Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy New PC Build Intermittently Won't Post

    Hello, I'm hoping that someone in here might be able to give me some guidance. I just built out a new PC and I'm having a strange problem. Sometimes the PC won't post. If I press MemOK on the mobo, it will post right up. When it's running, it runs fine without any noticeable issues or lag.

    When I first bought the components, I accidentally purchased a 7th series CPU and had issues trying to get it to start up because of that. Once I got the 8th series installed it came up no problem. Then I discovered that one of my RAM sticks was dead. The warranty covered that and it was replaced.

    I haven't tried too many things because I honestly don't know where to start. I've checked each stick of ram by itself, but one of the problems seems to be that once it posts, it will be fine for a little while. But if I leave it sitting overnight off, it won't post up again the next day. This makes troubleshooting a little difficult as I sometimes won't have immediate feedback on if my changes did anything. I have also tried securing all of the connections to all of the components and moving the video card into a new slot.

    I did seem to have some brief success when I disabled fastboot in the BIOS, but the problem came back again pretty quickly.

    Another problem that I face that may or may not be related is that the computer will not wake up from sleep. I have followed the online recommendations for turning off certain Windows 10 features, but none of that seems to have worked.

    I am a little scared about modifying voltages on the motherboard as that would be my first time doing anything like that, but I really need this computer to work properly as I spent a LOT of money on it. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you so much for reading.


    Build Specifications with links to their Newegg or NVIDIA pages:

    Tower
    Thermaltake View 71 RGB 4-Sided Tempered Glass Vertical GPU Modular E-ATX Gaming Full Tower Computer Case with 3 RGB LED Ring Fan Pre-installed CA-1I7-00F1WN-01

    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) LGA 1151 (300 Series) Intel Z370 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

    RAM (x2)
    G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-16GTZR

    Processor
    Intel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.7 GHz (4.7 GHz Turbo) LGA 1151 (300 Series) 95W BX80684I78700K Desktop Processor Intel UHD Graphics 630

    CPU Cooler
    Thermaltake Floe AIO Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition PWM TR4 LGA2066 Ready Liquid Cooling System CL-W158-PL12SW-A

    Power Supply
    EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 Power Supply - ATX12V/EPS12V - 110 V AC, 220 V AC Input Voltage - 3.3 V DC, 5 V DC, 12 V DC, -12 V DC, 5 V DC Output Voltage - 1 Fans - Internal - Modular - ATI CrossFire Support

    SSDs
    SAMSUNG 860 EVO Series 2.5" 500GB SATA III V-NAND 3-bit MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-76E500B/AM

    Graphics Card
    NVIDIA Titan XP
    Last edited by cutelz; 06-30-2018 at 02:43 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    I'll be the first and maybe the worst but...... "Another problem that I face that may or may not be related is that the computer will not wake up from sleep. I have followed the online recommendations for turning off certain Windows 10 features, but none of that seems to have worked."
    Turn off sleep mode for a day or two and see if the helps.
    Reset bios and Win to defaults first.

    edit to add ... your component selections seem to be solid choices leading me to believe that it's Windows/bios/software related.
    Last edited by Heini; 06-30-2018 at 03:09 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array brkkab123 PC Specs
    brkkab123 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 32GBs
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard sound
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB SATA & W.D. Black 2.0TB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK-XLC Predator 240 1.1 w/push/pull add-on fans kit
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X530 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR 3700
    Accessory #1 Logitech c615 HD Webcam
    Accessory #2 Seagate Backup Desk 3.0TB
    Accessory #3 Logitech U920 Driving Force Racing Wheel/Logitech Driving Force Shifter/GT Omega Wheel Stand

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    307

    You said you got the wrong cpu at first.
    When you put the right cpu in did press F5 in the UEFI to load optimized defaults, so the new cpu would be detected ? Did you then press F10 in the UEFI after any changes you made?
    Did you repeat both of those two steps again after having the 2 good ram sticks?
    Did you ask the ram manufacturer why they only replaced the bad ram stick and not the ram kit?
    From past experience that one's important, too.
    Example a few years ago I got one set of G-Skill Ripjaws ram for a PC I built. A few months later I ordered a 2nd kit of G-Skill Ripjaws ram of the identical speed as the first set.
    I found out the newer kit had different timings than the first kit, so I had to send the 2nd kit back and order a single 4 stick kit (2 pairs in the same package with the same timings).
    1st and 2nd ram stick you now have may very well have slightly different timings.
    Last, but not least have you reactivated Windows since the correct cpu was installed?
    Different cpu or motherboard means new PC to Microsoft.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array brkkab123 PC Specs
    brkkab123 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 32GBs
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard sound
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB SATA & W.D. Black 2.0TB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK-XLC Predator 240 1.1 w/push/pull add-on fans kit
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X530 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR 3700
    Accessory #1 Logitech c615 HD Webcam
    Accessory #2 Seagate Backup Desk 3.0TB
    Accessory #3 Logitech U920 Driving Force Racing Wheel/Logitech Driving Force Shifter/GT Omega Wheel Stand

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    307

    Almost forgot this one, did you download and install the newest UEFI and drivers from Asus for your mobo?
    If not, do it immediately.
    Never use any hardwares driver cd, always download and install the most recent UEFI, drivers and any hardware software you're gonna use from the manufacture/s and use it, not the included always old driver's/software/UEFI cd in the hardware's boxes.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    At the very least you need to set the memory voltage to 1.35 then use either default memory setting 2133Mhz or set XMP memory profile.

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I went to try brkkab123’s suggestions and got a CPU overtemp error. It was at about 80°. I’m going to check my coolers commections, reseat the CPU, and hopefully solve this problem. I suppose there’s a chance this whatever this error is may be same one causing the posting problem D:

    I’ll reply back here oncw I make some progress. Thank you for taking the time to reply it is extremely helpful. I’m feeling super lost at the moment.*

  7. #7
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    brkkab123, thank you for the suggestions. I tried doing the optization thing in the BIOS like you suggested. I haven't had a load problem since, so I'm very hopeful that this worked! I will bump this post back up if it ends up not working out, but thank you so much for replying! It really gave me some direction

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    let me guess, you did buy 2 ram kits? ( AKA 2 packages of 2x8 gig of memory sticks ).
    pull out all the ram, and divide them in to the packets hey belong to, and only have ONE ram stick in the mobo and try and boot up then.
    see if you have the same problem.

    if you miss match 2 ram kits you WILL ask for problem on intel chipsets since it is picky on this.
    always buy ONE kit of the amount or memory sticks you need.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •