Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Asus Multicore Enhancement Causing BSOD's?

    I have recently had issues where my computer will randomly BSOD (it is throwing the same exact BSOD error every time which is "KERNEL DATA INPAGE ERROR").

    I was OC'd at the time (it was stable in all tests I did @ 4.8 ghz all cores, DDR4-4133 mhz) but I removed the OC anyways and went back to stock settings to see if I still got the random BSOD (removed the OC on both CPU and RAM). RAM defaults to 2133 mhz at stock settings. To my surprise I got the BSOD even at default settings. I then noticed Asus Multicore Enhancement is on by default and figured I would try turning it off. After turning off Asus Multicore Enhancement I have gone 3-4 days now without a single BSOD...

    Anyone else ever had an issue with the Multicore Enhancement setting?

    I am running the Maximus Hero X Wi-Fi board with an 8700k and 16GB of G.Skill Trident Z RAM (DDR4-4133 mhz).

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Hard to call it the culprit. Part of the equation definitely....
    Have you tried it optomized defaults?
    Have you dialed back your memory or upped any voltages?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Hard to call it the culprit. Part of the equation definitely....
    Have you tried it optomized defaults?
    Have you dialed back your memory or upped any voltages?
    Still happened with optimized default settings. I had to turn off Asus Multicore Enhancement to stop the BSOD's which is kind of making me think that was the problem.

    It has only been 3-4 days but I guess I will wait longer to see if any BSOD pops up again.

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    THe MCE option syncs all cores at the Turbo frequency when the processor goes into load state (assuming SpeedStep is enabled). It is an overclocked configuration, and there are some weak CPUs that dont have sufficient margin with stock Vcore to be stable in that scenario. If you want to use it, you'll probably need to tune Vcore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •