Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Is AVX negative offset still bugged on Z370?

    Hi everyone

    I have just finished dialing in a 5Ghz overclock on my Maximus X Code and 8700k with an AVX offset of -1.

    I've just noticed that for some reason my AVX offset is coming on and off during games. When I run Prime95 26.6 the clock speed stays at 5Ghz, when I run Cinebench it stays at 5Ghz, but I've just started playing Overwatch and I can see it jumping between 4.9Ghz and 5Ghz constantly. This still occurs even when i set my power plan to High Performance in Windows 10. I remember this happening earlier in the year on my Maximus X Hero and reading that is was bugged at the time. As far as I know most games shouldn't be using AVX..

    Does anyone know how to fix this?

    I am on the latest BIOS for the MX Code. To see BIOS screenshots of my settings check out my other thread here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...Ghz-Overclock-)

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,869

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Hi everyone

    I have just finished dialing in a 5Ghz overclock on my Maximus X Code and 8700k with an AVX offset of -1.

    I've just noticed that for some reason my AVX offset is coming on and off during games. When I run Prime95 26.6 the clock speed stays at 5Ghz, when I run Cinebench it stays at 5Ghz, but I've just started playing Overwatch and I can see it jumping between 4.9Ghz and 5Ghz constantly. This still occurs even when i set my power plan to High Performance in Windows 10. I remember this happening earlier in the year on my Maximus X Hero and reading that is was bugged at the time. As far as I know most games shouldn't be using AVX..

    Does anyone know how to fix this?

    I am on the latest BIOS for the MX Code. To see BIOS screenshots of my settings check out my other thread here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...Ghz-Overclock-)

    Thanks!
    I'd be first asking Blizzard if anything in Overwatch makes use of the instruction set, because a lot of games these days actually do.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    I'd be first asking Blizzard if anything in Overwatch makes use of the instruction set, because a lot of games these days actually do.
    Oh for real?? Man I had no idea. The behavior of it is strange in the way it consistently switches between the two frequencies every second. I’ll try some other games and see if the same thing happens.

    There are quite a few threads online where this was mentioned as being a bug and that it does not occur on other architectures like skylake x. Thats what led me to believe this. But you could be right.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Well I've just tested CS:GO and Fortnite and the exact same thing is occurring. CS:GO seemed to trigger it less while Fortnite seems to trigger it more frequently. Would an old DX9 game like CS:GO really use AVX? I'm stumped.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    When we spoke to Intel about some of the AVX quirks, and there was one reply that stated a lot more applications use the code than people realize. Apparently, some Net Framework apps/utilities do, too. If apps like that are on the system, you may see the AVX ratio being enforced more frequently than expected.
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 07-06-2018 at 08:08 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Well I've just tested CS:GO and Fortnite and the exact same thing is occurring. CS:GO seemed to trigger it less while Fortnite seems to trigger it more frequently. Would an old DX9 game like CS:GO really use AVX? I'm stumped.
    Almost all games uses avx loads on some parts of the game, event World of Warcraft and older games so that is why it is jumping so frequent back and forth.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    When we spoke to Intel about some of the AVX quirks, and there was one reply that stated a lot more applications use the code than people realize. Apparently, some Net Framework apps/utilities do, too. If apps like that are on the system, you may see the AVX ratio being enforced more frequently than expected.
    Hmm interesting. Thanks for chiming in Raja. If that's the case it would certainly explain it. I'll try to dial in an overclock without AVX offset then, since it seems to be kicking in and out all the time. It would be great if I could set a minimum CPU load for the AVX offset to kick in, that way it wouldn't come on in games and other light CPU load tasks but still help with stability during heavy AVX loads.*

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    I've pitched some stuff to Intel about AVX offset, but it takes up to five years for features like this to be changed. It's a long process. They are aware of some of the limitations.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    233

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    I've pitched some stuff to Intel about AVX offset, but it takes up to five years for features like this to be changed. It's a long process. They are aware of some of the limitations.
    That's good to know. Hopefully we will see some improvements in the future. Tonight I was able to dial in a 5Ghz OC without AVX offset so that takes care of my issue for now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •