Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Definitely use. Make sure you take the time to align it correctly. It is designed to ensure proper placement and avoid pin damage.
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  2. #22
    ROG Member Array Shadow07 PC Specs
    Shadow07 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) LGA 1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX-GTX1080-A8G-GAMING 8GB 256-Bit
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Discrete 5.1
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB PCIe Gen3. X4
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series, H115i PRO RGB
    CaseMasterCase H500P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Shadow07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by fatboynuke View Post
    Yes, thanks I will try as soon as the motherboard is back. One question: the motherboard came with a small plastic support to help placing the CPU in the slot, however I found this to be complicating things quite a lot (I don't exclude this is what cause the pins' damage). Do you suggest to use or not use this?
    Thanks!
    don't use it......

  3. #23
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by fatboynuke View Post
    Yes, thanks I will try as soon as the motherboard is back. One question: the motherboard came with a small plastic support to help placing the CPU in the slot, however I found this to be complicating things quite a lot (I don't exclude this is what cause the pins' damage). Do you suggest to use or not use this?
    Thanks!

    Did you insert the CPU the wrong way? The tool helps, but does require correct alignment. That much is down to you. You dont have to use it. Whether you do or not, though, make sure you insert the CPU correctly in the socket. It’s best to take your time and line everything up correctly.

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi guys,
    so I got the mobo back and tried my best to fix the socket pins. I made sure that they are all well alligned and on the same height.

    So now the RAM problem is gone, however the system appears to never boot on cold boot. I have to reset and then it boots up. I run some stress tests in windows and benchmarks and it looks stable but when I first start it up it is stuck on error A9. Now, do you think this could still be an issue coming from the the bent socket pins?

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Quote Originally Posted by fatboynuke View Post
    Hi guys,
    so I got the mobo back and tried my best to fix the socket pins. I made sure that they are all well alligned and on the same height.

    So now the RAM problem is gone, however the system appears to never boot on cold boot. I have to reset and then it boots up. I run some stress tests in windows and benchmarks and it looks stable but when I first start it up it is stuck on error A9. Now, do you think this could still be an issue coming from the the bent socket pins?
    It could be the CPU, but there are many other causes that could cause the same issue. Start with RAM. Try one stick at a time and see if that solves the problem. If it's not the RAM, check and reseat all connections on the motherboard.
    The fact that it runs fine on reset tends to indicate a poor connection somewhere in your system. Best of luck
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  6. #26
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I tried checking all connection and everything looked ok, but no change. Then I removed one RAM module and here we are again, the system boots with no issues and very fast.
    Back on 2 modules I have to reset after some time when it stucks on error A2 and then it boots, but not very fast. I suppose this can still be due to the damaged pins in the socket?

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Have you tried each module in alternate slots by itself?
    Also try dialing down the settings substantially for the ram using both modules.
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Then I removed one RAM module and here we are again, the system boots with no issues and very fast
    So have you tried booting with each module one at a time in one slot, and then each module one at a time in a different slot like Snakeyes mentioned? This is really something that needs to be verified/ruled out.

    A2 is IDE Detect... What type of HDD/SSD/M.2 storage are you using?
    Also this may appear unrelated but, I've seen reports of A2 being sourced to CPU fan detect issues.
    When the system hangs on boot and you have to reset - do you get any kind of display at all ?
    Last edited by Delta9K; 07-01-2018 at 10:19 PM.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi , I have not yet tried moving the ram modules around after 'fixing' the socket pins.
    When the boot fails and I get the A2 error I have no screen message at all, it turns off as it detects no output.
    Currently I have a sata SSD, an nvme M2 in the 2nd slot and 2 raid sata HDDs.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Please try moving around modules around individually. For all you know, you have a bad ram stick or malfunctioning ram socket. This is the first thing you need to resolve.
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •