Page 153 of 186 FirstFirst ... 53 103 143 151 152 153 154 155 163 ... LastLast
Results 1,521 to 1,530 of 1857
  1. #1521
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by Long_Y0! View Post
    SumTingWong
    1) What do you mean by "handle"? A regular load should not really heat anything, LinX is not a regular load at all. 3700X without manual OC, without Linx-like load should be OK on almost any board, and although ours is decent at best when it comes to VRM, it should be able to handle it, unless there's no airflow in your case at all.
    2) Look #1. Under "usual" circumstances (regular home/office usage) I doubt 3900X can load VRM much enough for it to overheat, the only complication might be that older fewer-phase VRMs may not be optimal in terms of voltage quality/stability, that's why if you really care about VRM quality - go for top-tier motherboards like Crosshair or AsRock Taichi. Personally I didn't buy the Taichi only because I heard of its bad RAM OC, in the end jokes on me - X470-F can't even start when I set my 2 B-die-based sticks to 3466 MHz (1usmus dram calc - Safe preset), so I feel like a complete fool.
    3) Without a custom thermal sensor manually placed somewhere in the VRM area you can not check its temp, and I doubt anybody cares about it, it works somehow and that's it. If you care about such things - better buy a Crosshair VI at least, it's better than our sh... in every possible way, personally I would not recommend anybody to buy X470-F, because RAM OC is horrible (with the best-overclocking B-die sticks!!!) with it, because BIOS updates are 1-1.5 months late for us, basically there's nothing good about this motherboard, and after you check out its price you should keep away from it, it is not worth the price.

    I meant can it run the 3700x and 3900x no problem at stock and even light OC like 100Mhz. Idk if it can run 3950x, but if I have money for 3950x then I should invest on something like Crosshair VII Hero. I don't like X570 because the chipset fan and PCIE 4.

  2. #1522
    ROG Enthusiast Array Filters PC Specs
    Filters PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X470-F
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ F4-3200C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1070 Gaming 8g
    Storage #1Samsung Evo850
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 M.2
    CPU CoolerCustom Water loop EK
    CaseFractal Design R5
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    OS Win10Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by SumTingWong View Post
    Thanks, but how do i setup this sensor?
    Did u connect something to that ? You need a 2 pin thermal sensor to read something to connect.
    If yes you can see the temp in HWinfo, i use for example a water temperatur sensor for my water loop
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos HWiNFO64 v6.11-3915 Sensor Status 24_09_2019 20_54_46.png  


  3. #1523
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    SexySale85
    Both Afuefix and flashrom give me the same error: rom file size does not match existing bios size.
    With 5216 it was exactly the same. The .CAP file is a bit larger than 32 MB.
    It's weird.

    SumTingWong
    It depends on software you load it with. I suppose 3900X in games will be fine, not sure about other activities (and I'm almost sure under very heavy load like LinX this motherboard will throttle).
    As for 100 MHz OC - after reading some forums I've concluded Ryzen 3000 already uses optimal settings (frequency), I doubt you can get anything good from OC'ing, only higher temps.

  4. #1524
    ROG Enthusiast Array Filters PC Specs
    Filters PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X470-F
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ F4-3200C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1070 Gaming 8g
    Storage #1Samsung Evo850
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 M.2
    CPU CoolerCustom Water loop EK
    CaseFractal Design R5
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    OS Win10Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    [QUOTE=Long_Y0!;785434]SexySale85
    Both Afuefix and flashrom give me the same error: rom file size does not match existing bios size.
    With 5216 it was exactly the same. The .CAP file is a bit larger than 32 MB.
    It's weird.

    Look here

    https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...s-3rd-gen.html
    It explain how to and why you cant use afuexif for this 32mb bios
    For what i recall you have to use flashrom in dos ergo not in windows 10 but you need to make an usb whit rufus
    Btw there is 5220 up on asus server so you dont need to do this procedure anymore

  5. #1525
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Filters
    Turns out the first 4096 bytes of my .CAP file are redundant and should be removed with a hex editor this way (it's a link). After that flashrom seems like finally flashing it.

    1usmus says if you update BIOS with EZflash, there can be some of its traces left which may cause problems, and he recommends using Afuefix to remove the previous BIOS completely with all of its settings. Otherwise I would not care and just use EZflash.

  6. #1526
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Updated to 5220 from 5216 bios 3 hours ago. So far it's pretty stable, no problems whatsoever. My 3700x boost increased from 4351 to 4391mhz, not for all cores of course
    I must admit I was pretty surprised by ASUS as I was sure we'd get new agesa in mid october at best. Props to them for that quick bios release.
    For those who can't see new bios on official page, you are probably looking at US version of it. For some reason it's always slower than EU.

  7. #1527
    New ROGer Array SexySale85 PC Specs
    SexySale85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC
    MonitorSamsung 34" CF791
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 970 Plus M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD2003FZEX 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750i
    Keyboard Logitech K270 Wireless keyboard
    Mouse Corsair HARPOON RGB WIRELESS Gaming Mouse
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad Sandberg Gamer Desk Pad XXXL
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 1903
    SexySale85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Exclamation BLCK 99.8 MHz

    @Shamino, I am sorry for triggering you like this, but I see this issue ignored a lot and there is no other forum/place I can ask this, so using this thread dedicated to X470-F board, looks like good place.

    I am not the only one experiencing BLCK 99.8 MHz, but there are no options in BIOS to disable CPU Spread Spectrum.
    Manually setting it on 100 is not solving the issue, nor do we have an option for decimal settings for BCLK.
    Setting it up on 101 disables boost behavior on 3000 series, but at least we have 101 Bus Clock speed.

    We would all appreciate if you can please look into this or give us any advice on how to solve it, please?

    Thank you in advance.

  8. #1528
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crowzer PC Specs
    Crowzer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG X470 Strix Gaming F
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3800X
    Memory (part number)16 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 Cas14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Gaming RTX 2080 Ti AMP!
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift PQ279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital My Book Elite 2TO
    CPU CoolerCorsair h100i RGB Platinum
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplyBe Quiet Straight Power 11 850W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk.2
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Hyper X Cloud II
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Edififer speakers
    OS Windows 10 x64 1903
    Accessory #1 XBOX One Pad wirelss
    Accessory #2 Corsair ST100 RGB
    Crowzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    For instance, my 3800X clocks with ABB and ABBA.
    Left HWInfo64 for hours with everydays task as gaming and browsing.

    https://i.imgur.com/9ci7YTP.jpg
    Last edited by Crowzer; 09-25-2019 at 02:52 PM.

  9. #1529
    ROG Enthusiast Array Plan3tCrack3r PC Specs
    Plan3tCrack3r PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)Vengeance RGB Pro CMW16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1XFX Fatboy RX 590
    Sound CardPioneer Elite Receiver, SteelSeries GameDAC
    MonitorAcer KG271U 1440p/144Hz, Samsung 46" 1080p
    Storage #1970 EVO 500GB, Inland Premium 256GB NVME, Sandisk Ultra 3D 1TB, 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Barracuda Pro 2TB, Firecuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerH115i Pro, 3X LL120 Fans
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 650 Gold
    Keyboard K70 MK.2 Low Profile Rapidfire - MX Speed, Logitech G613 Wireless
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600, G602, MX Anywhere 2S
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis 3 w/ GamDAC
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Prism Cloth XL
    Headset/Speakers Polk 5.1 Towers, bookshelves, sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 DualShock 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    I've searched everywhere and can't find the answer. Are Performance Enhancer levels 3 and 4, PE3 and PE4, now gone from this board? I haven't seen them since at least Zen2 BIOSes started appearing and I stayed current with such BIOS versions and corresponding chipset updates even though sticking with 2700X.

    I like that PBO finally appears in one place only in the latest BIOS 5220, on the tweaker page with all OC settings.

    Edit: AMD CBS is still in Advance section. I was thinking the same PBO menu as in tweaker was there, but they are not the same. M1ck53's post made me doublecheck. I was looking for AMD CBS at the bottom of the Advanced menu during initial installation and thought it was gone, because I was already in that menu disabling ECC memory :/
    Last edited by Plan3tCrack3r; 09-26-2019 at 04:54 AM.
    X470-F, 2700X, RX 590, 970 EVO, Obsidian 500D, H115i Pro

  10. #1530
    New ROGer Array M1ck53 PC Specs
    M1ck53 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Pavilion
    MotherboardRog Strix X470 F
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600X
    Memory (part number)BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE3
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Radeon Vega 64
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorLG 34 ultrawide
    Storage #1intel 760p 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung Evo 840 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 100i V2
    CaseFractual Design R5
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750X
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Razer Deathadder

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Just installed Abba 5220 it thinks my 3600X is a 3600 and pegged boost at 4200Mhz up 50Mhz from previous ABB as for board itself ram oc is good, Ballistix Elite 3600 C16 @3733 C16 fast preset Ryzen Calc. VRM very good, if you want to find out more Bullzoids channel on Asus X470 Boards 3900X OC no problem. bios a bit of a let down haven't seen 4400Mhz since June bios that I searched back for but these later bioses are more stable for memory OC .

Page 153 of 186 FirstFirst ... 53 103 143 151 152 153 154 155 163 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •