Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    CH7 Hero + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR in 4x8?

    I am running 16GB of F4-3200C14D-16GTZR in 2x8 and it even runs at very tight timings with 3333 MHz.

    It's Samsung B-Die and the XMP profile works as do many of Stiltz' profiles.

    Do you think I would be able to double my ram and occupy the two empty slots with another identical F4-3200C14D-16GTZR kit?

    I realize I might have to back the speed down a bit, but I'm hoping that at least 3200 MHz will work.

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by donalgodon View Post
    Thoughts?
    It's not really advisable to do that kind of thing https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Even if kits are nominally "the same" very often they have differences that make XMP fail or even manual tweaking a nightmare...that being said Samsung B die has enabled some people to get away with it...their IMC's obviously being up to the task....so it's a gamble...

    Depends how easily you can return the kit if it it doesn't pan out.

    obviously a single kit of 4 sticks binned to run together would be best...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by donalgodon View Post
    I am running 16GB of F4-3200C14D-16GTZR in 2x8 and it even runs at very tight timings with 3333 MHz.

    It's Samsung B-Die and the XMP profile works as do many of Stiltz' profiles.

    Do you think I would be able to double my ram and occupy the two empty slots with another identical F4-3200C14D-16GTZR kit?

    I realize I might have to back the speed down a bit, but I'm hoping that at least 3200 MHz will work.

    Thoughts?
    I couldn't get 4X8 to run stable even at 3200. I gave up and reduced to 2X8. I currently run at 3466. I have had quite a bit of experience with Ryzen memory OCing. I owned the CH6 more or less since launch. I tried all the usuals with no success in the 4X8 department. I will try again on the next bios revisions for the CH7.

    On a side note. It isn't a good idea to add a second set of memory stick. When you buy 4 sticks of memory as quad channel, you are buying memory that has been verified to work as a batch together. When you buy memory in separate intervals, you stand a chance of finding memory with incompatible timings. Some memory even retains the same vendor code, but it produced at a totally different facility due to production volume changes etc.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    I'm running 4x8GB config. It is not factory matched quad - just two sets of trident Z 3200@14 kits (it just happened they are from same batch - they have sequential serial numbers). Anyway many people do the same with success. Maybe it is more important for very high speeds or tight timings but for ryzen speeds it is just a gimmick. F4-3200C14D-16GTZ are always b-dies with exactly same timings. Pretty much all that I know and have 4x8 have them running 3200@14 or more.

    My first ryzen was most likely limited to 3466@14 as max stable. But the BIOS was not as good as they are now and I didn't know few important things.

    My second CPU (RMA for segfault issue) is much better - not only it runs 4GHZ@1.308V with AVX load but it worked even at 3600@16-16-16 2T - with 4 sticks.
    All settings manual of course.

    So TL;DR; version.
    1) possible but absolutely not guaranteed. Either you have luck of not.
    2) manual settings necessary - not only voltages, timings and procODT but RTT, CAD bus, off-center termination voltage also helps as well as correct VRM settings
    3) don't treat DRAM calculator as absolute solution - it is pretty good as starting point but for your own chip you may need to tweak values from it

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    I'm running 4x8GB config. It is not factory matched quad - just two sets of trident Z 3200@14 kits (it just happened they are from same batch - they have sequential serial numbers). ……………….





    So TL;DR; version.
    1) possible but absolutely not guaranteed. Either you have luck of not.
    2) manual settings necessary - not only voltages, timings and procODT but RTT, CAD bus, off-center termination voltage also helps as well as correct VRM settings
    3) don't treat DRAM calculator as absolute solution - it is pretty good as starting point but for your own chip you may need to tweak values from it
    You bought some memory at two different points in time and they have sequential serial numbers? You really should be putting lottery tickets on; it is that region of lucky.

    The TL;DR totally agree with. Especially 1usmus's calculator. It does not work with my memory sticks. But many are very happy with the results they have achieved from it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    I couldn't get 4X8 to run stable even at 3200. I gave up and reduced to 2X8. I currently run at 3466. I have had quite a bit of experience with Ryzen memory OCing. I owned the CH6 more or less since launch. I tried all the usuals with no success in the 4X8 department. I will try again on the next bios revisions for the CH7.

    On a side note. It isn't a good idea to add a second set of memory stick. When you buy 4 sticks of memory as quad channel, you are buying memory that has been verified to work as a batch together. When you buy memory in separate intervals, you stand a chance of finding memory with incompatible timings. Some memory even retains the same vendor code, but it produced at a totally different facility due to production volume changes etc.
    What CPU are you using?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    You bought some memory at two different points in time and they have sequential serial numbers?
    Not two different times - just ordered two sets in same time in same shop.
    They had to be picked from the same box in a row

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by donalgodon View Post
    What CPU are you using?
    I added my specs to my profile.

    To add your own - look under settings and functions top right. Edit your details.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I just wanted to follow up and state for the record that I got the 4 x 8 set and it works perfectly.

    I got lucky and got the exact same modules.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Frostie36 PC Specs
    Frostie36 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470 WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 2700x
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080TI FE
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi pcie
    MonitorAsus VG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S SE AM4
    CaseHAF 932 Advance
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech g15 v2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Creative Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR4500

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I'll be risking adding another set in a few months, or sooner if prices drop a little, got my first flare x set arriving tomorrow as I can only get my current 32gb (4x8gb 2 sets purchased separately months apart) corsair lpx 3200 MHz ram to 2800mhz max. I purchased the corsair ram way back in 2015 when I built my previous intel skylake build so not sure what version of the ram I have but I believe it's Hynix and being dual ranked is even more problematic but considering I could get 4 sticks of them to 2800 I think there's a very good chance of being able to run 2 sets of flare x at 3200 MHz considering their Samsung b die and single ranked, time will tell.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •