Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 102
  1. #91
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1801
    Processor8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.36v -@manual vcore- delided + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)F4-3000-Cl-14-16GTZR @ 4000 mhz cl 17-19-19-38 vccio =1.215 Vcssa=1.215
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080ti foundeers @ 1911 mhz @ 0.950v curve
    Sound CardMotherboard realtec
    MonitorAsus Pg279q -27 inch 165 hz - 1440p -gysnc
    Storage #1intel 600p -512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU Coolerthermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec g710s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth -large
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 home theater
    OS windows 10-1809 x64
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    209

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Delliding the chip..with TG liquid metal ..add ..TG Kryonaut paste to chip / heatsink plus a push / pull configuration with the Gentle Typhoons will definitely drop those temps....
    I know...I have that combo with a XSPC 360 rad...could not be happier !!.....that is until 9900k arrives and I move on to that chip...
    im happy with temps i used thermal grizzly counductnought under the ihs and on top , with a rockit cool 88 pure copper ihs ( 2- 4 c ) .

    this is just temporary till i get my dubble 360 rad set up then might try 5.3 .

    so far after 8 days of 5.2 ghz @ 1.392v - 1 avx ram @ 4k cl-17 not one whea error has poped up on me in event viewer .
    - ( yes i watched for whea errors when i ran prime 95 / real bench ) some times they can pop up later on .

    yeah i cant wait for the 9900k ! lets just hope to get 5.0 ghz under 1.38v is common with the 9900k and not a 10 % chance ..... if they are a real bad over clocker i might stick with 5.2 - 5.3 on the 8700k so ill wait to see some over clocking reports / forums posts on it before i pop .

  2. #92
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I just got my Maximus X Hero installed and up and running the other day. I see that it has bios version 0802, is it worth it to update the bios, any benefits?

    Thanks

  3. #93
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    208

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekAz View Post
    I just got my Maximus X Hero installed and up and running the other day. I see that it has bios version 0802, is it worth it to update the bios, any benefits?

    Thanks
    Your BIOS is OLD. There are many security and stability improvements in newer BIOS. The best advice is : " always update to the latest BIOS "....no matter what others will say. There is a reason why ASUS releases new bios. It's not for fun. You will see a lot saying that BIOS 1602 is not "better" than the previous BIOS. But no one said it would be "better" or a game changer. But there are improvements and new features....always! New Bios will also improve compability with new hardware, system stability and security. You just can't measure new BIOS in Bencmarks. Bencmarks belong to CPU, RAM, HDD, GPU (Games) NOT BIOS!

  4. #94
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by emsir View Post
    Your BIOS is OLD. There are many security and stability improvements in newer BIOS. The best advice is : " always update to the latest BIOS "....no matter what others will say. There is a reason why ASUS releases new bios. It's not for fun. You will see a lot saying that BIOS 1602 is not "better" than the previous BIOS. But no one said it would be "better" or a game changer. But there are improvements and new features....always! New Bios will also improve compability with new hardware, system stability and security. You just can't measure new BIOS in Bencmarks. Bencmarks belong to CPU, RAM, HDD, GPU (Games) NOT BIOS!
    Thanks....

  5. #95
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux Xi Extremme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by G_A_B_O_ View Post
    PS: ASUS doesnt even have an updated instructions on renaming the .CAP file, and when i called the people who do tech support, they didnt know that either.
    I know this is an old post, but ASUS does include the information for renaming the BIOS file for the Maximus X mobos. I found it in the user manual. FOr the Hero, the file is renamed to M10H.CAP. It's strange that the tech folks you called didn't know this?
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 09-24-2018 at 04:37 PM.

  6. #96
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux Xi Extremme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by emsir View Post
    There are many security and stability improvements in newer BIOS. The best advice is : " always update to the latest BIOS "....no matter what others will say. There is a reason why ASUS releases new bios. It's not for fun. You will see a lot saying that BIOS 1602 is not "better" than the previous BIOS. But no one said it would be "better" or a game changer. But there are improvements and new features....always! New Bios will also improve compability with new hardware, system stability and security. You just can't measure new BIOS in Bencmarks. Bencmarks belong to CPU, RAM, HDD, GPU (Games) NOT BIOS!
    I am really hoping that is was shere coincidence that just a few hours after I upgraded the BIOS from 1503 to 1602 my i7 8700K died after leaving my system on all night with just the browser opened and coming back to it in the morning to a non responsive system. Rebooting only gave Q-Code 00 with CPU orange LED lit just beneath the Q-Code readout. It is the first time that a CPU died on me. I got a replacement from the store I got it from after they tested it to confirm it was not getting past POST.

    Also I couldn't run the i7 8700K stable at 5GHz with the same Vcore as I did in BIOS 1503 and 1401. I had to up the voltage by .5 V to run stable @ 5GHz. And another thing, I can not run the RAM a t1 like I was able to with 1401, only t2.

    With this, it does have an impact on some benchmarks and definitely in real world use.

    I am not saying that everyone should stay clear from 1602, I am running it on my new i7 8086k without any issue so far [fingers Xed]. Just saying as it is and as I said before l am hoping it was just coincidence and not some glitch with the Mobo due to the new BIOS 1602 or otherwise.
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 09-24-2018 at 04:42 PM.

  7. #97
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1801
    Processor8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.36v -@manual vcore- delided + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)F4-3000-Cl-14-16GTZR @ 4000 mhz cl 17-19-19-38 vccio =1.215 Vcssa=1.215
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080ti foundeers @ 1911 mhz @ 0.950v curve
    Sound CardMotherboard realtec
    MonitorAsus Pg279q -27 inch 165 hz - 1440p -gysnc
    Storage #1intel 600p -512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU Coolerthermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec g710s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth -large
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 home theater
    OS windows 10-1809 x64
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    209

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    I am really hoping that is was shere coincidence that just a few hours after I upgraded the BIOS from 1503 to 1602 my i7 8700K died after leaving my system on all night with just the browser opened and coming back to it in the morning to a non responsive system. Rebooting only gave Q-Code 00 with CPU orange LED lit just beneath the Q-Code readout. It is the first time that a CPU died on me. I got a replacement from the store I got it from after they tested it to confirm it was not getting past POST.

    Also I couldn't run the i7 8700K stable at 5GHz with the same Vcore as I did in BIOS 1503 and 1401. I had to up the voltage by .5 V to run stable @ 5GHz. And another thing, I can not run the RAM a t1 like I was able to with 1401, only t2.

    With this, it does have an impact on some benchmarks and definitely in real world use.

    I am not saying that everyone should stay clear from 1602, I am running it on my new i7 8086k without any issue so far [fingers Xed]. Just saying as it is and as I said before l am hoping it was just coincidence and not some glitch with the Mobo due to the new BIOS 1602 or otherwise.
    same here im on my 3rd 8700k first one lastes 9 months , 2nd died in 2 weeks , 3rd one is doing ok now volts are fine other components tested at computer shop all checks out dono what the f ....

  8. #98
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux Xi Extremme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    same here im on my 3rd 8700k first one lastes 9 months , 2nd died in 2 weeks , 3rd one is doing ok now volts are fine other components tested at computer shop all checks out dono what the f ....
    That's a lot of CPUs to go through in such a short time man!! The lad at the store where I purchased mine from who replaced it, said that there have been a large number of dead 8700K being returned... so... it's not an isolated thing.

    He didn't say which motherboards were used with those returned CPUs and I doubt the he would know because he never asked what my mobo was, and I never thought of telling him. So I can not say if some makes or models are possibly killing 8700k more than others?

  9. #99
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1801
    Processor8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.36v -@manual vcore- delided + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)F4-3000-Cl-14-16GTZR @ 4000 mhz cl 17-19-19-38 vccio =1.215 Vcssa=1.215
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080ti foundeers @ 1911 mhz @ 0.950v curve
    Sound CardMotherboard realtec
    MonitorAsus Pg279q -27 inch 165 hz - 1440p -gysnc
    Storage #1intel 600p -512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU Coolerthermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec g710s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth -large
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 home theater
    OS windows 10-1809 x64
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    209

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    That's a lot of CPUs to go through in such a short time man!! The lad at the store where I purchased mine from who replaced it, said that there have been a large number of dead 8700K being returned... so... it's not an isolated thing.

    He didn't say which motherboards were used with those returned CPUs and I doubt the he would know because he never asked what my mobo was, and I never thought of telling him. So I can not say if some makes or models are possibly killing 8700k more than others?
    ya this is my 3rd 8700k this one is ton bette then the first 8700k i got on launch .

    1st 8700k from september 2017 needed 1.37v for 5 ghz delided
    2nd 8700k july 2018 neded 1.26v for 5 ghz , 5.1 ghz @1.33v , 5.2 ghz @1.405 v
    3rd 8700k from september 2018 5 ghz needs 1.275v , 5.1 gzh needs 1.34v , 5.2 ghz needs 1.41v

    3rd one seems to be ok right now ram is @ 4000 mhz vccio 1.22 vcssa 1.22v i have it as 5.1 ghz @ 1.344v so nothing anywhere is stupid high volts temps are in check to .

    im starting to think its a over tightning of the cpu cooler tbh man . jjust a little to tight ( little bit ) on the cpu heat sync on the die she gets constant power offs and freezes ( 1st and 2nd one ) so i went 3 less turns on all 4 mounting screws . maybee the 8700k die is super senesitive to presure ?

  10. #100
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    ya this is my 3rd 8700k this one is ton bette then the first 8700k i got on launch .

    1st 8700k from september 2017 needed 1.37v for 5 ghz delided
    2nd 8700k july 2018 neded 1.26v for 5 ghz , 5.1 ghz @1.33v , 5.2 ghz @1.405 v
    3rd 8700k from september 2018 5 ghz needs 1.275v , 5.1 gzh needs 1.34v , 5.2 ghz needs 1.41v

    3rd one seems to be ok right now ram is @ 4000 mhz vccio 1.22 vcssa 1.22v i have it as 5.1 ghz @ 1.344v so nothing anywhere is stupid high volts temps are in check to .

    im starting to think its a over tightning of the cpu cooler tbh man . jjust a little to tight ( little bit ) on the cpu heat sync on the die she gets constant power offs and freezes ( 1st and 2nd one ) so i went 3 less turns on all 4 mounting screws . maybee the 8700k die is super senesitive to presure ?
    Hello!

    It's incredible how many cpu's are dying on you dude! But i'm worriyng about mine now, because the symptoms you describe are starting to happen to my PC.
    Computer is freezing at random moments, sometimes when making h.265 encoding, other times just web browsing, but the weird part is that it was stable the last 6 months..

    This are my specs:
    8700K (Undervolted) Stock TIM
    SVID: Best Case Scenario
    Offset: -0.050v
    Corsair LPX 3000MHZ XMP ON
    VCCSA: 1.050v
    VCCIO: 1.0v
    I tweaked the VCCSA/VCCIO values because the motherboard values where crazy high (1.152v/1.344v) respectively.
    Maximus X Hero (No WIFI) Bios 1604

    This is the troubleshooting that i did so far:
    * Brought back the cpu to stock settings and it still crashed (even with SVID on auto)
    *Turn off XMP and keept the cpu at stock settings and it didn't crash (yet)
    But i was looking at my bios screen and suddenly freezed with those settings
    * Today i updated to bios 1704. Trying that today.

    Don't know what the problem could be to be honest. Is it CPU? RAM? Motherboard?
    It's freaking me out really.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •