Page 126 of 150 FirstFirst ... 26 76 116 124 125 126 127 128 136 ... LastLast
Results 1,251 to 1,260 of 1498
  1. #1251
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Someone just posted on reddit that they received beta BIOS Version 5104 from Asus. Maybe we'll see a new release soon.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...s_not_fix_the/

  2. #1252
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question Tips How to Update 2600x to 3600x on Asus x470 Strix Gaming F !?

    Hello, I currently have a ryzen 5 2600x with 32gb (4x8gb) of 3200mhz cl4 (team dark pro) with an asus x470 strix gaming f . I have a Noctua NH-D14 cooler (with upgraded better Noctua fans). Boot drive is a m.2 nvmd adata xpg sx8200 480gb pcie gene x4. GPU is a gigabyte gtx 2070.

    Back when I first received the components I did some minor tweaks which I don't remember exactly (followed some guide) but it allowed me to have a stable all core boost of 4.25ghz on the 2600x, I didn't tweak the ram so it's using its normal speeds (3200). I haven't touched anything else and it's been about 1 year now, everything running smooth.

    Now I bought a 3600x and just received it. I thought this would be a simple upgrade but I now see that lots of people are having issues and it's stressing me out... I really hope I don't have to spend countless hours getting things working stable... How do you recommend I proceed?

    I know I need to do a complete update of everything before I switch the cpu (bios, chipset, windows, GPU, everything else) but is there a specific order procedure to do so? Is it recommended to update the chipset AFTER or BEFORE switching the CPU, some say after is better... Are there settings in the bios I should change before and after the switch? Which programs is most reliable to determine if the system is stable or not?

    Assuming the switch goes smoothly, and system is stable, which tweaks in the bios would you recommend?

    Anyone with this mobo and cpu experienced issues? How did you resolve them?

    Just would appreciate some input on how to do this switch in the most appropriate way to minimize chances of running into issues...

  3. #1253
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    190

    Quote Originally Posted by schmak View Post
    The 570's support 128 GB, that's been known for a while.

    The 3950x will probably work, but you might be handicapped for OC with the VRM, esp if you want to use PCIe 4.0 in the future.

    Honestly though, by September when the 3950x is released we'll know a lot more about how much our 470 boards can take.
    Can our x470 boards also handle 128 GB? I remember reading something about it eventually happening, but that was the last I heard of it.

  4. #1254
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex0915 View Post
    Can our x470 boards also handle 128 GB? I remember reading something about it eventually happening, but that was the last I heard of it.
    Im not sure, but if you are going to invest that much in ram, then I would buy a motherboard with T-topology, like e.g ASRock X570 Taichi Motherboard.

  5. #1255
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Isn't our X470-F T-Topology aswell? According to *that* huge AM4 MoBo Spreadsheet it is.

  6. #1256
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by rastacook View Post
    Hello, I currently have a ryzen 5 2600x with 32gb (4x8gb) of 3200mhz cl4 (team dark pro) with an asus x470 strix gaming f . I have a Noctua NH-D14 cooler (with upgraded better Noctua fans). Boot drive is a m.2 nvmd adata xpg sx8200 480gb pcie gene x4. GPU is a gigabyte gtx 2070.

    Back when I first received the components I did some minor tweaks which I don't remember exactly (followed some guide) but it allowed me to have a stable all core boost of 4.25ghz on the 2600x, I didn't tweak the ram so it's using its normal speeds (3200). I haven't touched anything else and it's been about 1 year now, everything running smooth.

    Now I bought a 3600x and just received it. I thought this would be a simple upgrade but I now see that lots of people are having issues and it's stressing me out... I really hope I don't have to spend countless hours getting things working stable... How do you recommend I proceed?

    I know I need to do a complete update of everything before I switch the cpu (bios, chipset, windows, GPU, everything else) but is there a specific order procedure to do so? Is it recommended to update the chipset AFTER or BEFORE switching the CPU, some say after is better... Are there settings in the bios I should change before and after the switch? Which programs is most reliable to determine if the system is stable or not?

    Assuming the switch goes smoothly, and system is stable, which tweaks in the bios would you recommend?

    Anyone with this mobo and cpu experienced issues? How did you resolve them?

    Just would appreciate some input on how to do this switch in the most appropriate way to minimize chances of running into issues...

    What you say is impossible, or you have not understood how PBO works, or you have erroneous readings, the maximum turbo is for a single core, and from there according to the number of cores in use, percentage of load, availability of power and temperature will be the Maximum frequency they can handle, I leave you some images.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UnrealTournament_2019_07_13_00_07_52_673.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.23 MB 
ID:	81102
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BatmanAK_2019_07_21_22_20_52_143.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.07 MB 
ID:	81103
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pb2-2700x.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	85.3 KB 
ID:	81104
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	precision_boost-frequency-threads.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	187.9 KB 
ID:	81105

    No matter how much you cool it, it will never exceed the allowed limits, in gamernexus there is a revision by cooling with NL of 3900x at -23 ° C and not passing 4300Mhz and only improving 5%.

    https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...hmarks-auto-oc
    Last edited by Barktoothx; 07-22-2019 at 03:55 AM.

  7. #1257
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Xploder270 View Post
    Isn't our X470-F T-Topology aswell? According to *that* huge AM4 MoBo Spreadsheet it is.
    As far as I know, all X470-F Gaming Strix is daisy chain, like almost all x470 mobos.
    Do you have a link to this spreadsheet?

  8. #1258

  9. #1259
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    269

    Quote Originally Posted by Orb79 View Post
    As far as I know, all X470-F Gaming Strix is daisy chain, like almost all x470 mobos.
    Do you have a link to this spreadsheet?
    I haven't seen that spreadsheet, but I would agree on X470-F being daisy chain. It has the exact same PCB layout as Prime X470-Pro, which is confirmed as daisy chain. Only difference between the boards being IR3555 on F vs IR3553 on Pro and different shroud with larger heatsinks on F.

    If one could see a picture of the back of the board it would be possible to spot T-topology, as it needs a lot of cross traces between the memory slots.

  10. #1260
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by schmak View Post
    Just an FYI they have found that undervolting Zen2 may give you lower temps and higher sustained clocks, but lower performance. You can check yourself by running a cinebench with stock voltage and then with your negative offset, you should get a lower score. It has to do with how it manages the voltage. It's fine if what your main problem is temp and not performance, but keeping it at the higher voltage won't hurt the chip, it takes care of itself well.

    https://ns.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments...3rd_gen_ryzen/

    https://ns.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments...formance_with/

    For Zen and Zen + undervolting is fine.
    Mmm, very interesting indeed. I'm not a fan of synthetic benchmarks... they're fine for comparisons across chips, but when trying to determine how one particular tech performs best, in my case, I'd rather throw at it an actual load I'll be performing on it.

    I prepared a 11:20 length lossless 2160p60 clip and transcoded it with Handbrake to custom 1080p preset ten times. Here are averages results:

    • Undervolt of 0.125V
      • Load: 85-95%
      • Voltage: 1.21V - 1.23V
      • Temp: 63-67C (package temp)
      • Freq: All cores between 4090Mhz and 4150Mhz aprox.
      • TIME: 11:01
    • Stock:
      • Load: 85-95% (but some peaks to 96-98% and some downs to even 75-80%)
      • Voltage: 1.23V - 1.33V (but lows of even 1.09V)
      • Temp: 71-75C (peaks to 82C) (package temp)
      • Freq: All cores between 3950Mhz and 4070Mhz aprox.
      • TIME: 10:49


    So lower clocks in average, higher voltages with similar load, higher temperature... but yes, lower times indeed. A 1.8% lower time.
    Also for the sake of it, I ran cinebench ten times with eath config too, and the difference was a 0.7% decrease in score with undervolting.

    So... well yes, I guess technically I lose some performance, but a 0.7% in synthetic benchmarks and a 1.8% in an actual task that I do... I don't think it's worth considering the higher much higher temps... or is it?

    For now, I'll leave it auto. I want to see the difference in a day to day basis. I'll decide in a couple of more days, but if difference stays at around 1-2%, I'll probably go back to an undervolt. At least until new BIOSes come out and I can try again.

    Cheers!
    Last edited by JobCampbell; 07-22-2019 at 10:53 AM.

Page 126 of 150 FirstFirst ... 26 76 116 124 125 126 127 128 136 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •