Page 113 of 191 FirstFirst ... 13 63 103 111 112 113 114 115 123 163 ... LastLast
Results 1,121 to 1,130 of 1906
  1. #1121
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Alireza.kh View Post
    i just updated X470F BIOS from 4602 to 5007. i should say it is not good and don't update to it for now. with 2700X and auto settings, i was getting 4225 MHz for one core and 4175 MHz for all cores in temp 70C. but with 5007 for all cores i just get 4000 MHz in the same temp 70C. anybody with this problem?
    Please check voltage, gabrielsp85 pointed a 50-100mV increase that could explain it. If that happens on your cpu too, increasing the negative offset until it matches previous levels of boosted vcore should help to regain those clocks by lowering temperature and gaining tdp margin.
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 06-28-2019 at 03:18 PM.

  2. #1122
    New ROGer Array Alireza.kh PC Specs
    Alireza.kh PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)2x8 3000
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070
    MonitorAsus PG278Q
    Power SupplyEnermax 87+ 850 Watt

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by AlleyViper View Post
    Please check voltage, gabrielsp85 pointed a 50-100mV increase that could explain it. If that happens on your cpu too, increasing the negative offset until it matches previous levels of boosted vcore should help to regain those clocks by lowering temperature and gaining tdp margin.
    i usually use auto settings. i don't know why new BIOS lowered the clock speed while it is not mentioned in its description. this is so bad that we can not revert back to old versions and every time we should update with fear of loosing performance. also we should wait for long time until another BIOS update.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Annotation 2019-06-29 170650.jpg  


  3. #1123
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    351

    Uninstall AI Suite and do OC in the bios instead, don't use the OC wizard in the bios but set it up manually. Auto vcore with a minus offset of 0.08-0.1V works very well, also you need to override the power limits under PBO set PPT=1000, TDC=114 and EDC=168 and don't forget to activate XFR under AMD CBS, it needs an Agreement to work. PBO will take care of the OC and it works great. NO problems with performance here.

  4. #1124
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    Uninstall AI Suite and do OC in the bios instead, don't use the OC wizard in the bios but set it up manually. Auto vcore with a minus offset of 0.08-0.1V works very well, also you need to override the power limits under PBO set PPT=1000, TDC=114 and EDC=168 and don't forget to activate XFR under AMD CBS, it needs an Agreement to work. PBO will take care of the OC and it works great. NO problems with performance here.
    Just started really tweaking as of late - can you give some direction for where the PPT, TDC and EDC settings are? I've clicked every single menu section in the bios and don't see anything. Under PBO I have only 4 settings, none of which align with this. Thanks.

    Edit: Also, thanks for the vcore tip. I'm back to 4.15-4.2 all core during loads. Was dropped to 4.0. Curious if the additional changes you noted will help hold stronger OC.
    Last edited by TeslaDev; 07-05-2019 at 12:27 PM.

  5. #1125
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Topfn View Post
    The first of those 4 settings (PBO) needs to be switched to manual.
    PPT, TDC and EDC should become visible then.

    You'll find AMD CBS under "Advanced" tab.
    AMD CBS -> NBIO Common Options -> XFR Enhancement

    Thanks!

    Edit: Really nice - vcore before was all over the place - I was getting max vcore readings spiking >1.5V... now I'm seeing max 1.4V and it's holding lower temps.
    Last edited by TeslaDev; 07-05-2019 at 01:24 PM.

  6. #1126
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Random BSOD since adding 2x8GB RAM sticks

    So when I started my build late last year I had 2x8GB RAM sticks, G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200MHz in my build, for the longest time it was running at 2133MHz I didn't know I had to enable a profile on D.O.C.P. anyway I did that and the system was running fine at 3200MHz. Now just recently I added 2 more 8GB sticks exact same model F4-3200C16D-16GTZR and my system is now getting random BSOD messages with a different error code all the time.

    Has anyone else managed or are they running 4x8GB sticks of the Trident Z RGB in there system at 3200MHz? If I go into the BIOS and leave it at default where it runs at 2133 that system runs fine. I'm thinking a couple of things, should I maybe try get a complete set of 4x8GB sticks instead of having the two 2x8GB (different manufacture dates) I have to see if that maybes makes a difference? See if I can find in stores the AMD Version (doesnt seem to be available in Australia though, even internationally seems limited and a lot more expensive) or I'm even thinking of maybe changing to the Corsair Dominator Platinum RBG 4x8GB 3000MHz kit.

    TL;DR Is anyone using 4x8GB RGB RAM at 3200MHz?

  7. #1127
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by ausopb1b1a View Post
    So when I started my build late last year I had 2x8GB RAM sticks, G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200MHz in my build, for the longest time it was running at 2133MHz I didn't know I had to enable a profile on D.O.C.P. anyway I did that and the system was running fine at 3200MHz. Now just recently I added 2 more 8GB sticks exact same model F4-3200C16D-16GTZR and my system is now getting random BSOD messages with a different error code all the time.

    Has anyone else managed or are they running 4x8GB sticks of the Trident Z RGB in there system at 3200MHz? If I go into the BIOS and leave it at default where it runs at 2133 that system runs fine. I'm thinking a couple of things, should I maybe try get a complete set of 4x8GB sticks instead of having the two 2x8GB (different manufacture dates) I have to see if that maybes makes a difference? See if I can find in stores the AMD Version (doesnt seem to be available in Australia though, even internationally seems limited and a lot more expensive) or I'm even thinking of maybe changing to the Corsair Dominator Platinum RBG 4x8GB 3000MHz kit.

    TL;DR Is anyone using 4x8GB RGB RAM at 3200MHz?
    Yeah its possibly, but depend on silicon lottery.
    Its harder to run 4 dimms because of the daisy chain layout of the motherboard. Also maybe because of extra stress on the IMC.

    this what I can e.g run with 2 dimms vs 4 dimms (2 dimms = 3400mhz)
    Using Crucial Crucial BLE8G4D34AEEAK.K8FB
    Mannual settings not using DOCP
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3266-stable-aida-53-424.png  

    3400-timings.png  

    Last edited by Orb79; 07-06-2019 at 08:44 AM.

  8. #1128
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Bios 4804 is dead stable for me. Not tried latest one. Memory 1.42v passed 1800% HCI and various other memtests. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stable oc.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	19.0 KB 
ID:	80923
    Last edited by Leeta; 07-06-2019 at 07:58 PM.

  9. #1129
    New ROGer Array Alireza.kh PC Specs
    Alireza.kh PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)2x8 3000
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070
    MonitorAsus PG278Q
    Power SupplyEnermax 87+ 850 Watt

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Alireza.kh View Post
    i just updated X470F BIOS from 4602 to 5007. i should say it is not good and don't update to it for now. with 2700X and auto settings, i was getting 4225 MHz for one core and 4175 MHz for all cores in temp 70C. but with 5007 for all cores i just get 4000 MHz in the same temp 70C. anybody with this problem?
    Quote Originally Posted by AlleyViper View Post
    Please check voltage, gabrielsp85 pointed a 50-100mV increase that could explain it. If that happens on your cpu too, increasing the negative offset until it matches previous levels of boosted vcore should help to regain those clocks by lowering temperature and gaining tdp margin.
    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    Uninstall AI Suite and do OC in the bios instead, don't use the OC wizard in the bios but set it up manually. Auto vcore with a minus offset of 0.08-0.1V works very well, also you need to override the power limits under PBO set PPT=1000, TDC=114 and EDC=168 and don't forget to activate XFR under AMD CBS, it needs an Agreement to work. PBO will take care of the OC and it works great. NO problems with performance here.
    thanks for help. i updated AMD chipset driver to latest version (19.10.16) and it seems the problem is fixed now and i see similar performance like 4602.
    Last edited by Alireza.kh; 07-07-2019 at 04:23 PM.

  10. #1130
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Ryzen 9 3900X

    Hello,
    Is anybody going to pair their Asus Strix X470-F Gaming with Ryzen 9 3900x?
    I have 3900X reserved for a pickup tomorrow and it will replace my current CPU, Ryzen 2600x.
    There is this list made by someone on reddit that says the Strix X470-F Gaming is fine for 3900x, but is it?
    Last edited by zuzuthechief; 07-07-2019 at 04:48 PM. Reason: typo

Page 113 of 191 FirstFirst ... 13 63 103 111 112 113 114 115 123 163 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •