Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 49 of 49
  1. #41
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Show Internet Disconnected but everything works.

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    - [WAN] Improved mechanism for internet connection detection
    Hi, can you explain how this feature works? I have the latest firmware and while I DO have internet connection and everything functions well, it continues to fail the internet connection test and shows "Internet status: Disconnected" on the Network Map page.

    It isnt affecting any functionality that I can tell other that I cannot submit feedback from the router as that page says "require and internet connection". Here are some log exerpts, which mostly seem VPN related.

    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA
    Aug 3 13:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: TLS: soft reset sec=0 bytes=8083/0 pkts=118/0
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA
    Aug 3 14:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: TLS: tls_process: killed expiring key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA

    I have tried disabling the VPN client, but that had no effect. VPN connects just fine.

    The only impact seems to be the in ability to submit feedback... oh and its annoying me.

    Regards,
    TSD

  2. #42
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by TecScubaDad View Post
    Hi, can you explain how this feature works? I have the latest firmware and while I DO have internet connection and everything functions well, it continues to fail the internet connection test and shows "Internet status: Disconnected" on the Network Map page.

    It isnt affecting any functionality that I can tell other that I cannot submit feedback from the router as that page says "require and internet connection". Here are some log exerpts, which mostly seem VPN related.

    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 12:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA
    Aug 3 13:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: TLS: soft reset sec=0 bytes=8083/0 pkts=118/0
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 13:41:10 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA
    Aug 3 14:41:09 vpnclient1[18986]: TLS: tls_process: killed expiring key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1590'
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: WARNING: 'tun-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='tun-mtu 1500', remote='tun-mtu 1532'
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Encrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Cipher 'AES-256-CBC' initialized with 256 bit key
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Data Channel Decrypt: Using 160 bit message hash 'SHA1' for HMAC authentication
    Aug 3 14:41:11 vpnclient1[18986]: Control Channel: TLSv1, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA, 2048 bit RSA

    I have tried disabling the VPN client, but that had no effect. VPN connects just fine.

    The only impact seems to be the in ability to submit feedback... oh and its annoying me.

    Regards,
    TSD
    We'll have to wait awhile and see if Internet Status becomes disconnected on the Network Map page, currently it is showing 'connected'.

    Are you trying to submit feedback on this page?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Router Feedback.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	92.0 KB 
ID:	75048

    When you have submitted it, this is what you should see.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Thanks for your feedback.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	29.4 KB 
ID:	75049

  3. #43
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    For the following symptoms, try rebooting the router and change to a different VPN server (location).
    1. Slow GUI.
    2. Internet connection issues.
    3. VPN Fusion instability.

  4. #44
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    new firmeware went out to RT-AC68U. when will it come to this router?

  5. #45
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by chris k View Post
    Totally agree. The GT could be a beast if it was stable and running Merlin's firmware but yes, all the gimmicky stuff would have to go before he might consider making firmware for it. Maybe Asus could make a new fork in the firmware something like a lite version without all the unnecessary things. Hell, it might make their jobs easier in fixing the stability issues. I really hope that they think things through BEFORE they release the ax routers.
    Are you guys still having stability issues? If necessary, we can set up the remote log server for debugging.

  6. #46
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberlipe View Post
    new firmeware went out to RT-AC68U. when will it come to this router?
    Did you try "Restore" as suggested?
    Are you using VPN or VPN Fusion?
    The new firmware was released just last month.

  7. #47
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Did you try "Restore" as suggested?
    Are you using VPN or VPN Fusion?
    The new firmware was released just last month.
    I'm not using anything related to VPN.
    Yes. I did try restore as suggested.

    In essence my router has been unused in the shelf for 40 days plus.

    It won't connect all client, slugissh, unresponsive.
    Can't turn on any qos or traffic monitoring or anything like that.


    Is there a firmware coming to address's stability?

  8. #48
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberlipe View Post
    I'm not using anything related to VPN.
    Yes. I did try restore as suggested.

    In essence my router has been unused in the shelf for 40 days plus.

    It won't connect all client, slugissh, unresponsive.
    Can't turn on any qos or traffic monitoring or anything like that.


    Is there a firmware coming to address's stability?
    Do you mind if we debug remotely?
    Are you saying QoS and traffic monitoring can't be enabled at all? Or that they cause issues when enabled?
    Did you try to find the least congested Control Channel in your area?
    What clients cannot connect?
    Are you using a wireless connection to access the web UI?

  9. #49
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    New firmware now available for manual download. Please go to the thread below:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-if-any-issues

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •