Page 79 of 150 FirstFirst ... 29 69 77 78 79 80 81 89 129 ... LastLast
Results 781 to 790 of 1499
  1. #781
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question Another non windows x470 f.....

    Hi everyone, I'm new ( and old ) so be gentle lol. Built my first PC. Ryzen 5 2600x, Asus x470 f gaming mobo, Vengeance Pro 32oo. Evo ssd etc etc.
    I have read as many related articles as I possibly can in the last two full days. System will not: boot to windows via USB. Keyboard and mouse are useless as all the inputs are not getting power. In bios there is power to all inputs. Windows seven runs in an dvd drive up to the language setup screen. No mouse or keyboard so that screen is useless. I have access to my sons pc. I have been into the bios and to change boot order etc. Bios is updated. ( not sure if any other update downloads can be added at this time) . Am I hooped?

  2. #782
    ROG Member Array Gecori PC Specs
    Gecori PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600X
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX VEGA 64 OC
    Storage #1970 EVO 500 GB
    Storage #2860 EVO 500 GB
    CPU CoolerH100i Pro RGB
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 TG USB-C
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850I
    Keyboard Logitech G 710+
    Mouse Logitech G 502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Hyper X Cloud 2
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1809

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by IronRick View Post
    Hi everyone, I'm new ( and old ) so be gentle lol. Built my first PC. Ryzen 5 2600x, Asus x470 f gaming mobo, Vengeance Pro 32oo. Evo ssd etc etc.
    I have read as many related articles as I possibly can in the last two full days. System will not: boot to windows via USB. Keyboard and mouse are useless as all the inputs are not getting power. In bios there is power to all inputs. Windows seven runs in an dvd drive up to the language setup screen. No mouse or keyboard so that screen is useless. I have access to my sons pc. I have been into the bios and to change boot order etc. Bios is updated. ( not sure if any other update downloads can be added at this time) . Am I hooped?
    Hi IronRick, which version of Windows are you trying to install ?

  3. #783
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Gecori View Post
    Hi IronRick, which version of Windows are you trying to install ?

    I have a legal disc but lost the key. Windows 7. I'm guessing I need windows 10 to install.? Would be easy if the usb inputs worked. Would I be correct in saying I need to somehow make a boot disc downloaded from the net? Wish I knew my way around Windows/pc's better. Been 100% Apple for about 18 years....
    Last edited by IronRick; 01-30-2019 at 05:25 PM.

  4. #784
    ROG Enthusiast Array Topfn PC Specs
    Topfn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Ballistix LT @3466C14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Topfn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    55

    @32GB RAM users:
    What's the proper way to use 32GB @3200MHz on this mobo? 4x8 or 2x16?
    Thx

  5. #785
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by IronRick View Post
    I have a legal disc but lost the key. Windows 7. I'm guessing I need windows 10 to install.? Would be easy if the usb inputs worked. Would I be correct in saying I need to somehow make a boot disc downloaded from the net? Wish I knew my way around Windows/pc's better. Been 100% Apple for about 18 years....
    On the AM4 platform, you're going to want to install Windows 10. Windows 7 requires a bit of finesse,downloading some compatible USB drivers, and installing Windows 7 from a USB drive or a USB DVD Drive. I'd recommend you grab a Windows 10 key and download the installer (to create a bootable USB) from the Microsoft site unless you're absolutely not willing to use W10 (for privacy concerns, or comfort, or whatever).

  6. #786
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    On the AM4 platform, you're going to want to install Windows 10. Windows 7 requires a bit of finesse,downloading some compatible USB drivers, and installing Windows 7 from a USB drive or a USB DVD Drive. I'd recommend you grab a Windows 10 key and download the installer (to create a bootable USB) from the Microsoft site unless you're absolutely not willing to use W10 (for privacy concerns, or comfort, or whatever).
    I don't know enough about Win 10 to say I dont want it. Remember there is no power to usb once it leaves the bios . Everything connected goes black. Hopefully I can get it put on a dvd disc.

  7. #787
    ROG Member Array geekyadz PC Specs
    geekyadz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX RXVEGA64 O8G GAMING
    CaseCooler Master MC500M
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    On the AM4 platform, you're going to want to install Windows 10. Windows 7 requires a bit of finesse,downloading some compatible USB drivers, and installing Windows 7 from a USB drive or a USB DVD Drive. I'd recommend you grab a Windows 10 key and download the installer (to create a bootable USB) from the Microsoft site unless you're absolutely not willing to use W10 (for privacy concerns, or comfort, or whatever).
    You can still use your Windows 7 key to activate Windows 10 if you install the windows 10 equivalent ie if they have home install home. If they have pro install pro.

    Worked for me a couple of weeks ago

  8. #788
    ROG Member Array Gecori PC Specs
    Gecori PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600X
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX VEGA 64 OC
    Storage #1970 EVO 500 GB
    Storage #2860 EVO 500 GB
    CPU CoolerH100i Pro RGB
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 TG USB-C
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850I
    Keyboard Logitech G 710+
    Mouse Logitech G 502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Hyper X Cloud 2
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1809

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by IronRick View Post
    I have a legal disc but lost the key. Windows 7. I'm guessing I need windows 10 to install.? Would be easy if the usb inputs worked. Would I be correct in saying I need to somehow make a boot disc downloaded from the net? Wish I knew my way around Windows/pc's better. Been 100% Apple for about 18 years....
    If you're not comfortable trying Windows 10, ASUS provides a tool to make a bootable Windows 7 USB stick. https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._20180503R.zip

    You can find Cheap OEM keys on Ebay.

  9. #789
    ROG Member Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill F4-3200C14-8GVH
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Kingston HyperX
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623
    OS Windws 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 Kayboard ASUS ROG Strife
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Topfn View Post
    @32GB RAM users:
    What's the proper way to use 32GB @3200MHz on this mobo? 4x8 or 2x16?
    Thx
    Both should work.... 8GB sticks are more available, and cheaper, than 16G sticks though. I do not currently run 32GB since one of my 8GB went RMA, but it was cheaper and easier to find 2 pairs of 8 rather than one set of 4x8GB or a set of 2x16GB.

    Having said that, there is no warranty that a set of 2x8GB will work at 3200 with another identical set, that is why they sell the 4x8GB and 2x16GB set, minor diffs in memory, like die or voltage or timing. If you see identical RAM available in any of the sets you should be ok though.

    It's a complex world.

  10. #790
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Is there an easy way to remove IO shroud off x470-f?

Page 79 of 150 FirstFirst ... 29 69 77 78 79 80 81 89 129 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •