Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I am running my 8086k @ 5.1Ghz stable without any voltage changes. Benchmarked using Prime and Geekbench 4. Anything above that it'll lock up the PC. Also using an Asus Strix z370-E Gaming motherboard, Corsair RGB Pro 3600Mhz Cas 15 and the CPU cooler is a Corsair H150I using a 360mm AIO with three 120mm fans pulling and two 140mm pushing. I don't see temps above 40c on full stress, this is with fans on silent mode. I'm sure I can push 5.3Ghz if I start messing with voltages. It'll boot up but during benching itll lock up.
    Last edited by esquivelmrandy85; 08-29-2018 at 06:27 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by esquivelmrandy85 View Post
    I am running my 8086k @ 5.1Ghz stable without any voltage changes. Benchmarked using Prime and Geekbench 4. Anything above that it'll lock up the PC. Also using an Asus Strix z370-E Gaming motherboard, Corsair RGB Pro 3600Mhz Cas 15 and the CPU cooler is a Corsair H150I using a 360mm AIO with three 120mm fans pulling and two 140mm pushing. I don't see temps above 40c on full stress, this is with fans on silent mode. I'm sure I can push 5.3Ghz if I start messing with voltages. It'll boot up but during benching itll lock up.
    Wow, Prime95 (what version do you use and what AVX offset?) and only 40C max temps even with spikes when you start up - all this without a custom cooling loop and fans on silent...sounds amazing? Post us a video with temp monitor up? I ask because I have a very similar system, but no way I could keep the CPU at 40C under stress.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array ftmiranda PC Specs
    ftmiranda PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS CODE X (BIOS 1704)
    Processori7 8086K delidded 5.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 G.Skill 3200
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 2080Ti FE
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220
    MonitorLG 32" 4K HDR
    Storage #1M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (250GB)
    Storage #2M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (500GB)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC AIO 280mm (Noctua AF-140mm)
    CaseFactral Design R6 Mod
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600 G2 Gold
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow V2
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Astro A40 TR + Mix Mod kit
    Mouse Pad Razer LED Hard Pad
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 30
    OS MS Windows 10 1809
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthark X4
    Accessory #1 Razer Raiju Controller
    Accessory #2 APC Backup Pro 1500
    ftmiranda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by esquivelmrandy85 View Post
    I am running my 8086k @ 5.1Ghz stable without any voltage changes. Benchmarked using Prime and Geekbench 4. Anything above that it'll lock up the PC. Also using an Asus Strix z370-E Gaming motherboard, Corsair RGB Pro 3600Mhz Cas 15 and the CPU cooler is a Corsair H150I using a 360mm AIO with three 120mm fans pulling and two 140mm pushing. I don't see temps above 40c on full stress, this is with fans on silent mode. I'm sure I can push 5.3Ghz if I start messing with voltages. It'll boot up but during benching itll lock up.
    Excellent video. Followed most of the tips there. A great start point for new people to the OC world of PCs.

    I got my 8086k at 5.0Ghz, 1.293V (Asus Code X mobo BIOS version 1704), 3200 G.Skill memory on XMP profile. the system is stable, I used the Asus Z-CPU benchmark, idle the CPU temperature is about 35-36C. Under total stress it ramps up to 70-72C. I got a EVGA 280 CLC AIO with 4 NoctuaPPC3000 140mm fans in a push/pull (exhaust) configuration (top of the case), 3 Noctua AF14 140mm doing intake (front and bottom of the case) and 1 Noctual AF14 140mm at the back of the case doing exhaust.

    The coolant temperatures are around 28.5C-29.5C idle (CPU 35C). Under stress (CPU at 72C) it ramps up to 34.5-38C. Is there a way to lower the CPU temperatures under stress even more while keeping the 5.0Ghz mark ? I'm using thermal paste from Noctua (no the stock one that came with EVGA AIO)

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array ftmiranda PC Specs
    ftmiranda PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS CODE X (BIOS 1704)
    Processori7 8086K delidded 5.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 G.Skill 3200
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 2080Ti FE
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220
    MonitorLG 32" 4K HDR
    Storage #1M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (250GB)
    Storage #2M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (500GB)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC AIO 280mm (Noctua AF-140mm)
    CaseFactral Design R6 Mod
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600 G2 Gold
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow V2
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Astro A40 TR + Mix Mod kit
    Mouse Pad Razer LED Hard Pad
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 30
    OS MS Windows 10 1809
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthark X4
    Accessory #1 Razer Raiju Controller
    Accessory #2 APC Backup Pro 1500
    ftmiranda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Hello everyone:

    Hello there,

    So finally my PC build is optimized (I guess in the right way):

    The 8086k was delidded, and before running at 5Ghz temperatures were around 77C when running OCCT - after delidding and running at 5.2Ghz now it runs at 66C. The benchmark test ran for 45minutes, I believe that after all that time the AIO (EVGA 280mm + 2 Noctua Chroma 140mm fans).
    I replaced all Noctua PPC3000 fans for the Noctua Chroma 140mm - the noise levels decreased from 46db to 39db.

    What I'm concerned and I might ask on other threads is about the voltage on the Vcore - mine is at 1.34V and my system is running at 5.2Ghz and it looks like its stable - so far no blue screens or freezes (after hours and hours of gaming and benchmarks).
    Everywhere I look says it needs 1.4V - I have seem other overclocker youtubers using 1.396V as well. Anyway - I think that I'm not sure I understand the relation to the vCore voltage and the multiplier when configuring the BIOS. My multiplier is 52 and my Vcore set to manual at 1.34V however during the OCCT test I can see the voltage gets pushed to 1.36V on the Vcore.

    Why am I able to set the vCore to 1.34V and set the multiplier to 52 and still get a stable system when running at 5.2Ghz? I'm still confused about the relation of vCore and Multiplier.

    For more details about my setup please check my computer specs in my info.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    192

    Quote Originally Posted by ftmiranda View Post
    Hello everyone:

    Hello there,

    So finally my PC build is optimized (I guess in the right way):

    The 8086k was delidded, and before running at 5Ghz temperatures were around 77C when running OCCT - after delidding and running at 5.2Ghz now it runs at 66C. The benchmark test ran for 45minutes, I believe that after all that time the AIO (EVGA 280mm + 2 Noctua Chroma 140mm fans).
    I replaced all Noctua PPC3000 fans for the Noctua Chroma 140mm - the noise levels decreased from 46db to 39db.

    What I'm concerned and I might ask on other threads is about the voltage on the Vcore - mine is at 1.34V and my system is running at 5.2Ghz and it looks like its stable - so far no blue screens or freezes (after hours and hours of gaming and benchmarks).
    Everywhere I look says it needs 1.4V - I have seem other overclocker youtubers using 1.396V as well. Anyway - I think that I'm not sure I understand the relation to the vCore voltage and the multiplier when configuring the BIOS. My multiplier is 52 and my Vcore set to manual at 1.34V however during the OCCT test I can see the voltage gets pushed to 1.36V on the Vcore.

    Why am I able to set the vCore to 1.34V and set the multiplier to 52 and still get a stable system when running at 5.2Ghz? I'm still confused about the relation of vCore and Multiplier.

    For more details about my setup please check my computer specs in my info.
    What are your load like calibration settings ?

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array ftmiranda PC Specs
    ftmiranda PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS CODE X (BIOS 1704)
    Processori7 8086K delidded 5.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 G.Skill 3200
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 2080Ti FE
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220
    MonitorLG 32" 4K HDR
    Storage #1M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (250GB)
    Storage #2M.2 Socket Samsung EVO 970 (500GB)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC AIO 280mm (Noctua AF-140mm)
    CaseFactral Design R6 Mod
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600 G2 Gold
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow V2
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Astro A40 TR + Mix Mod kit
    Mouse Pad Razer LED Hard Pad
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 30
    OS MS Windows 10 1809
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthark X4
    Accessory #1 Razer Raiju Controller
    Accessory #2 APC Backup Pro 1500
    ftmiranda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement -> Disable
    AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset -> 1
    CPU Core Ratio -> Sync All Cores
    1-core Ratio Limit -> 52 (for all cores)
    VCore -> Manual
    Vcore Voltage -> 1.34V
    Xtreme Tweaking -> Enabled
    CPU SVID -> Disabled
    CPU Core Cache -> 255.50
    Min CPU Cache Ratio -> 46
    Max CPU Cache Ratio -> 46
    BLCK Aware Adaptive Voltage -> Disabled
    CPU Load-Line Calibration -> Level 6
    CPU Current Capacility -> 140%
    CPU VRM Switching Frequency -> Manual
    Fixed CPU VRM Frequency -> 500
    CPU Power Duty Control -> Extreme
    CPU Power Phase Control -> Standard
    DRAM Current Capability -> 130%
    Long Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Short Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Intel Speed Shift Technology -> Disabled

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Can anyone here give me settings for I7 8700k, i got motherboard rog maximus X hero and ram
    4x 8 GB -32 on 3600 mhz. Cooling evga water cooler 280'mm, And gpu 1080ti blk. evga edition
    I tryed settings from this guy video and my pc crash all the time when i do bench.
    I dont know what to doo, i want to unleash beast that i pay $$$$
    and i cannot do that for almost 10 days im trying to get stable 5.0ghz
    **

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array walrbe PC Specs
    walrbe PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C16-8GTZR
    MonitorPhilips BDM3270
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Castle 280 AIO
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyAntec Gamer power 520W
    OS Windows 10Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by BOB1987 View Post
    Can anyone here give me settings for I7 8700k, i got motherboard rog maximus X hero and ram
    4x 8 GB -32 on 3600 mhz. Cooling evga water cooler 280'mm, And gpu 1080ti blk. evga edition
    I tryed settings from this guy video and my pc crash all the time when i do bench.
    I dont know what to doo, i want to unleash beast that i pay $$$$
    and i cannot do that for almost 10 days im trying to get stable 5.0ghz
    **
    So what clock can you achieve stable?
    What is your default ram speed on XMP by the way?

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by walrbe View Post
    So what clock can you achieve stable?
    What is your default ram speed on XMP by the way?
    3600mhz ram

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Bonjour,

    J'ai un 8700k et une Strix Z370-f et je suis à 5Ghz avec un vcore de 1.32, j'ai effectué un delid moi même. J'aimerai monter à 5.1 voir 5.2ghz,quel est le vcore maximum sur le 8700k ?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •