Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Asus Maximus X Apex New Bios will not allow MCE (Turbo) on stock 8700k

    Hi all,

    Just flashed to the new 1401 BIOS from Asus and selected optimized defaults. I then switched on XMP.

    Everything is set to Auto, I am not OC'ing.
    Multicore Enhancement is set to Auto
    CPU Core Ratio is Set to Auto

    I notice that under load (Cinebench, Intelburn test) the max freqency of all processors limit at 4.3 ghz instead of 4.7 (which is what turning on MCE should enable).

    What am I doing wrong?

    Idle:



    Load:



    System:
    8700K Stock
    Asus Maximus Apex X
    GSkill Trident Z 2x8gb 3200-14's
    Windows 10 set to high performance power setting

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Whoah I figured it out. For some reason you have to set CPU Core Ratio not to Auto but to "Sync all cores".

    If you do that then all cores run at 4.7ghz but the Asus X Apex pushes the vCore up to 1.376 volts ! That's toasty, 86c!

    This CPU isn't even overclocked!

    Is it normal for the Asus X Apex to push vCore so high on auto if you enable all cores to run at 4.7ghz using "Multi core enhancement: Auto" and "Ratio: Sync All Cores"?





    If you set MCE: Auto and CPU Core Ratio: Auto then the Apex X will set 1.248v vCore but all cores under load will perform at 4.3 ghz instead of 4.7ghz.
    1.248
    Last edited by Gold333; 06-29-2018 at 12:39 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I believe that is normal behavior, I would personally recommend setting vcore to adaptive mode, every CPU is different, mine is stable with all cores at & 1.3 v

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I believe that is normal behavior, I would personally recommend setting vcore to adaptive mode, every CPU is different, mine is stable with all cores at & 1.3 v
    No way I wanna have this thing run at 1.376 volts.

    I just changed it back to Multi Core Enhancement: Auto, Cpu Core Ratio: Auto.

    4.3 Ghz on all cores is enough for me. Most of my games don't even pass 50% cpu usage that way.

    I was just suprised the Asus X Apex over volts so much. 1.376 v just to run all cores at the stock 4.7 ghz (but unstaggered so not really stock).

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    The voltages set using auto are based on worst case processors when overclocking. Some samples do need close to 1.4V to run all cores at 4.7GHz.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    The voltages set using auto are based on worst case processors when overclocking. Some samples do need close to 1.4V to run all cores at 4.7GHz.
    Thanks, I thought my cpu was bad.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    I encountered this issue when I first got my 8700k and maximus hero. It took a long time to get the answer but it turned out that at some point Asus changed the default setting in the bios from sync all cores to per core frequency. This was because of all the contreversy surrounding MCE boosting the CPU to 4.7 in all cores during benchmarking and instability in blender when z370 first came out. I found it was much better to set an overclock manually. I was able to get 4.8Ghz at 1.275V in bios with LLC4 in adaptive mode, this led to a load voltage of 1.232V during stress testing. A perfectly acceptable result for a non delidded chip on a decent cooler.
    Last edited by Zammin; 07-07-2018 at 02:18 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •