Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Sudden asmedia USB problems Asus rampage vi extreme

    Hello all, I recently noticed that my headset that is plugged into the bottom red USB port stopped lighting up. It seems like this port no longer works out of the blue. I believe this is the only port controlled my the asmedia chip, I think all others are controlled by intel. So I update the USB drivers in the device manager menu, asmedia extensible and asmedia root up do show in the device manager without flags, but for some reason it doesn't detect what I plug in to the red USB port. I tired the USB C port as well with a USB stick, which i believe is also ASMEDIA controlled. The USB stick lights, indicating power, but the drive is NOT detected in the system. So it seems that my ASMEDIA chip is glitched. I dont believe it failed because it still shows in device manager. Things I did to trouble shoot this issue:


    Reinstalled windows using recovery
    reinstalled windows using windows CD
    Uninstalled all USB devices in device manager, restart so they can reload
    Right clicked and updated all usb devices in the device manager
    Flash to the most recent 1401 bios
    flash to a previous bios to see if there is any difference

    Am I missing something here? Any ideas what this could be or why both red USB and the USB C port would just stop working in the back? Ports were inspected as well and found to have no visible damage to the port. Any ideas would really be appreciated, I've spent hours and hours trying to fix this issue with no resolution.

    Thanks for reading.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array ExcessiveGBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    First of all you don't have your system specs in signature.
    Dose this still happen at BIOS default settings?
    Win 10 64 bit Pro 1903
    Rampage VI Extreme
    BIOS 1902
    I9-7900X @4.7GHz all cores
    EK-KIT G360 (CPU only)
    Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe 2TB
    3 x 4TB drives
    1 x 2TB drive
    Nvidia 2 x Sli Titans Pascal @2035Mhz
    32GB G Skill Trident Z 3466MHz
    Corsair 1200w psu
    Sound Denon AVC-A1
    Panasonic 65 plasma
    Predator XB321HK

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by ExcessiveGBH View Post
    First of all you don't have your system specs in signature.
    Dose this still happen at BIOS default settings?
    Yes it does do it at default bios settings. the bios is 1401, newest. the specs are

    7900X
    32 GB 3200 MHZ gskill trident Z
    1080 ti SLI asus strix
    Samsung 950 pro boot drive

    windows 1803 newest update .


    seems to have started after I updated both bios and windows, but not even rolling back both doesn't get the ports to work.
    Last edited by dandan112988; 06-23-2018 at 04:00 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array ExcessiveGBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by dandan112988 View Post
    Yes it does do it at default bios settings. the bios is 1401, newest. the specs are

    7900X
    32 GB 3200 MHZ gskill trident Z
    1080 ti SLI asus strix
    Samsung 950 pro boot drive

    windows 1803 newest update .


    seems to have started after I updated both bios and windows, but not even rolling back both doesn't get the ports to work.
    Have you cleard CMOS before updating BIOS?


    I see that you have light showing on headset, generally means no voltage from USB port or open circuit somewhere on headset.
    Check USB port with multi meter if you have one.
    Also just check in BIOS that they haven't been disabled.
    Win 10 64 bit Pro 1903
    Rampage VI Extreme
    BIOS 1902
    I9-7900X @4.7GHz all cores
    EK-KIT G360 (CPU only)
    Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe 2TB
    3 x 4TB drives
    1 x 2TB drive
    Nvidia 2 x Sli Titans Pascal @2035Mhz
    32GB G Skill Trident Z 3466MHz
    Corsair 1200w psu
    Sound Denon AVC-A1
    Panasonic 65 plasma
    Predator XB321HK

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by ExcessiveGBH View Post
    Have you cleard CMOS before updating BIOS?


    I see that you have light showing on headset, generally means no voltage from USB port or open circuit somewhere on headset.
    Check USB port with multi meter if you have one.
    Also just check in BIOS that they haven't been disabled.
    solved. This disappearing asmedia chip was caused by a fault secondary monitor display connection into the gpu. Who would have thought that could affect a usb asmedia chip. I read about it in another forum with another Asus motherboard and it was the same problem. Faulty display cable on secondary monitor or a glitch with running two via display port. But once the secondary monitor was plugged via hdmi the problem went away. Weird

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,710

    yep. I heard about that also. it is something not hardware. is software base issue. I have start seeing that since 1803 I can no use my headphones in USB. or being connected in usb. I have 2 144hz monitors in DP. so I have to almost turn on the computer with 1 monitor. for some issue unknown to me and for some there is, to apper to have a issue with the nvidia drivers and a specific scenario. example. 1 external WD drive BSOD the computer if load attach on the computer. on event viewer the error critical is a crash on the video driver. I can not make sense to it. I all ready please a order to new cables since 1 is not a good quality but good cables are expensive and one is 10feet that I have to replace

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Itzycharles View Post
    yep. I heard about that also. it is something not hardware. is software base issue. I have start seeing that since 1803 I can no use my headphones in USB. or being connected in usb. I have 2 144hz monitors in DP. so I have to almost turn on the computer with 1 monitor. for some issue unknown to me and for some there is, to apper to have a issue with the nvidia drivers and a specific scenario. example. 1 external WD drive BSOD the computer if load attach on the computer. on event viewer the error critical is a crash on the video driver. I can not make sense to it. I all ready please a order to new cables since 1 is not a good quality but good cables are expensive and one is 10feet that I have to replace
    Yeah, its a strange problem because I would never connect a bad display port cable with the loss of an USB asmedia controller. It seems completely separate. Ever since i disconnected one of the display port cables and switched it to HDMI for my secondary monitor everything has been running flawlessly.

  8. #8
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Its not all that strange when you consider the USB is being sent down the DP cable for use if wanted. Sounds like you have a short in the cable or connetor in the monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •