Results 1 to 3 of 3

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Maximus X Formula with 2 NMVe M.2 PCIe Gen3 x4 drives

    Hello experts,

    I have purchased a Maximus X Formula with a 500GB 970Evo NVMe M.2 for the OS and a 1TB 970Evo NVMe M.2 to store my games. Both are PCIe Gen3 x4. When I first boot my system, I will have only the 500gb installed to install Windows 10, and then once this is done, and drivers are installed I will add the second 1TB drive.

    My questions is, do I need to make sure that both drives are configured for PCIe Gen3 x4 modes in BIOS or will the setting default to this? I see that both sockets support PCIe 3.0 x4 or SATA mode. Obviously I won't run either in SATA mode correct?
    Last edited by ExGreyFox; 06-19-2018 at 05:30 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Hey mate,

    I own an X Hero, but I would suggest to force PCIe 3.0 and x4 mode for both your NVMe M.2 devices. You can add them both, at the same time, just choose the right drive based on label.
    Keep in mind that some SATA ports would be disabled by running X4 PCIe modes, so take note of those based on your manual. For the X Hero at least, SATA Ports 5 & 6 get disabled.

    Good luck and let us know how it goes!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by SherardG View Post
    Hey mate,

    I own an X Hero, but I would suggest to force PCIe 3.0 and x4 mode for both your NVMe M.2 devices. You can add them both, at the same time, just choose the right drive based on label.
    Keep in mind that some SATA ports would be disabled by running X4 PCIe modes, so take note of those based on your manual. For the X Hero at least, SATA Ports 5 & 6 get disabled.

    Good luck and let us know how it goes!
    Thank you mate! I will keep you guys posted. Thank you for all the help and advice!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •