Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,710

    Quote Originally Posted by Denna View Post
    Is there a known issue of a recent Windows 10 Update that causes spontaneous reboots on a system that didn't have them before.

    After connecting the PC to the Internet to download a Steam game, I later noticed that Windows 10 had downloaded a large update - possibly Windows 1803.

    Whenever I start a game like Batman Arkham City or even Windows 10 Solitaire, after about 30 seconds, the screen goes black and the PC reboots.

    This doesn't happen in any other type of program like browsers, office apps, File Explorer, etc.

    Updating to the latest Nvidia GPU driver 398.x doesn't correct the rebooting.

    The PC was running without problems for years.

    I've reseated the GPU and memory modules, tried one of the two memory modules at a time, but the reboots persist.

    Sound familiar ?

    yes it sound familiar. Please check if you are running latest bios and main drivers. (intel ime and chipset and AMD chipset. and DO NOT USE programs to make these. go to you motherboard webpage and download from there) We get some issues like that. One and most common a bad windows iso (download from unknown places, lets call these like that) A fix of windows does not make it. a clean install is a most and iso from MS. You can use rufus (gdp and uefi). Issues with PSU does not manifest like that. and much less blowing the rams. Drop any changes on the BIOS and check the info up. I see these thinks on my community (do nott asK)

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array Lu_GRU PC Specs
    Lu_GRU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x299 Prime Deluxe
    Processori9-7900X
    Memory (part number)32GB GSKIL CL14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti
    Storage #1NVME Samsung
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    OS Windows 10 Pro, Debian

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    49

    I think that simplest way to detect if this is Windows issue is to just run Live Linux from USB drive and run some GPU benchmarks / open source games (Open Arena?) without VSYNC to stress GPU. If PC reboots then it's not Windows fault.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Angry

    A new PSU replacement of the same model was installed and the problem is still happening.

    I started up a game and a few seconds later, the graphics output slowed down to probably 10-15 fps for about 5 seconds and then the PC rebooted.

    If it is Windows 10 1803, that's a problem. Installing an earlier version of Windows 10 will automatically, and forcefully, download the latest build the next time it detects an Internet connection.

    I don't know where to look at this point.

    If it is Windows 10 1803, all I can do is rebuild the OS and figure out a way to block Windows 10 Update from running.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Question

    I noticed something interesting in Corsair's Link Commander software.

    It shows motherboard Temp #5 and #6 intermittently reaching 127° C while the system is idle.

    While the system is idle, the CPU cores don't exceed 58° C and the GPU doesn't exceed 53° C.

    What are Temp #5 and #6 on an Asus Maximus VI Gene motherboard ?
    Last edited by Denna; 08-07-2018 at 09:35 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    367

    1803 can be problematic. To go back to 1709 follow the instructions here. https://howtofixwindows.com/uninstal...eators-update/

    You can also prevent 1803 from being installed automatically for up to a year by following instructions in the link. https://www.downloadsource.net/how-t...one-4/n/11638/

  6. #16
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Denna

    CPU Temp 58c at idle?

    It could be hitting 90c and thermal throttling, then hitting 100c and shutting down. Check cpu temps under load.

    127c for motherboard temp is a false reading.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Denna

    CPU Temp 58c at idle?

    It could be hitting 90c and thermal throttling, then hitting 100c and shutting down.

    127c for motherboard temp is a false reading.
    Nate152,

    I should have specified the CPU idles at 24° C and peaks at 58° C. The GPU idles around 24° C and peaks at 53° C. The peaks are probably related to system startup.

    What are temp #5 and #6 readings related to ?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    1803 can be problematic. To go back to 1709 follow the instructions here. https://howtofixwindows.com/uninstal...eators-update/

    You can also prevent 1803 from being installed automatically for up to a year by following instructions in the link. https://www.downloadsource.net/how-t...one-4/n/11638/
    chevell65,

    Unfortunately, I had to delete the Windows.old folder due to running out of space. So a rollback isn't an option.

    The next step is to reformat the SSD and reinstall the previous version of Windows 10.

  9. #19
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    ok, sorry for the misunderstanding. I don't use corsair link so I'm not sure what temp 5 and 6 are referring to.

    Are you using separate 6-pin and 8-pin pcie power cables ?

    I'm on the latest windows 10 (1803 spring creators update) and haven't encountered any sporadic rebooting. Since all was fine before the windows update, you could try an earlier version of windows but as you say it will want to update to the latest version when you run windows update.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    ok, sorry for the misunderstanding. I don't use corsair link so I'm not sure what temp 5 and 6 are referring to.

    Are you using separate 6-pin and 8-pin pcie power cables ?

    I'm on the latest windows 10 (1803 spring creators update) and haven't encountered any sporadic rebooting. Since all was fine before the windows update, you could try an earlier version of windows but as you say it will want to update to the latest version when you run windows update.
    Nate152,

    There is a single PSU 8-pin to GPU 6+8-pin cable.

    I asked Corsair support specifically about this configuration comparing it to using separate 6 and 8-pin cables. The support technician said there would be no difference in power delivery and the choice to use one or two cables was cosmetic.

    Before rebuilding the OS with an older Windows 10 version, I'll try ...

    a) Replace the PSU to GPU cable. Perhaps one of the PSU cable connectors is defective.

    b) Running AIDA64 to run separate CPU, memory and GPU tests. If an intensive CPU or memory test doesn't cause an immediate reboot, but a GPU test does, perhaps the vBIOS needs to be updated. I know the vBIOS is not current. I'm not looking forward to reflashing the vBIOS.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •