Page 167 of 174 FirstFirst ... 67 117 157 165 166 167 168 169 ... LastLast
Results 1,661 to 1,670 of 1738
  1. #1661
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook161 View Post
    How is it working for you? was it worth the flashback?
    Yes and no

    My system:
    CPU: 2600x, offset= -0.1000 V
    Cooler: dark rock pro 4
    RAM: Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (Hynix A die), docp profile @3200 MHz
    OS: windows 10, v. 1903
    Chipset: the last
    Other MB settings: all auto

    From several months I'm struggling with BSOD in my pc and I'm trying to understand the cause of that, but is a ****ing long elimination process.
    1. BSOD are random: usually they happen right after the windows log on, sometimes after some minute, but most of the time the pc works perfectly for days.
    2. The windows error messages point to 2 major culprits, ram or drivers. After several tries I restricted the choice to the ram or windows itself.
    3. BSOD happens with or without ram OC. I tested the ram with several software and I never had a single error. The last try: [Imgur](https://i.imgur.com/P7breiq.png).

    And yesterday I discovered all that happens with newer and older bios. Now I'm trying the system with ram OC but without the cpu negative offset. Maybe a test with Prime95 can give some answer.
    Last edited by Ziltoid; 10-20-2019 at 09:35 AM.

  2. #1662
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Topfn PC Specs
    Topfn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2X8 GB Crucial Ballistix LT @3733CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power Supplybe quiet! E10-CM 500W
    OS Win10 Pro 1903
    Topfn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    78

    reduce your CPU offset.
    sweetspot for my 2600x was -0.050 / -0.075

  3. #1663
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Topfn View Post
    reduce your CPU offset.
    sweetspot for my 2600x was -0.050 / -0.075
    I'll try that. Any other parameter worth tweaking for stability? LLC?

  4. #1664
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Topfn View Post
    Can someone on stock 5220 try to load my Bios profile (.CMO) and tell me, if hwinfo or aida show 100MHz Bus clock @desktop?
    The profile is optimized default + SSC disabled.

    Kudos to Reous and Xploder270

    Edit:
    @sexy: if they didn't unhide this setting until now.. I don't have much faith that it will happen in the future

    I can not load the profile it comes the error message CPU not supportet

    CPU 2700X

  5. #1665
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by lgm1977 View Post
    I can not load the profile it comes the error message CPU not supportet

    CPU 2700X
    This makes total sense, as Zen2 CPUs load a different "part" of the BIOS and therefore create incompatible profile files.
    Last edited by Xploder270; 10-20-2019 at 02:31 PM.

  6. #1666
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    is there such a setting for the 2700x?

  7. #1667
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    CPU Spread Spectrum sadly doesn't work with Zen+ CPU and Combo Agesa so far. Maybe it will change with Agesa 1004. Last working Agesa was PinnaclePi 1006.

  8. #1668
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Topfn PC Specs
    Topfn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X470-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2X8 GB Crucial Ballistix LT @3733CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power Supplybe quiet! E10-CM 500W
    OS Win10 Pro 1903
    Topfn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    78

    Quote Originally Posted by Ziltoid View Post
    I'll try that. Any other parameter worth tweaking for stability? LLC?
    I'd leave it on auto with CPU offset.
    Better tweak your fan curves & fan smoothing.

    Is your system stable now?

    OT: why is there a (1) on my inbox, but when I check my inbox it's empty? damn, only the new nvidia forum is more confusing than this one.
    Last edited by Topfn; 10-20-2019 at 08:16 PM.

  9. #1669
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Ziltoid View Post
    Yes and no

    My system:
    CPU: 2600x, offset= -0.1000 V
    Cooler: dark rock pro 4
    RAM: Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (Hynix A die), docp profile @3200 MHz
    OS: windows 10, v. 1903
    Chipset: the last
    Other MB settings: all auto

    From several months I'm struggling with BSOD in my pc and I'm trying to understand the cause of that, but is a ****ing long elimination process.
    1. BSOD are random: usually they happen right after the windows log on, sometimes after some minute, but most of the time the pc works perfectly for days.
    2. The windows error messages point to 2 major culprits, ram or drivers. After several tries I restricted the choice to the ram or windows itself.
    3. BSOD happens with or without ram OC. I tested the ram with several software and I never had a single error. The last try: [Imgur](https://i.imgur.com/P7breiq.png).

    And yesterday I discovered all that happens with newer and older bios. Now I'm trying the system with ram OC but without the cpu negative offset. Maybe a test with Prime95 can give some answer.
    I hear you, I think I wanted it to help to flash back more than it did. It is slightly better for me, slightly lower temps, and better stability. I have been able to run 4.2ghz across all cores, but it is a significant increase in Voltage from 4.1Ghz. say offset +.075 to +.1925...

    About your possible RAM issue... a couple ideas. You understand with this board your supposed to load up A2, and B2 with two sticks? seems counter-intuitive, but that is the way this board is setup. another thing to try, is one stick at a time for awhile. I don't know if you have ever used memtest86, but you create a bootable device to use that tester. Understand that if your using a memory tester within windows, that tester isn't hitting the addresses. Another way to test the memory over time, not just a quick sweep, is to use prime95, custom settings to hit large chunks of your memory.

    Spook

  10. #1670
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    @Topfn
    System seems stable but I need to wait and test to be sure.

    @Spook
    RAM was always in the correct slots (A2+B2). I tested it with memtest86 (1 full pass, about 1hour), HCI Memtest (400% for 12 threads), TM5, every time with zero errors.

    When I can find some time I'll test with Prime95. One last strange thing: watching for ram timings in the bios I saw a parameter (tWRRD ?) with diffrenet values between channel A (3) and B (4). Usually they are the same no?

    In the end I hope the instability was only me applying too much offset. We'll see

Page 167 of 174 FirstFirst ... 67 117 157 165 166 167 168 169 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •