Page 125 of 139 FirstFirst ... 25 75 115 123 124 125 126 127 135 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,250 of 1388
  1. #1241
    New ROGer Array andrewtjb12 PC Specs
    andrewtjb12 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix x470-f
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600x
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2A2400C16R
    Graphics Card #1RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Corsair Force MP510 NVMe
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2tb
    CPU CoolerWraith Cooler
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyCorsair RM550x
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    andrewtjb12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I hope there’s going to be a bios update soon I made the mistake of upgraded my cpu from the 2600x to the 3600x and getting the rx 5700xt. This board doesn’t seem to like it, the cpu fan is going crazy revving up and down also I can’t install the gpu driver without it crashing so I’m stuck using the basic display adapter.

  2. #1242
    New ROGer Array Coros PC Specs
    Coros PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Strix x470 F-Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Patriot 2x8Gb CL16 3400Mhz kit (H5AN8G8NCJR-TFC)
    Graphics Card #1Msi RTX 2070 Armor 8Gb
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
    MonitorAOC G2590PX
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 250Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SU650 240Gb
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom built water cooling
    CaseFractal Design Define S
    Power SupplyCooler Master Silent Pro 700w
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow 2013
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
    Headset HyperX Cloud v1.0
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Coros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Ok so I was a bit dumb with the ram slots...I put my rams into the Dimm_B1 and Dimm_A1 instead of Dimm_B2 and Dimm_A2...now it's work like a charm on 3400Mhz with DOCP.
    3600 was good too but it's need some testing.

  3. #1243
    New ROGer Array Rbryan04 PC Specs
    Rbryan04 PC Specs
    Motherboardx470-f
    Processor3900x
    Graphics Card #12080 winforce oc
    CPU Coolernhu12a/drp4
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    I've successfully overclocked my 3466CL16 kit to 3600 CL16 on the latest BIOS. Pretty tight timings too. Several other users have been able to reach 3733 MHz as well according a community overclocking sheet.



    Yeah, this BIOS has been a pain in the ass. I've had instances where previously perfectly stable settings would suddenly just not boot. Here's what I've had to do to get memory settings to stick:

    1. Load Optimized Defaults
    2. Save and Reset
    3. Set Memory to 2933 MHz
    4. Set Memory Voltage to your desired voltage.
    5. Save and Reset
    6. Boot Back into the BIOS
    7. Set desired memory speed
    8. Save and reset


    I was able to get my memory to stick at 3600 MHz @ 1.44V this way.
    actually been quite lucky with bios 5007 in terms of ram compatibility

    recently upgraded from 2700x to 3900x and havent had issue so far
    im using 4 ram sticks hynix cjr, from 2 kits of trident z rgb 3600 cl 18

    booted with DOCP no problem tho i ddnt test stability i did play bfv with it no prob

    used ryzen calculator 3200 16-18-19 (safe preset) @ 1.35v n stable aida 1hr/prime/bfv/divsion 2 /premiere
    decided to try 3466 cas 16 (safe preset) but stepped 1.35->1.36v(noticed on older bios that high mhz docp need and extra 0.05v to be stable) soc @ 1.05v setting is stable on my test ,games and premiere

    bugs i saw with bios is PBO not working as manual where tdc 114->95 and edc 168-140 (lower power limit) which dropped some cpu perf on new bioses (this number might be for ryzen 3000, but im sure these numbers where changed when i was still on 2700x. pretty sure there are post about lowered multicore perf somwhere. it did break aura sink after ram tweak had to install old version

    anyway only way to change this is to use performance enhancer level 1 or 2
    level 1 removes limit on ppt and tdc which also increases temp by ~10 deg c (high 70 to low 80)
    level 2 removes all limit and adds another 10deg on temp (90+ deg) yep ive hit 93 deg dont even wanna know vrm temp
    at stock with nhu12a temp are around 30-40+ deg idle 70-73 on games, 75 on prime small fft
    temps are same as 2700x with higher pbo setting

  4. #1244
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Rbryan04 View Post
    actually been quite lucky with bios 5007 in terms of ram compatibility

    recently upgraded from 2700x to 3900x and havent had issue so far
    im using 4 ram sticks hynix cjr, from 2 kits of trident z rgb 3600 cl 18

    booted with DOCP no problem tho i ddnt test stability i did play bfv with it no prob

    used ryzen calculator 3200 16-18-19 (safe preset) @ 1.35v n stable aida 1hr/prime/bfv/divsion 2 /premiere
    decided to try 3466 cas 16 (safe preset) but stepped 1.35->1.36v(noticed on older bios that high mhz docp need and extra 0.05v to be stable) soc @ 1.05v setting is stable on my test ,games and premiere

    bugs i saw with bios is PBO not working as manual where tdc 114->95 and edc 168-140 (lower power limit) which dropped some cpu perf on new bioses (this number might be for ryzen 3000, but im sure these numbers where changed when i was still on 2700x. pretty sure there are post about lowered multicore perf somwhere. it did break aura sink after ram tweak had to install old version

    anyway only way to change this is to use performance enhancer level 1 or 2
    level 1 removes limit on ppt and tdc which also increases temp by ~10 deg c (high 70 to low 80)
    level 2 removes all limit and adds another 10deg on temp (90+ deg) yep ive hit 93 deg dont even wanna know vrm temp
    at stock with nhu12a temp are around 30-40+ deg idle 70-73 on games, 75 on prime small fft
    temps are same as 2700x with higher pbo setting
    I haven't been using the Performance Enhancer Levels since I got my 3700X. I just set the PPT, TDC, and EDC manually. Definitely leads to increased power usage and temps, though. Temps hit 73°C during wPrime 1024M benchmark.

  5. #1245
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Hi! Also owner of this board and a 3900X, plus 4x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 CL14.

    Just to confirm what I've read from some other people, RAM don't boot with DOCP, but I can manually set its XMP values and it'll boot just fine. I even pushed them to 3600MHz 16-18-18-36 1T (still 1.35V) no problem whatsoever, stable after 6h of Prime95. As for the CPU, after some testing I found out that setting a vcore negative offset is the best I can do to it. Sustained clocks will be higher after 6h of Prime with -0.125V (best balance I've found).

    Now I have everything at default except RAM at 3600MHz CL16 and negative vcore offset of -0.125V.
    For actual work, like x264 encoding (what I want this machine for primarily), all cores stay at around 4275Mhz on their own as an average, during 4-5h encoding queues on an average load of 70-80%, with vcore ranging 1.25 - 1.275V and temps never going above 57ºC (Corsair H115i Platinum).

    I don't know about synthetic benchmarks, I know that for my actual work, this is rock solid and gives amazing performance at stock. These Ryzen chips don't have that much overclock room (if any), because they do it by default. Undervolting to lower temps even more is what worked best for me, as stated above.

    By the way, in my actual workload this thing is like a 450% faster than my previous 1700 @ 4GHz. Also I borrowed a 9900K some time ago, and this 3900X is still like 60% faster (again, on my workload, which is what I care about in this machine tbh).

    Cheers!

  6. #1246
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by JobCampbell View Post
    Hi! Also owner of this board and a 3900X, plus 4x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 CL14.

    Just to confirm what I've read from some other people, RAM don't boot with DOCP, but I can manually set its XMP values and it'll boot just fine. I even pushed them to 3600MHz 16-18-18-36 1T (still 1.35V) no problem whatsoever, stable after 6h of Prime95. As for the CPU, after some testing I found out that setting a vcore negative offset is the best I can do to it. Sustained clocks will be higher after 6h of Prime with -0.125V (best balance I've found).

    Now I have everything at default except RAM at 3600MHz CL16 and negative vcore offset of -0.125V.
    For actual work, like x264 encoding (what I want this machine for primarily), all cores stay at around 4275Mhz on their own as an average, during 4-5h encoding queues on an average load of 70-80%, with vcore ranging 1.25 - 1.275V and temps never going above 57ºC (Corsair H115i Platinum).

    I don't know about synthetic benchmarks, I know that for my actual work, this is rock solid and gives amazing performance at stock. These Ryzen chips don't have that much overclock room (if any), because they do it by default. Undervolting to lower temps, even more, is what worked best for me, as stated above.

    By the way, in my actual workload this thing is like a 450% faster than my previous 1700 @ 4GHz. Also I borrowed a 9900K some time ago, and this 3900X is still like 60% faster (again, on my workload, which is what I care about in this machine tbh).

    Cheers!
    Just an FYI they have found that undervolting Zen2 may give you lower temps and higher sustained clocks, but lower performance. You can check yourself by running a cinebench with stock voltage and then with your negative offset, you should get a lower score. It has to do with how it manages the voltage. It's fine if what your main problem is temp and not performance, but keeping it at the higher voltage won't hurt the chip, it takes care of itself well.

    https://ns.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments...3rd_gen_ryzen/

    https://ns.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments...formance_with/

    For Zen and Zen + undervolting is fine.

  7. #1247
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi,

    Got my new 3700X and also had similar issues getting my RAM (G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14 TridentZ) stable at previously perfectly fine setup.

    Initially I tried the D.O.C.P. profile but it failed POST, back to SAFE start several times, DRAM voltage was set to 1.35V

    So, then I tried setting it manually from 2133 (default frequency) at 1.35V and incrementing by 200Mhz and reboot after each increase.
    Managed to get my RAM back to 3200Mhz CL14 @1.35V after like a dozen of reboots, but it seems to be all stable, got my RAM test with 0% errors yesterday (1300% coverage).


    Did anyone try to go over 3200Mhz at 1.35V CL14? B.Die should be able to achieve this, but I suspect that our AGESA is not yet stable enough.. also the mouse lag is terrible in this version (1.0.0.2).
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos RAM.jpg  

    CPU.jpg  

    Last edited by Mercenarie; 07-19-2019 at 01:45 PM.

  8. #1248
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Finally got my 3700x. I was afraid I would have to tweak a lot of settings in bios, reset cmos and stuff like that. But I just installed and it works!

    My ram works too with preloaded d.o.c.p profile (3600) no problem whatsoever, 4dimms Kingston HyperX HX436C17PB3K2 (B-die). I was quite surprised here since I’ve never been able to make it work with Ryzen 2600. Manual settings or d.o.c.p. didn’t matter, I was always getting random blue screen or my apps randomly crashed, sometimes it was ok but then a problem occurred anyway. My maximum stable frequency with 2600 was 3400 MHz + I had to manually tweak my settings to make it work.

    So far I’ve tested CB15 since I don’t like or haven’t used to CB20 yet. Multicore score was 2103 and single score – 204. Pretty damn good considering the fact my 2600 at 4 GHz had ~1320 multi and ~170 single core.

    Some negative stuff:
    Voltage is indeed is pretty high, spiking to 1.4625 underload, sometimes even idle. I’m using cpu-z and ryzen master to monitor it, since I’ve read other apps could show you wrong numbers.
    Idle temp sitting around 44c and 67c under load with Noctua nh-u12s. I’m pretty sure it will be a lot higher under stress test.

    I hope Asus will release new bios soon as I’m sure it will work even better.
    P.S. Updating to 5007 made me quite nervous as it restarted my system like 5 times in a row with red led active, so I was like “this is it, I’m f..ed”.
    Last edited by rimnaz; 07-19-2019 at 02:12 PM.

  9. #1249
    ROG Enthusiast Array Topfn PC Specs
    Topfn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Ballistix LT @3466C14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Topfn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    55

    Don't use more than 1 monitoring tool at the same time.

    "It is perfectly okay if your CPU is periodically using 1.4-1.5V to achieve boost frequencies..."
    The final word on idle voltages for 3rd Gen ryzen (Source)

  10. #1250
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Topfn View Post
    Don't use more than 1 monitoring tool at the same time.

    "It is perfectly okay if your CPU is periodically using 1.4-1.5V to achieve boost frequencies..."
    The final word on idle voltages for 3rd Gen ryzen (Source)
    Also note for those who have not looked at it recently, they have changed their first recommendation to use the Ryzen Balanced plan. There is an edit to the original post from this week that now says to use Windows Balanced plan, minimum processor state at 85%.

Page 125 of 139 FirstFirst ... 25 75 115 123 124 125 126 127 135 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •