Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array kmapes PC Specs
    kmapes PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade Stealth, MBA11, MBA13
    MotherboardAsus X299 Prime Deluxe
    Processor7800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3200
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080tu
    MonitorAsus ROG
    Storage #1Crucial MX500
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115 Pro
    CaseInwin 909
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse Razer
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    kmapes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry Weird SATA issue on Asus x299 mobo

    I have an Asus x299 Prime Deluxe. Not a huge fan of white, and despite white being a prominent color on this motherboard, I absolutely love this board's aesthetic and features. However, I have had nothing but SATA issues with this board. No where in the manual does it say that any SATA ports will be disabled due to M.2 socket being used, etc. So here is the issue:

    The first SATA port, #1 has a Samsung 850 Evo. #2 is a Crucial SSD. Both of these SSD's are 500Gb and for OS installs. 1 for Win, and 1 for messing around on Linux. The other SATA ports have another Samsung1TB SSD, and 2 miscellaneous hard drives. I also have a Samsung M.2 850 Evo installed on the horizontal M.2 NVMe slot.

    HERE IS THE PROBLEM: For some reason, SATA port 1 isn't recognized in the boot configuration menu in the BIOS. I tried another SATA data cable and SATA power cable to no avail. If I swap the Crucial and Samsung drives between ports, whatever drive is in #1 does not show. In the BIOS/UEFI when I go to the "BOOT" menu (Boot Option Priorities) Boot Option #1 is the "M1" drive, my M.2 SSD. Boot Option #2 is the SATA #2 drive which is lists as "P2." All of the SATA ports are prefixed with "P" in the BIOS. If I put the Crucial in #1 and Samsung in #2, the Samsung shows and vice versa.

    NOTE: LOOK CAREFULLY AT THE ADVANCED BIOS PICS. In the BIOS/UEFI settings under the "ADVANCED" menu. Whatever is the physical #2 drive (Sata port #2 or SATA6G_2) is listed as SATA 1 and so on. Every drive is offset by 1 going down. However this is where it's confusing. SATA6G_1 is listed as the Samsung M.2 (but has no enable/disable option) and then SATA6G_1 is listed again as whatever drive I have in the physical SATA#2 port. Whatever drive is in SATA#1 Port doesn't show anywhere.


    Anyway, haven't been able to figure this out. Both drives are working, tested the cables and power, and the manual makes no mention of SATA ports being disabled under basic settings. Running ACHI and no RAID. Any thoughts, ideas or anecdotes? Thanks!

    So check out the pics. I did swap out the SATA data and power cables to test SSDs, but here is how SATA Ports 1-7 are setup & configured.

    1) Samsung SSD 512GB (tried in port#2)
    2) Crucial SSD 500GB (tried in port#1)
    3) Samsung SSD 1TB
    4) Hitachi HD 2TB
    5) WD HD 4TB
    6) Empty
    7) Empty

    I moved all drives down one port from 2-6, and got this warning in pic #1. If I move them each down a port, same thing happens. However, this time, SATA Port #2 which I installed my first physical drive on with the Crucial SSD is not recognized.



    PIc #2 Below you can see SATA Port #1 doesn't show up. The initial boot drive is SATA port #2, labels in the BIOS as "P2."



    Pic#3 SATA16G_1 is listed twice. First it is recognized and listed as the M2 drive. Look below. The first physical SATA6G_1 drive is the Samsung 500GB SSD in Sata Port #1. However it is not "configurable." There are no options next to it. The first SATA6G_1 that is actually in the BIOS is SATA Port #2's drive, the Crucial SSD.





    Under this second set of pics, I tried moving each of the SATA drives down a port. So here is how SATA Ports 1-7 are setup & configured. Physically, SATA ports 3-7 are occupied.

    3) Samsung SSD 512GB (tried in port#2)
    4) Crucial SSD 500GB (tried in port#1)
    5) Samsung SSD 1TB
    6) Hitachi HD 2TB
    7) WD HD 4TB

    NOTE- SATA PORT #'s
    1) Empty
    2) Empty

    Now, the Crucial drive doesn't show, and the Port#'2 in the BIOS don't match with the physical drives and their physical SATA port #'s.









    Last edited by kmapes; 07-12-2018 at 04:08 AM. Reason: Added pics, fixed typos, & cleaned up description.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Have you tried populating only that port? Then add one aat a time until it fails.

  3. #3
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    enny raid going?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array kmapes PC Specs
    kmapes PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade Stealth, MBA11, MBA13
    MotherboardAsus X299 Prime Deluxe
    Processor7800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3200
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080tu
    MonitorAsus ROG
    Storage #1Crucial MX500
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115 Pro
    CaseInwin 909
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse Razer
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    kmapes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Have you tried populating only that port? Then add one aat a time until it fails.
    That's a good idea. Same thing. If I put a drive in SATA Port#1, it is not recognized.

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    enny raid going?
    No. Just ACHI.
    Last edited by kmapes; 07-11-2018 at 03:20 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array kmapes PC Specs
    kmapes PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade Stealth, MBA11, MBA13
    MotherboardAsus X299 Prime Deluxe
    Processor7800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3200
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080tu
    MonitorAsus ROG
    Storage #1Crucial MX500
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115 Pro
    CaseInwin 909
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse Razer
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    kmapes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry Grrrrrr

    No love still. Running latest BIOS, 1401. AHCI enabled, and RAID is off. The M.2 socket only affects the U.2 port. Something must be wonky with the actual board.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array MENINBLK PC Specs
    MENINBLK PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE V EDITION 10 1902 BIOS
    ProcessorCore i7-5960X @ 4.4 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-2400C15Q-32GRK X 2 = 64GB (8x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti AERO 11GB OC
    Graphics Card #2none
    Graphics Card #3none
    Graphics Card #4none
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 PURE WHITE
    MonitorSAMSUNG 32" UN32EH5000 LCD TV
    Storage #1WDC WDS100T3XHC-00SJG0 1TB SSD w/EKWB BLACK Heatsink
    Storage #2WDC BLACK WD4005FZBX 4TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEKWB RVE10 RGB MONOBLOCK
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series™ 760T Full-Tower Windowed Case Black
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Corsair Vengence K70 CH-9000520-NA
    Mouse CM Storm Sentinel ZERO G
    Headset Sennheiser HD565 OVATION
    Mouse Pad HYPERX FURY MOUSE MAT
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs GIGAWORKS 5.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64 v1809
    Network Routerpfsense
    Accessory #1 APC Back-UPS PRO 1500 S
    MENINBLK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Is it possible that when you install an M.2 NVME card that the BIOS disables SATA6G_1 automatically because the board can only have either 1 M.2, SATA_1 or U.2 ?
    If no combinations of these are accepted, maybe its because they all electronically share the same PCIe lanes ???
    If you empty the M.2 socket, does the SATA6G_1 detect a connected drive again ?

    I think because the Samsung Evo 850 M.2 drive is a SATA SSD drive, the board will disable SATA6G_1 automatically.
    If you had an M.2 NVME SSD plugged in, it would not use the SATA controller and maybe not disable SATA6G_1.
    Last edited by MENINBLK; 07-20-2018 at 08:40 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •