Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array bhorv67 PC Specs
    bhorv67 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Tower
    MotherboardROG Z490-f
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z170 Platform
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAOC 28" 4k / Viewsonic 24" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500g nvme
    Storage #2WD 1T nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCooler Master Haf 912
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Glave
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z 5500 5.1
    OS Win 10 1709

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    AURA Lighting Service using high CPU resources

    Running the latest version as of this post - I end up having to force quit the Lighting Service process, as it uses between 10-15% of the CPU resources. If I can't find a fix, I'm just going to uninstall and turn all the LED off, it's really not that important.

    Anyone have a fix or ideas of what's going on? Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array crispinrosete PC Specs
    crispinrosete PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero Wifi-AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i3-8100 3.60GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 3600mhz RGB (16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Rog Strix Geforce GTX 1060 Advance Edition 6gb
    MonitorAsus VC239H
    Storage #1M.2 WD Green 240gb
    Storage #2Seagate 1TB Barracuda
    CPU CoolerBykski AIO 240
    CaseAerocool Quartz
    Power SupplySeasonic M12II-620 EVO 80+ Full Modular
    Keyboard Redragon Aryaman
    Mouse Redragon Dagger
    Headset Badwolf
    Mouse Pad G-Force Extended Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterPLDT Fibr
    crispinrosete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    These are the different effects that generate this CPU load, if you stay with the Static effect, you should not have this problem (on my PC currently, configured with Static effect full red on AURA, LightingService.exe uses 0% CPU resource, and 15.2 MB of RAM).
    Is it bug in aura software? i have the same issue in my maximus x hero ac-wifi, the aura effects got stuck. Im very frustrated to this issue I've made a bunch of installing and re-installing aura software from latest to oldest version but no luck. Also updating bios into latest (currently 1401) and running aura setup in administrator but still not work. Any suggestion or idea on how to fix this issue?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array bhorv67 PC Specs
    bhorv67 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Tower
    MotherboardROG Z490-f
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z170 Platform
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAOC 28" 4k / Viewsonic 24" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500g nvme
    Storage #2WD 1T nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCooler Master Haf 912
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Glave
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z 5500 5.1
    OS Win 10 1709

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Also, in previous version, I've been able to select the 'sync at shutdown' tab, and choose 'off'. When I do that now in the latest version and choose off, a different effect is applied.

    All I want to do is turn off the LEDs when the system is off. I'm not able to do that now using Aura.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array crispinrosete PC Specs
    crispinrosete PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero Wifi-AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i3-8100 3.60GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 3600mhz RGB (16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Rog Strix Geforce GTX 1060 Advance Edition 6gb
    MonitorAsus VC239H
    Storage #1M.2 WD Green 240gb
    Storage #2Seagate 1TB Barracuda
    CPU CoolerBykski AIO 240
    CaseAerocool Quartz
    Power SupplySeasonic M12II-620 EVO 80+ Full Modular
    Keyboard Redragon Aryaman
    Mouse Redragon Dagger
    Headset Badwolf
    Mouse Pad G-Force Extended Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterPLDT Fibr
    crispinrosete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    [QUOTE=MoKiChU;724366]I would not say it's a bug, I would say that the process is poorly optimized when there are effects. I think they (ASUS Dev) are working on it.


    Well, hope this issue will fix in next aura software version/update or else I will sell my mobo and buy non-aura. Currently I removed/uninstall the aura and stick with the default effects (rainbow). Btw thanks for the info

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array mike.sey PC Specs
    mike.sey PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X470-F Gaming AM4
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 3 2200G
    Memory (part number)N82E16820232476
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    MonitorACER X223w X4 monitors
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 860 EVO Series M.2 2280 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB PC SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid ML120R Addressable RGB AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
    CaseAigo ATLANTIS Mid-Tower Computer Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3 80+ GOLD

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Angry AURA Rgb sucks!

    It should not take 80% of my CPU to run RGB / BACKGROUND LIGHTING SERVICE. Apparently this is a ongoing issue with them. I am not happy, what does a man got to do to change the colors of a freaking LED! I have a brand new X470 MB, 16GB RAM 3200 and 2200G AMD CPU. With ALL of the recent bios / software updates. This is horrible, I will never buy ASUS again.
    Last edited by mike.sey; 09-14-2018 at 07:08 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    348

    is the CPU utilization an issue with the new version only (even for static colors)?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array mike.sey PC Specs
    mike.sey PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X470-F Gaming AM4
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 3 2200G
    Memory (part number)N82E16820232476
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    MonitorACER X223w X4 monitors
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 860 EVO Series M.2 2280 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB PC SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid ML120R Addressable RGB AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
    CaseAigo ATLANTIS Mid-Tower Computer Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3 80+ GOLD

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by katlani View Post
    is the CPU utilization an issue with the new version only (even for static colors)?
    Not sure. Who buys RGB for static colors?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    1,771

    if the aura app is 1.06.95 please use the folling these thread so it has a record.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...rt-Issues-Here


    I did report there the same issues. and a little more.

    in 10 days I will built another build , a friend new game pc, with a new itx am4 socket I will get the rest of the parts and redo the test with a modern board aside other issues

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Thanks for this. Went from 15% CPU to 0% going static.

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    These are the different effects that generate this CPU load, if you stay with the Static effect, you should not have this problem (on my PC currently, configured with Static effect full red on AURA, LightingService.exe uses 0% CPU resource, and 15.2 MB of RAM).

  10. #10
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by crispinrosete View Post
    Is it bug in aura software? i have the same issue in my maximus x hero ac-wifi, the aura effects got stuck. Im very frustrated to this issue I've made a bunch of installing and re-installing aura software from latest to oldest version but no luck. Also updating bios into latest (currently 1401) and running aura setup in administrator but still not work. Any suggestion or idea on how to fix this issue?
    I know this is reviving an old thread but I too had some major issues wiith Aura a little over a month ago, neither Asus nor I could figure out the issue and the board was about to be RMA'd (I even had an official RMA number). My I/O RGB LED's never turned on again after a power outage. (I have since finally bought the UPS I knew I needed long before that happened) Finally one night while deciding which manufacturer to go with next (I was less than happy with Asus support and have had multiple ROG products that failed in an incredibly short time, or were DOA) I decided to check the updates page for the millionth time to make sure there wasn't something I had missed for my board. I noticed the most recent, at the time, AURA download was actually labeled "LightingService" something and that got me thinking.

    By this point I of course had done EVERYTHING possible to avoid sending off the board because not have access to my PC is not a viable option for me, and ASUS would not let me send in the bad board and get some kind of credit towards the exact same model, just the updated model because my board was not in production anymore. I wipe every trace of aura, AI suite, GPU tweak, everything. Cleaned the registry of old and invalid keys, reverted my windows back from 1903... everything. If you browse the forums theres even links to a tool called "Aura Cleaner," though I can't confirm it works. For me it opened and closed command prompt quickly. I even went as far as to take the board out, which was not at all fun, and remove the actual I/O cover and inspected the LED's and board that they're soldered to.

    THEN, I figured I'd give it one more shot. Everything wiped, newest version downloaded, I even was sent the original firmware and tool to flash the AURA controller back to its original setting and version. Still nothing. Everything about was working again except the I/O shield was still dark, zero lights. So while I was once again re-wiping any traces of AURA, I noticed in the update folder is another folder called Lighting Service. Inside of this folder was an installer specifically for the Lighting Service, or so it appeared at least. I ran it FIRST, then installed the newest version of Aura. During the install for lighting service, my I/O LED's suddenly lit up. HOORAY!!!!

    TL;DR,
    Manually delete Aura and the lighting service from your PC, restart. Run a registry cleaner or DIY and remove anything related to aura AND the lighting service. Restart again. If you haven't already, download the newest version of Aura OR the newest version that includes the lighting service folder/update/installer. I installed 1.07.66, it downloads as "Lighting_Control_1.07.66," inside of the main folder where the installer is, is a second folder labeled "LightingService." Inside of here should be an installer called, "AuraServiceSetup." Run THAT INSTALLER FIRST, then restart again. (I know, I know, but for me this is the only solution that worked and I spent weeks trying to figure it out) Then install Aura, and finally, restart again. Hopefully this solution helps a lot of people, I did contact ASUS support and described in detail my findings. They replied and thanked me but whether or not that information made it anywhere is beyond me.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •