Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    What is ECO MODE in the GX501 ASUS ROG Game Center?

    Hi, can someone explain me what is the ECO MODE in the game center?



    I'm on ASUS Zephyrus GX501 laptop.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    It’s going to be model specific but my guess is a reduced power profile to extend battery life.*

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    It’s going to be model specific but my guess is a reduced power profile to extend battery life.*
    Well it's indeed something to do with power since I just unplug the AC, the ECO mode is forced ON. On AC, it can toggle on and off.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Same thing the "eco" settings always do.

    Save the rainforest, preserve biodiversity, reduce emissions, reduce pollution, keep your battery out of the landfill, quit smoking, cure cancer. I would say it saves the whales, too, but tech whales are not well loved and dumping laptops into the ocean probably wouldn't save any other kind of whales at all.

    It works by throttling your machine at lower "power saving" performances. Stretches out battery charge. Ramps down heat output.

    Impact varies from game to game, Minesweeper or Undertale wouldn't be at all affected, Crysis 3 or Rise of Tomb Raider would be crippled to unplayability.
    Last edited by Korth; 10-22-2017 at 07:54 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Thanks.

    I also found out I am missing a few ROG softwares. I wonder why. I am missing ROG GameFirst, ROG TurboGear. What happened to out of the box?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Any words on ROG Game Center for iOS?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Apple makes and sells iOS devices. ASUS does not. Why would ASUS support iOS? I'm not even sure they'd be allowed to, lol. Though I could be wrong.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array thwyster1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Eco mode readonly

    After updating BIOS to version 309 of the Zephyrus GX501 Model, the notebook keyboard has stopped working, and the ECOMODE is ON even with the AC On, so I can not get the maximum performance from my Video Card (GTX 1080) Any idea what to do?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Contact tech support or/ install an earlier version of the bios with a manual / offline flash? Have you tried plugging in an external keyboard - this way you should be able to go into Windows and rollback this bios update.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array thwyster1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by Pheebau View Post
    Contact tech support or/ install an earlier version of the bios with a manual / offline flash? Have you tried plugging in an external keyboard - this way you should be able to go into Windows and rollback this bios update.
    I tried to downgrade as indicated by the support but it did not work, the support asked to send the notebook to them, I'm in Brazil, they gave me an estimate of $ 1460 for the keyboard only concert, without the cost of shipping, which leaves me with much anger, was that the problem happens after they released a BIOS update of them, it was not a third-party software, it's asus software that was not well tested, and now asus does not want to be held responsible

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •