Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Asus X299 Extreme Dimm.2 Support 2x Drives

    Hi All

    Ive been using the Asus X299 extreme with the Dimm.2 riser and one samsung evo M.2 Drive

    Now i bought a second M.2 drive today just for extra storage, ive put it in the second dimm.2 M.2 space as i cannot access the second m.2 slot at the bottom of the motherboard due to my graphics card covering the slot.

    Does anyone have any advice on what needs to be set in bios to get both drives showing.

    The cpu im using is the 7820x

    Any help appreciated.

    Ive tried all settings possible and it still wont show, both m.2 leds are lit red so its showing on the dimm.2

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Just read this, i assume its why its not showing up ?

    From manual
    "28 lane cpus do not support pcie 8_4 and m.2_2(dimm.2)"

    I guess i will have to put it in the m.2 slot under the gpus, this is going to be difficult as theres 2x watercooled gpus above, gonna have to drain the system to fit it, unless theres a work around to get the dimm.2 working with the 7820x

  3. #3
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    pull both gpu's at once as long as there is some one that can help you with it.
    just be as carefull as you can when doing so, pull all power to the system!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Problem ive got its hard tube

    So theres no way to lift them off the board

    Im going to have to drain the loop to take them out.

    Pretty much same layout as the pic below.

    http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...0d-15Large.jpg
    Last edited by flamemc; 07-21-2018 at 10:27 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    262

    Ahhh, the life of a hard tuber.
    I became lazy and gave all my tubed stuff to my son. Bought a Vega 64 Liquid and put a NZXT AIO on the 7900X. Not as pretty but, it's quiet.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Rob W. PC Specs
    Rob W. PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Asus Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7980x Oc 4.6ghz 24/7
    Memory (part number)64 gb GSkill 3600mhz (8x8) 15,15,15,35
    Graphics Card #1nvidia Titan V + ekwb custom loop
    Graphics Card #2nvidia RTX 2080Ti on air.
    Sound Cardonboard?
    MonitorIAsus PA329Q 4k 32"
    Storage #1samsung SSD 960 EVO 250 GB. M2 nvme
    Storage #2Samsung ssd 970 evo 500gb m2 nvme
    CPU CoolerEKwb custom loop
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i 1200w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 orion spark
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus core
    OS Win 10
    Network Routerbt infinity super fast.
    Accessory #1 Seagate Barracuda 2 TB HDD
    Accessory #2 Aqeuaro 6xt fan controller
    Accessory #3 Intel Optane 280gb

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    501

    Nightmare time as I see it,lol.
    I need to drain my dual loops just to install temp sensors and been dreading it ( again) *Even
    though it’s soft tube,, it may not look as nice but I’m realising the benefits,
    Wishing you luck. flamemc

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,852

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob W. View Post
    Nightmare time as I see it,lol.
    I need to drain my dual loops just to install temp sensors and been dreading it ( again) *Even
    though it’s soft tube,, it may not look as nice but I’m realising the benefits,
    Wishing you luck. flamemc
    There's not much advantage to soft tubing *unless* one is using it in tandem with quick disconnect fittings. This means it's possible to remove any one component without having to drain the loop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •