Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    HERO X - 8700k does not go to basic speed (always 5 Ghz(

    Hi, I have an ASUS Maximus Hero X, overclocked my CPU to 5 Ghz in Adaptive Mode.
    In idle my cpu is always on 5 Ghz and not goes down.
    Someone know why?
    I have Asus MultiCore Enhancement disabled.
    Windows 10 Power Profile is not the problem.
    My Bios settings are in attachement.
    Archivos Adjuntos

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    no way am I going to download a zip file that could have anything on it..................unzip it and put it all in the post

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    125

    Quote Originally Posted by will_s View Post
    no way am I going to download a zip file that could have anything on it..................unzip it and put it all in the post
    Stop being paranoid, there's nothing wrong with the Zip file I've ran scans on it with MWB and Defender.
    Last edited by no1yak; 07-16-2018 at 02:16 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    366

    Having your power plan set to 'balanced' should take care of that for you. If not then it's likely that your Windows 10 image is somehow corrupted.
    Go to Start > type cmd > launch Command Prompt as an Admin
    Type the following commands and hit Enter: After it completes the image cleanup restart the machine and see if that fixes the issue.

    DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Stop being paranoid, there's nothing wrong with the Zip file I've ran scans on it with MWB and Defender.
    I dont have any security problems on my system and that's due not to downloading files from people that I do not know

    Its a simple method and pretty good

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Atifan View Post
    Hi, I have an ASUS Maximus Hero X, overclocked my CPU to 5 Ghz in Adaptive Mode.
    In idle my cpu is always on 5 Ghz and not goes down.
    Someone know why?
    I have Asus MultiCore Enhancement disabled.
    Windows 10 Power Profile is not the problem.
    My Bios settings are in attachement.
    Sounds like you have your windows 10 power profile on high performance rather than balanced. Coming from the 5930k which I always used to leave my power profile at High performance, it doesn't work like that on this platform. You must use balanced.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •