Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The memory controller on your CPU might not be 100% or the board or maybe it's simply the mixing kits..hard to tell but the fact thatt some slots work better than others is a little disquieting...though recommended slots are recommended for a reason..

    Windows memory test is pretty useless AFAIK. Try something like https://www.techpowerup.com/232536/t...within-windows maybe... or HCI memtest which is free too but a bit of a pain to set up so it tests sufficient memory...

    This is my goto RAM tester but you have to pay https://www.karhusoftware.com/ramtest/
    Got the RAM tester as well. Paid the 12 bucks for the license, no biggy. No errors on 1 kit after an hour of testing. I know I should prob go longer, but I want to make sure each kit has 100% coverage at a minimum then I'll put in all 4 sticks, try some tuning and see what happens. I know 3066 was stable. I'll try to loosen timings and go from there for 3200 and adjust some voltages like the SA you mentioned (if I can find it).

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Another update: both kits have 0 errors in slots 2 and 4 at 3200 speeds.

    With 4 sticks in, I got to 3200 and was able to boot to windows and run cinebench with 18-19-19-19-39 timings, but it was slower than 3066 with tighter timings in terms of the DRAM Efficiency Score and cinebench score.

    Using RAM tester it's finding errors on all the speeds I choose when 4 slots are populated. I haven't tried default 2133 speed with 4 sticks yet though with Ram tester yet, so that's next.

    What do the errors ultimately mean? instability? I don't think it's bad ram since when just 2 sticks are in there are no errors. Is this telling that the memory controller might be to blame?

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Looks like a good start if each kit works at 3200 without errors on slots 2 and 4. As expected.

    Check out the link in this post for some tips: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge2#post727046

    That poster on OCN got essentially the same kits as you have, tuned up to 3333. You could try them as a start, though no guarantees that their settings will work for your setup exactly. For one thing they're on C6H.

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    New update: Stock settings (2133 and CL15)

    Ramtester reports 0 errors. And Cinebench runs fine with the added bonus of somehow running 40 points faster than 3200 with looser timings or even 3066 with tighter timings.

    I assume it's because there were 0 errors at 2133 versus errors aplenty (5 in all found via RamTester at 100%).

    @Gorpo, that thread you linked is to another ROG thread, and I didn't see any specific links to Overclock.net (I assume this is OCN). But I could be blind.

    If I need to tinker with SOC or SA voltage when going with 3200 14-14-14-14-34 (everything else auto), I really don't know how. I don't see SA voltages or its other name VCCSA in the bios and with SOC, I'm unsure how to approach it as there are OFFSET options or manual and I don't even know what to set that at except maybe 0.900

    I'll post an image of the bios and maybe someone can point it out to me.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68


  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Thanks man!

    ANother update: RAM is at 3000 speed, 14-14-14-14-34 and 1.35. Cinebench score is highest yet and 0 errors on RAM Test so far (almost 100%)

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by Sedare View Post
    Thanks man!

    ANother update: RAM is at 3000 speed, 14-14-14-14-34 and 1.35. Cinebench score is highest yet and 0 errors on RAM Test so far (almost 100%)
    sSave those settings to a bios save slot. be sure it is running at 2T (command rate = 2) and increase the ram freq to 3200 (with 1.4V VDIMM. Leave VSA on Auto. If it fails to post... try pinging "The Stilt" at OCN - AMD ram guru. mixed kits at that density on any ryzen board is gonna require tweaking to train and be stable.

    and: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...ng-thread.html

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    sSave those settings to a bios save slot. be sure it is running at 2T (command rate = 2) and increase the ram freq to 3200 (with 1.4V VDIMM. Leave VSA on Auto. If it fails to post... try pinging "The Stilt" at OCN - AMD ram guru. mixed kits at that density on any ryzen board is gonna require tweaking to train and be stable.

    and: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...ng-thread.html
    Thanks! I'll save those settings and set it to 2T. Hopefully I can find that setting easy enough. I'll get back to the post with results.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sedare PC Specs
    Sedare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR (4 sticks)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 970 HOF
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster X7 (external Amp/DAC)
    MonitorACER XB270HU 27" G-Sync Monitor
    Storage #1WD Black 500GB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB NVMe PCI-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB C6H Monoblock
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Brown Switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Senheiser GSP600
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers E-MU XM7 Bookshelf Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87R
    Sedare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    sSave those settings to a bios save slot. be sure it is running at 2T (command rate = 2) and increase the ram freq to 3200 (with 1.4V VDIMM. Leave VSA on Auto. If it fails to post... try pinging "The Stilt" at OCN - AMD ram guru. mixed kits at that density on any ryzen board is gonna require tweaking to train and be stable.

    and: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...ng-thread.html
    Welp. I set it to 3200. Could boot. Could run Cinebench without crash. Ran Ram Test and before it even hit 10% had 9 errors.

    Cinebench score was only marginally better than at 3000. I wonder if I leave it at 3000 and tighten timings if things will be a bit better? Unsure.

  10. #30
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,442

    Quote Originally Posted by Sedare View Post
    with SOC, I'm unsure how to approach it as there are OFFSET options or manual and I don't even know what to set that at except maybe 0.900
    Sorry...my fault maybe I mentioned that with my Intel head on...the CPU SOC voltage is what you want to look at...it's like the uncore voltage...for memory controller and PCIe controller etc.

    If the board is setting 0.900v maybe try increasing that a bit to 1.0v or 1.05 or 1.1...set manually for now

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •