Page 123 of 153 FirstFirst ... 23 73 113 121 122 123 124 125 133 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,230 of 1525
  1. #1221
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    190

    Quote Originally Posted by schmak View Post
    I won't say that, the VRM might now support the 3950, but the website has been updated to show this board supports the 3900x now.
    Thanks, so for 16 core compatibility, I should get one of the newer x570 boards? Also, is there any news about how much RAM the new boards support? Is it still 64 GB or has that been upgraded to 128 GB?

  2. #1222
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    Thanks, so for 16 core compatibility, I should get one of the newer x570 boards? Also, is there any news about how much RAM the new boards support? Is it still 64 GB or has that been upgraded to 128 GB?
    The 570's support 128 GB, that's been known for a while.

    The 3950x will probably work, but you might be handicapped for OC with the VRM, esp if you want to use PCIe 4.0 in the future.

    Honestly though, by September when the 3950x is released we'll know a lot more about how much our 470 boards can take.

  3. #1223
    New ROGer Array Rottie Mad PC Specs
    Rottie Mad PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Crosshair VII Hero (WIFI)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3200MHZ (16GB)
    Graphics Card #1GALAX KFA2 GTX 1080TI EX OC
    Monitor2 x Acer 32" Curved 1440p @ 75hz (ED323QUR)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO NVME - OS/Boot
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO NVME - Games/Storage
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i RGB Platinum SE
    CaseCorsair Spec 06 RGB (White)
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750m
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MK.2 Special Edition
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB (White)
    Headset BOSE QC35 S2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended Gaming
    Headset/Speakers 2 x BOSE Soundtouch 10 in Stereo
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Rottie Mad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by schmak View Post
    Post that on twitter with their handle in the comment.
    Done as you suggested mate and Facebook, OCUK plus Trust Pilot!

    Trust pilot is shocking to see......................... Asus have an overall score of 1.4 out of 10 and 95% seem to be regarding warranty and aftersales!

    Asus UK 1.3/10
    Asus.com 1.4/10
    Asus.dk 1.8/10
    Asus.it 1.6/10
    Asus.nl 2.5/10
    Asus.fr 1.0/10
    Asus.de 1.8/10

    Absolutely ****ing disgusting results if you ask me, they should be ashamed of themselves

    Basically they're only interested in taking your money and then screwing you over with the aftersales

    Fool me once, shame on me!!

  4. #1224
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Anyone here with a Ryzen 3XXX CPU mess around with SOC voltage at all? Stock seems to be 1.1, but Ryzen 2XXX series CPUs had no problem running vSOC at 1.0V or lower. I can't find too much documentation on it, but I suspect SOC voltage includes the I/O die, so it may not be best to compare it to my old 2600X in terms of vSOC. So far I've been running 1.05 V with no issues. Just trying to save some heat. This 3700X gets pretty toasty with my Arctic Freezer 34, but I'm sure a lot of that has to do with a 240mm rad dumping heat into the case.

    Also, this 5007 BIOS kinda stinks. I can't seem to get my RAM kit to run with previously stable timings, and sometimes if I enter a timing value it doesn't like it'll just sit at a black screen after saving and resetting. No memory training, nothing. I then have to do all the bull**** with unplugging the computer and pulling the CMOS battery just to get the PC to POST. Afterwards, reloading perfectly stable settings will cause the same thing to happen again. Some other users elsewhere have figured out that setting the RAM to 2933 MHz initially, with the voltage you want for higher frequencies, then save and reset. Enter the BIOS again and set your memory kit to the speed you want and it should stick without failing to POST. Hoping for a BIOS release this week with AGESA 1003AB. At any rate I'm strongly considering ditching this board once and for all.
    Last edited by Alcolawl; 07-15-2019 at 04:49 AM.

  5. #1225
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    3600X on X470-F

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    Anyone here with a Ryzen 3XXX CPU mess around with SOC voltage at all? Stock seems to be 1.1, but Ryzen 2XXX series CPUs had no problem running vSOC at 1.0V or lower. I can't find too much documentation on it, but I suspect SOC voltage includes the I/O die, so it may not be best to compare it to my old 2600X in terms of vSOC. So far I've been running 1.05 V with no issues. Just trying to save some heat. This 3700X gets pretty toasty with my Arctic Freezer 34, but I'm sure a lot of that has to do with a 240mm rad dumping heat into the case.

    Also, this 5007 BIOS kinda stinks. I can't seem to get my RAM kit to run with previously stable timings, and sometimes if I enter a timing value it doesn't like it'll just sit at a black screen after saving and resetting. No memory training, nothing. I then have to do all the bull**** with unplugging the computer and pulling the CMOS battery just to get the PC to POST. Afterwards, reloading perfectly stable settings will cause the same thing to happen again. Some other users elsewhere have figured out that setting the RAM to 2933 MHz initially, with the voltage you want for higher frequencies, then save and reset. Enter the BIOS again and set your memory kit to the speed you want and it should stick without failing to POST. Hoping for a BIOS release this week with AGESA 1003AB. At any rate I'm strongly considering ditching this board once and for all.
    You're not alone brother, I'm currently just running docp 3200CL14, 1.35V, Gear down mode disabled, CR1, but don't ask me how I got it to work on BIOS 5007, it was a mess, I had to run auto timings/voltage first at 3600 which turned out to be CL24, boot into windows, back in BIOS then enable docp, disabled gdm and set CR1, nothing else since voltage is set by docp. I also can't run my previous stable timings 3466 CL14 with super tight subtimings and 60ns latency, my goal was 3600 CL14 but not possible at the moment, once the new BIOS is out I'll should get it to run with my b-die kit. For vSOC 1.1 should be fine. I ran 1.0 on my 2600X maybe it's also enough for 3rd gen will figure this out with the new BIOS. I had to clear cmos multiple times aswell and I was really frustrated with this board, I stick to it for now. If the next BIOS doesn't fix all the issues I might sell it and get a X570 even tho X570 mobo's are super overpriced and really not needed since our mobo has good enough power delivery and VRM's, except you care about PCIe 4.0 X570 is pretty much useless for us.

    I contacted asus germany support the guy told me they are working on it, maybe end of this weak it's finished. He also told me that asus received the "code" for the new bios/agesa on 7/7/2019.

    I was excited to get into ram overclocking again and get 3600CL14 stable but so far it's been a big disappointment on this board. At least the 3600X is really nice, I get 4.3GHz allcore while playing games with single cores boosting to 4.4GHz. Temperatures are definitely higher but that's because of the higher density and 7nm. I just enabled pbo and left anything else on auto. I have not tried performance enhancer yet, there are 3 levels with level 3 beeing (oc). Also CPU max boost override of 200MHz did nothing really it's already maxed out out of the box. I'm not even sure if pbo is working on this ****ty bios. There is not much (if at all) oc headroom on 3rd gen.

  6. #1226
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    32 gb 3200 cl 16

    I don't trust the x570 cards too much! I prefer the passive and silent sink!

    I would like to take the beautiful (and functional) ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING!

    but my question is: are the CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 and HX432C16PB3AK2 / 32 rams compatible? on the qvl list of the site do not appear! indeed very few are those at 3200 32 gb! (strangely the list of b450 strix etc is infinitely more up to date)

    I would like to switch to this motherboard ... and then move on to a more powerful CPU tomorrow (already going from i5 6600 to 2600 cmq I should notice an improvement in some situations)

  7. #1227
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Hello! Since the Prime X470-Pro has the Daisy chain topology and the Strix X470-F has the T-topology, my question is: what's the difference between them when it comes to 2 RAM sticks overclock?

    Here they say the T-topology can overclock RAM only up to 3466 MHz, may be 3533 MHz. I did want to buy the Prime one, but then found out its VRM is hot (not in the good sense) and I want to get a 3900X in the future, then I found out the Strix has the T-topology and thus will not be able to OC my B-die to 3600 MHz.

    What's your successful OC frequency for RAM?

  8. #1228
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Another DOCP casualty

    So just plugged in the 3700X

    All fairly standard settings, but engaging DOCP plunges it into SAFE post.

    This seems to be pretty common with the 5007 Bios.

    Anything reliable to fix this or is it just wait for the new BIOS to sort?

  9. #1229
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    274

    Quote Originally Posted by CmdrLaw View Post
    So just plugged in the 3700X

    All fairly standard settings, but engaging DOCP plunges it into SAFE post.

    This seems to be pretty common with the 5007 Bios.

    Anything reliable to fix this or is it just wait for the new BIOS to sort?
    VBOOT DRAM Voltage setts itself too low, 1.2V, just change it manually to 1.35V and it will work as normal.

  10. #1230
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    VBOOT DRAM Voltage setts itself too low, 1.2V, just change it manually to 1.35V and it will work as normal.
    I just plated a 3700x too and had to downclock my 3200Mhz CL14 to 2800Mhz to get the system stable. Of course at 1.35V. Higher voltage didn't matter.
    Seems this bios 5007 has some issues...

Page 123 of 153 FirstFirst ... 23 73 113 121 122 123 124 125 133 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •