Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Intel Core i7-8086K CPU - Bios Incompatibility?

    Hello,

    I currently have my Maximus X Apex on one of the early release BIOSes. Will I be able to drop in an 8086K and have it work right away? Or do we need to wait for a BIOS update before swapping in the 8086K CPU?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by sexpot; 06-08-2018 at 10:04 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    8086K is just a binned 8700K, and not a very good one at that. You should be able to do it, but take my words with a grain of salt.

    Here's der8auer playing with the 8086K on a Maximus X Apex on BIOS 0401:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DX24ocSJ4AI

    Didn't even hit the record for 8700K but may have higher potential if given a chance to bin the chips further.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array CFOUR PC Specs
    CFOUR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z370 Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8086k
    Memory (part number)Gksill Trident Z 3200Mhz C14
    Graphics Card #1Asus 1080ti Strix OC
    Sound CardSoundblaster Zx
    MonitorAsus PG279
    Storage #1970 Pro 1tb
    Storage #24Gb WD Blue
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Snowsilent
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I have an 8086k and the Hero with the latest bios, working fine.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thanks both for the confirmation

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    When I use xmp, cpu voltage is stuck @ 1.246v...

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array CFOUR PC Specs
    CFOUR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z370 Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8086k
    Memory (part number)Gksill Trident Z 3200Mhz C14
    Graphics Card #1Asus 1080ti Strix OC
    Sound CardSoundblaster Zx
    MonitorAsus PG279
    Storage #1970 Pro 1tb
    Storage #24Gb WD Blue
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Snowsilent
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Huigie View Post
    When I use xmp, cpu voltage is stuck @ 1.246v...
    I had this issue as well, even when using adaptive voltage and trying changing multiple power settings in bios. Gave up for the time being and just manually entered my ram timings.

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Huigie View Post
    When I use xmp, cpu voltage is stuck @ 1.246v...


    Are you selecting yes when prompted to apply 'multi-core enhance'? If so, let me know. I'll have our guys look into it. Either way, I'd list out exactly what you're changing in UEFI, just so the info is complete. It will help to expedite a response.
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 06-12-2018 at 04:43 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Feklar PC Specs
    Feklar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Apex
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z Royal F4-4400C18D-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA w/ Hydro Copper Waterblock
    MonitorAcer Predator X35
    Storage #1Samsung 860 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Evo 1TB and 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Ultrasone Pro 750
    Headset/Speakers Schiit Gungnir DAC w/Violectric V100 Headphone Amp
    OS Windows 10 Professional
    Accessory #1 Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    Accessory #2 Koolance Fittings and QDC's
    Accessory #3 XSPC Raystorm Neo Metal CPU block w/EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Feklar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by sexpot View Post
    Hello,

    I currently have my Maximus X Apex on one of the early release BIOSes. Will I be able to drop in an 8086K and have it work right away? Or do we need to wait for a BIOS update before swapping in the 8086K CPU?

    Thanks!
    I'm using the 8086k with bios 0802 without any issues. MCE works great. 5023Mhz across 6 cores is fun. Low 60's on all cores after 4 hours at 100% load and 1.342v.

    i9 9900k + Asus Maximus XI Apex + EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA
    Trident Z Royal F4-4400C18D-16GTRS + Samsung 860 Pro SSD, EVO 1TB, EVO 2TB
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2 Power Supply + Phanteks Evolv X case
    XSPC Raystorm Neo Metal CPU block, EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Koolance Fittings and QDC's + Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    LG G32GK850G Monitor +
    Windows 10 Pro

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array CFOUR PC Specs
    CFOUR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z370 Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8086k
    Memory (part number)Gksill Trident Z 3200Mhz C14
    Graphics Card #1Asus 1080ti Strix OC
    Sound CardSoundblaster Zx
    MonitorAsus PG279
    Storage #1970 Pro 1tb
    Storage #24Gb WD Blue
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Snowsilent
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Are you selecting yes when prompted to apply 'multi-core enhance'? If so, let me know. I'll have our guys look into it. Either way, I'd list out exactly what you're changing in UEFI, just so the info is complete. It will help to expedite a response.
    As mentioned above I also have the issue with voltage, switched to XMP from manual ram timings with my Hero/8086k combo and selected yes. loaded windows and core voltage will not downclock, BIOS 1301, 2x8GB Gskill 3200 C14 Ram.

    Link to Bios Screenshots.
    https://imgur.com/a/RY1k66v
    Last edited by CFOUR; 06-13-2018 at 05:06 AM.

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Have let HQ know. Will report back.

    Edit: please set the min cache ratio to 8X, this should cure the problem.
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 06-13-2018 at 11:01 AM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •