Creative Audigy RX 7.1 with Creative 7.1 speakers. The sound card seems to be processing music even when the speakers are turned off because I can still record music with the speakers turned off using "What U Hear" in my audio recorder. What about if I keep the speakers on all the time? And by all the time I mean around 12 hrs a day.
    Last edited by Alex0915; 11-12-2019 at 12:02 AM.

  8. #1648
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by topfn View Post
    @qpens8:
    Uninstall your asmedia drivers(if you had them manually installed before) and then install "pure" asmedia drivers (1.16.59.1) from there


    waiting for strix-f agesa 1.0.0.4 be like:

    Attachment 82931
    f5...
    F5...
    F5...
    F5...
    F5...
    F5...

  9. #1649
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Aura keeps turning itself on

    Got an issue with X470-F Gaming. Updated the bios to 5220 and since than Aura keeps re-enabling itself. I turn it off in bios and save the settings. When i start the computer the next time i turn the computer off aura is on. It stays off when computer is running, but when computer is turned off aura is on. Stupid annoying crap. Does anybody know how to get rid of it?

  10. #1650
    New ROGer Array stehnik PC Specs
    stehnik PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL 16GB KIT DDR4 3400MHz CL16 Sniper X for AMD

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Question 4x8GB G.SKILL 3400MHz CL16 Sniper X for AMD

    Hi,

    I am using this mb (ASUS STRIX X470-F) with Ryzen 2700X and 2x8GB G.SKILL CL16 Sniper X for AMD with D.O.C.P. enabled, which means 3400MHz. This configuration works flawlesly.

    I would like to upgrade the memory - add second pair of the same RAM modules to have 4x8GB. The question is, will it work with D.O.C.P. on 3400MHz? Or should I expect to go down with frequency?

    Does anyone have experience with it?

Page 165 of 186 FirstFirst ... 65 115 155 163 164 165 166 167 175 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •