Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array erefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    32GB kit for Crosshair VII Hero

    Hi there, could you recommend me a working 32gb kit for Crosshair VII Hero?
    I'd appreciate the answer from someone who has this board and uses 32gb without problems.
    I want to buy DDR4 3200 C14 but I haven't found anything in the QVL list and I am afraid that I will buy it and don't work.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array brkkab123 PC Specs
    brkkab123 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 32GBs
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard sound
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB SATA & W.D. Black 2.0TB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK-XLC Predator 240 1.1 w/push/pull add-on fans kit
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X530 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR 3700
    Accessory #1 Logitech c615 HD Webcam
    Accessory #2 Seagate Backup Desk 3.0TB
    Accessory #3 Logitech U920 Driving Force Racing Wheel/Logitech Driving Force Shifter/GT Omega Wheel Stand

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    307

    Just 2 of the DDR4 3200 16GB kits. Just by both at the same time.
    From experience in the past if you buy 1 kit now and then by a 2nd kit of the same ram down the road, sometimes the timings for the 2 kits are different slightly and cause issues.
    If you buy both kit's at the same time from the same place, both kits will have been made at the same time and no issues will be experienced.
    Be forewarned from what I heard on the X470 mobo's. If you fill all 4 slots and have 32GB or more total ram, you'll need to drop the ram speed down slightly, if you overclock the cpu.
    For DDR4 3200, it would be DDR4 2933 or 2966.
    I also found on Newegg that G-Skill Sniper X DDR4 3466 is slightly cheaper than both G-Skill Sniper X DDR4 3400 and G-Skill Flare X DDR4 3200.
    According to G-Skill's Ram Configurator those 3 kits work with the Crosshair VII Hero and Hero Wi-Fi mobo's.
    I'm getting the Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi and 32GBs of the G_Skill Sniper X DDR4 3466 over the rest of summer and early fall to go with my Ryzen R7 2700X cup.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array erefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Thank you for the info

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    It's generally advised to avoid 4 modules if possible. 2X16GB GSKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZ works fine with the C7H @ 3200 DOCP. There are also several SKUs of the same RAM with different colors of heat spreaders (GTZ[x][x]) or RGB (GTZR) but functionally they should be identical.
    Last edited by gorpo; 07-02-2018 at 11:23 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I am currently using CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3466MHz C16 Desktop Memory. 4 sticks so only running at 3200 with stable timings at 14-17-17-32-47. Working nicely after figuring out the timing. Could have gotten higher speeds with two sticks but I just like having all the slots filled.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by gorpo View Post
    It's generally advised to avoid 4 modules if possible. 2X16GB GSKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZ works fine with the C7H @ 3200 DOCP. There are also several SKUs of the same RAM with different colors of heat spreaders (GTZ[x][x]) or RGB (GTZR) but functionally they should be identical.
    Do you have these and have you checked them with memtest86 for no errors? I have two kits of flarex that wont run error free without increased SOC voltage.

    According to GSKILL this 4 stick kit is QVL but it would be great to get the extra bump from dual rank kits instead.

    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14q-32gtzrx

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by srsbsns View Post
    According to GSKILL this 4 stick kit is QVL but it would be great to get the extra bump from dual rank kits instead.

    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14q-32gtzrx
    What extra bump?

    The F4-3200C14D-32GTZ passed memtest86 when I first got them, but I don't remember the parameters I tested with. With memory at 3200 DOCP settings and CPU (PE, CPB, PBO) and SOC settings on Auto, I had no errors in 24 hours of y-cruncher and 9 hours of mprime on BIOS 0702.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by gorpo View Post
    What extra bump?

    The F4-3200C14D-32GTZ passed memtest86 when I first got them, but I don't remember the parameters I tested with. With memory at 3200 DOCP settings and CPU (PE, CPB, PBO) and SOC settings on Auto, I had no errors in 24 hours of y-cruncher and 9 hours of mprime on BIOS 0702.
    16GB modules are dual rank. Dual rank memory is faster due to bank interleaving.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by srsbsns View Post
    16GB modules are dual rank. Dual rank memory is faster due to bank interleaving.
    You can read here and on OCN that the fastest performance, frequency, timings, etc are achieved only on single rank. Dual rank and quad modules are harder on the IMC, which seems to be the weakest link.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by gorpo View Post
    You can read here and on OCN that the fastest performance, frequency, timings, etc are achieved only on single rank. Dual rank and quad modules are harder on the IMC, which seems to be the weakest link.
    No thats unfortunitly incorrect. While dual rank sticks as well as using 4 DIMMs are both harder on the IMC instead of 2x single rank, dual rank are faster. I know this from my server experience and here is AMDs own statement on it. Please scroll down for the the comparison.

    https://community.amd.com/community/...memory-timings

    Thanks for confirming the dual rank sticks are error free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •