Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: PC wont boot up

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    PC wont boot up

    I had a new build last week consist of

    Cpu: ryzen 7 2700x
    Mobo: asus crosshair vii hero wifi
    gpu: 2x asus strix gtx 1080ti
    ram: g.skill trident z rgb 3200mhz 8gb x2
    psu: evga supernova p2 850w
    ssd: samsung 960 evo 250gb m2 nvem
    hdd: barracuda 3tb

    when i first install, i had the problem with Q-Led showing 58 and White Q-Led, so i did lot of random stuffs like remove cmos battery, remove all hardware, change ram positions and many things, that night it works, pc went fine, played some games for days

    a week later, same issue happening again, i didnt touch on bios configuration, everything as per default.

    so now the mobo stuck at Q-Code of 58 and Q-Led White

    whats the issue here

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Lightbringer PC Specs
    Lightbringer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime X370-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700x
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RBG F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX1080TI-O11G
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster Z
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q 68,6 cm
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO MZ-V6E500BW Internal Solid State Drive (500GB)
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 2TB SATA 2.5 Inch Solid State Drive - CT2050MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM
    CaseFractal Design Define r5
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-650KM3 X650 80 Plus Gold
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius 2
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro / ModMic
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Gaming Mouse Mat- Small (Speed Edition)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home Edition
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U AC1900 Black Diamond Dual-Band WLAN Router
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC68 PCIe WLAN Card

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenophic View Post
    I had a new build last week consist of

    Cpu: ryzen 7 2700x
    Mobo: asus crosshair vii hero wifi
    gpu: 2x asus strix gtx 1080ti
    ram: g.skill trident z rgb 3200mhz 8gb x2
    psu: evga supernova p2 850w
    ssd: samsung 960 evo 250gb m2 nvem
    hdd: barracuda 3tb

    when i first install, i had the problem with Q-Led showing 58 and White Q-Led, so i did lot of random stuffs like remove cmos battery, remove all hardware, change ram positions and many things, that night it works, pc went fine, played some games for days

    a week later, same issue happening again, i didnt touch on bios configuration, everything as per default.

    so now the mobo stuck at Q-Code of 58 and Q-Led White

    whats the issue here
    hi,


    could be lots of things.
    First thing i am seeing that your PSU might be a bit on the low side to fire 2 1080Ti's.

    can you try a different (stronger) PSU or remove 1 1080Ti?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightbringer View Post
    hi,


    could be lots of things.
    First thing i am seeing that your PSU might be a bit on the low side to fire 2 1080Ti's.

    can you try a different (stronger) PSU or remove 1 1080Ti?

    I did, same thing.

    I even tried my old card gtx 780, still same issue

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Can you drop a dump of your bios settings?


    Also, since you have so much options to swap out stuff try eliminating hardware problems. Run with one 1080ti for a little while, and then swap to the other one once proven. Run with one memory stick, also in different slots.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    Can you drop a dump of your bios settings?


    Also, since you have so much options to swap out stuff try eliminating hardware problems. Run with one 1080ti for a little while, and then swap to the other one once proven. Run with one memory stick, also in different slots.

    How can i see bios ? Pc wont even boot up, no display, stuck at POST.

    I sent the pc to local shop for them to figure out

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenophic View Post

    a week later, same issue happening again, i didnt touch on bios configuration, everything as per default.

    so now the mobo stuck at Q-Code of 58 and Q-Led White

    whats the issue here
    Your original post gave me the impression it was an erratic problem. Because you said "a week later". I assumed that you had it working for a little while.

    Qcode 58 is CPU initialisation failure. You would most likely get this error with all other hardware removed, since it is early on the boot priority sequence.

    The only fix is check your CPU for bent pins, security etc.

    Reflash the bios using a safe flashback method. That means remove all components from the board. Remove the power cable. Reset bios to default by removing the Cmos battery for five minutes with the power cable out. Flashback one time, and reset bios to defaults by removing the battery
    again
    . Flashback a second time.

    If this did not cure your issue then it is a board RMA.

    I can see you have thrown it back to the shop anyways. This was just for information only.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    Your original post gave me the impression it was an erratic problem. Because you said "a week later". I assumed that you had it working for a little while.

    Qcode 58 is CPU initialisation failure. You would most likely get this error with all other hardware removed, since it is early on the boot priority sequence.

    The only fix is check your CPU for bent pins, security etc.

    Reflash the bios using a safe flashback method. That means remove all components from the board. Remove the power cable. Reset bios to default by removing the Cmos battery for five minutes with the power cable out. Flashback one time, and reset bios to defaults by removing the battery
    again
    . Flashback a second time.

    If this did not cure your issue then it is a board RMA.

    I can see you have thrown it back to the shop anyways. This was just for information only.

    Will try that method cause that was what i did the first time when it didnt work, then it works for a week before it happens again, then i just sent to shop but unlucky they dont have ryzen board to test the cpu but they confirmed gpu and ram is healthy, so i taking the pc back

    will update again

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    Your original post gave me the impression it was an erratic problem. Because you said "a week later". I assumed that you had it working for a little while.

    Qcode 58 is CPU initialisation failure. You would most likely get this error with all other hardware removed, since it is early on the boot priority sequence.

    The only fix is check your CPU for bent pins, security etc.

    Reflash the bios using a safe flashback method. That means remove all components from the board. Remove the power cable. Reset bios to default by removing the Cmos battery for five minutes with the power cable out. Flashback one time, and reset bios to defaults by removing the battery
    again
    . Flashback a second time.

    If this did not cure your issue then it is a board RMA.

    I can see you have thrown it back to the shop anyways. This was just for information only.
    No luck even i flashback using old and latest firmware also cannot work

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenophic View Post
    No luck even i flashback using old and latest firmware also cannot work
    I had similar issues with a CH6 when they were first released. That is the advice I received from their tech support. This advice has been repeated on a few forums now also.

    I would contact Asus tech support. If you explain what you have done, and what errors you are receiving, they should advice you to RMA the board and the CPU. It could be either of those two. My money would be on a bad board, since all the posts I have read regarding that error have pointed to the board.

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Check for bent pins and/or PCB corners on CPU curled up from too much torque on heat sink mounting screws.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •