Page 1 of 140 1 2 3 11 51 101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1400
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3000MHz 4x8GB 1.39v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2850EVO SATA 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1809
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Asus Strix X470-F Gaming owners thread

    Hello guys, I am starting this thread for all Stix X470-F owners to discuss their overclock settings, issues etc. So that everyone get help quickly in a organised way. Installed my old 1600x in this mobo with 4011 bios and flareX 3200 with default docp and it works just fine without any issues so far. One thing to mention The board pushes 1.15v soc default docp profile. Is it normal seems a bit high for me as I have upgraded from B350-F gaming.
    However a small issue I believe, the asus lighting control is not behaving normal. I mean just after login to windows it is taking a bit time to start (5min) before that if I try to on Lighting Control by clicking it, program crash window appears after few seconds. But when it starts on it's own then I can open asus lighting control. Anyone experiencing similar issue???
    Also tried to use older version.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Yep, I have this motherboard (bios version 4011). Unfortunately, my new build (2700x, 32gb ddr4) is giving me issues. My pc would reboot itself randomly, with no bsod dump generated. Sometimes, the screen would just go blank with all fans and lights still running (and I need to flick the switch on the psu to turn off - the power and reboot buttons would no longer work). I've put everything back to stock, and tried some of the suggestions from around the Web on similar issues - such as turning HPET on in Windows 10, switching power plan to high performance and nvidia card (2x1080tis) too, setting tdr delay to 8 seconds instead of 2 (turning off tdr detection would cause a hard freeze with screen still on when the issue happens again), turning off global c-states, setting psu idle power to current setting (and not low power) etc etc, but it still happens.

    Usually the black screen or reboot would happen very soon after intense activity (such as the video card and CPU mining all day when I'm at work) - restarting manually immediately after stopping mining usually allows me to work uninterrupted for a couple of hours, but it would lock up at some point. The curious thing is, the pc can run for 9-10 hours straight at load when mining (note that I switch off the monitor during this time), but would invariably crash when I'm interacting with the system on minimal load.

    This is pointing to some sort of hardware problem I think. I'm hoping it's not the motherboard. I've already replaced the psu with a 1000w corsair, provided each pcie power port on the video cards with their own separate cable to the psu, reclipped all the other cables, reseated the ram, video cards etc, conducted a ram test using hci memtest to 800%.

    The next steps are going to involve swapping components with my other Ryzen 1700x pc (ram, CPU, 1050ti), which I was hoping to avoid, but I think I've exhausted other options at this point. I'll also change power points at the wall and see if that helps anything.

    I suppose the point of my post is to see if anyone else is having similar issues with their Asus x470 system?

    There is a post in the hardware build forum from somebody with a similar problem : https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...om-Hell-itself
    Last edited by RealAntithesis; 06-05-2018 at 06:18 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3000MHz 4x8GB 1.39v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2850EVO SATA 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1809
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by RealAntithesis View Post
    Yep, I have this motherboard (bios version 4011). Unfortunately, my new build (2700x, 32gb ddr4) is giving me issues. My pc would reboot itself randomly, with no bsod dump generated. Sometimes, the screen would just go blank with all fans and lights still running (and I need to flick the switch on the psu to turn off - the power and reboot buttons would no longer work). I've put everything back to stock, and tried some of the suggestions from around the Web on similar issues - such as turning HPET on in Windows 10, switching power plan to high performance and nvidia card (2x1080tis) too, setting tdr delay to 8 seconds instead of 2 (turning off tdr detection would cause a hard freeze with screen still on when the issue happens again), turning off global c-states, setting psu idle power to current setting (and not low power) etc etc, but it still happens.

    Usually the black screen or reboot would happen very soon after intense activity (such as the video card and CPU mining all day when I'm at work) - restarting manually immediately after stopping mining usually allows me to work uninterrupted for a couple of hours, but it would lock up at some point. The curious thing is, the pc can run for 9-10 hours straight at load when mining (note that I switch off the monitor during this time), but would invariably crash when I'm interacting with the system on minimal load.

    This is pointing to some sort of hardware problem I think. I'm hoping it's not the motherboard. I've already replaced the psu with a 1000w corsair, provided each pcie power port on the video cards with their own separate cable to the psu, reclipped all the other cables, reseated the ram, video cards etc, conducted a ram test using hci memtest to 800%.

    The next steps are going to involve swapping components with my other Ryzen 1700x pc (ram, CPU, 1050ti), which I was hoping to avoid, but I think I've exhausted other options at this point. I'll also change power points at the wall and see if that helps anything.

    I suppose the point of my post is to see if anyone else is having similar issues with their Asus x470 system?

    There is a post in the hardware build forum from somebody with a similar problem : https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...om-Hell-itself
    Are you running multiple hardware monitoring software like AiSuite+HWinfo or something? In that case remove one and the black screen issue will stop.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I am running Asus AISuite with MSI Afterburner. Are you saying these are incompatible because they are monitoring the same sensors? That's a bit of an oversight by Asus or MSI (or Microsoft etc) if that's the case. I'll uninstall AISuite and see if that helps (I use Afterburner hotkeys to switch between power profiles for my 1080tis so they don't overheat when I'm mining). Thanks.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3000MHz 4x8GB 1.39v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2850EVO SATA 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1809
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by RealAntithesis View Post
    I am running Asus AISuite with MSI Afterburner. Are you saying these are incompatible because they are monitoring the same sensors? That's a bit of an oversight by Asus or MSI (or Microsoft etc) if that's the case. I'll uninstall AISuite and see if that helps (I use Afterburner hotkeys to switch between power profiles for my 1080tis so they don't overheat when I'm mining). Thanks.
    Ok chances are less since afterburner and AI suite is not supposed to create conflict but AI suite is buggy so remove it first. However I think you have aura installed. Is it set to sence mode where the led colour changes with cpu utilization/temp?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Yep - I have Aura installed, but it's set to rainbow, mostly because I've been pre-occupied with the crashing to change it to monitor cpu temps (my preferred). Will this cause the same issue if it is synced to temps?

    I've now uninstalled AISuite and kept Afterburner running. So far so good. I didn't manually restart after stopping mining, and it's been a few hours of working normally with no crash yet. I'm getting mildly optimistic now

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3000MHz 4x8GB 1.39v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2850EVO SATA 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1809
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by RealAntithesis View Post
    Yep - I have Aura installed, but it's set to rainbow, mostly because I've been pre-occupied with the crashing to change it to monitor cpu temps (my preferred). Will this cause the same issue if it is synced to temps?

    I've now uninstalled AISuite and kept Afterburner running. So far so good. I didn't manually restart after stopping mining, and it's been a few hours of working normally with no crash yet. I'm getting mildly optimistic now
    Ok the problem is when you try to access the sensors with more than one hw monitors then there will be black screen due to conflict. You can install hwinfo+msi afterburner this should work fine. Avoid AISuite for all cost it is a devil made by asus.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3000MHz 4x8GB 1.39v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2850EVO SATA 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1809
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    By the way guys use this bios 4008 it is working flawless for me and my FlareX Kit is absolutely at CL14 at default DOCP in 2X8GB mode with 1600X. However not so stable at 4x8GB default. I have not tweaked timing yet and I will post it.

    Regarding the RGB mess, it is fixed and the cause was the driver corruption.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hmm nice a dedicated asus x470-F thread
    hundreds of post about people with their fancy crosshair VII, hardy anything on the X470-F gaming

    Looking to get some info and insight on CPU overclocking with this board
    Was trying to do a bit better cpu overclock, but ideally I would like to still use the PBO,
    because its lowers the clock speed when stressing all cores, which means dont have to use much voltage.

    But havent really succeeded yet, maybe someone has awnser to these issues

    # Vcore:
    Do more people have insane high vcore on auto? its 1.47 in bios if you leave it at auto?

    # PBO
    Adjusting cpu core ratio >> disables PBO
    Adjusting blck / ref clock >> disables PBO
    So guess this is not possible on this board?
    or maybe it works when you leave voltages on auto? which I really dont want to do with this board

    # Performance enhance 3
    uses PBO with fixed scalar 1x
    so less performance then Performance enhance 2 with scalar 10
    useless if I cant change blck

    # Performance enhance 4
    to extreme overclock when using all 8 cores on full stress, its goes to 4200-4240
    I need vcore votlage of 4.1 under max stress

    so basicly missing some fine tune options to increase the overclock with PBO

    Currently using:
    - Performance enhance 2
    - PBO enabled with scalar 10
    - vcore 1.3250
    - cpu LLC 3

    idle / low load = 1.31 - 1.34
    max stress all cores = 1.36 -1.38
    2 cores boost to 4350 mhz
    8 cores medium stress 4116-4166mhz
    8 cores prime heavy stress 4050-4100

    Something I noticed with PBO and windows power plan setttings:
    The only way I can get to 4350 mhz when 2 cores are stressed is with 'windows balanced power plan'
    and this power plan still gives me similar results compared to the other power plans when stressing all cores

    You can test this e.g easily with Valley benchmark in window mode and change the power plan between
    - high performance power plan
    - ryzen balanced power plan
    - Windows balanced power plan
    Last edited by Orb79; 06-06-2018 at 03:24 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by AniChatt View Post
    By the way guys use this bios 4008 it is working flawless for me and my FlareX Kit is absolutely at CL14 at default DOCP in 2X8GB mode with 1600X. However not so stable at 4x8GB default. I have not tweaked timing yet and I will post it.

    Regarding the RGB mess, it is fixed and the cause was the driver corruption.
    About using 4 dimms, you cant overclock near as far compared to 2 dimms, gives to much stress on the internal memory controller of the cpu.
    Maximum achievable is 3333 mhz with 4 dimms, compared to 3600 mhz with 2 dimms.

    You could experiment with command rate / geardown:
    1T geardown disabled, would be amazed if you could get it stable past 3000 mhz
    1T geardown enabled (is like 1.5T)
    2T geardown disabled, more stable, you might achieve 3200 mhz cl14 with your ram and you can use uneven CL timings, like CL15.

    try tweak all manual timings, as the ryzen dram calculator advises, gives much lower latencies then leaving it on auto
    to only ones that did not work for me is
    - trdrdscl 2 or 3, needs to be 4
    - twrwrscal 2 or 3, needs to be 4
    - my ram cant do trcdwr 16, so using e.g cl15-17-17-17, get no performance increase if I use cl15-17-15-15

    im using this atm with:
    Crucial Ballistix Elite 4x8GB DDR4-3466 - BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    XMP 3466 16-18-18-36
    (samsung B-die, but not the best ones, but they where cheap)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	prefered-timings-2T.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	105.4 KB 
ID:	74111

    3266 mhz CL16-17-17-17 is also stable for met with Geardown enabled, 1T
    3333 mhz stable-ish, can game with it fine but ussually gives me an error in prime stress testing after an hour or so
    Last edited by Orb79; 06-06-2018 at 03:10 PM.

Page 1 of 140 1 2 3 11 51 101 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •