Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    283

    Import Saved Bios Settings Into New Bios?

    I saved my bios profile because I overclocked the board, and I didn't want to have to do all the settings over again.

    I flashed a new bios, and when I tried to import the settings, it would not work, which made me feel like these settings saved, are only good on the bios you are on?

    Can saved bios settings, be imported to newer bios, if so, how? Because this isn't working for me.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme, 1301
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C17Q-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #3GPU Tweak II 1.9.7.1 works, no GPU volt monitor since Version 2.8.3.0, shows in LN2 mode only
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK Kit L360
    CaseINWIN 707
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 1903
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ASUS Fan Extension Card
    Accessory #2 ASUS Blu-Ray Drive (BW-16D1HT)
    Accessory #3 ROG 10GB Express

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    129

    Can saved bios settings, be imported to newer bios?


  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    283

    @ASUS, this is STUPID we need to take screen shots, or write down the settings!

    @pndiode

    Thanks

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    It depends on the motherboard. In the Maximus X motherboards, it is possible to save a text file with all the settings of a particular bios profile. Saves the hassle of screenshots. Also, it is not uncommon for different bios versions to have different XMP adjustments that are not obvious. The text file is very comprehensive and these adjustments can be identified.
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    You can save the settings in text form and print those.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    257

    Quote Originally Posted by SlackROG View Post
    @ASUS, this is STUPID we need to take screen shots, or write down the settings!
    It is actually not stupid at all. Each "bios" may work differently and settings and their impact change. Importing settings from xxxa release to xxxb release can cause some users problems. Basically, if you know so little about your overclock you can't make those changes after flashing a new bios you probably shouldn't be overclocking. I change 7 settings each time and it takes me about 30 seconds because I have learned and understand the UEFI environment. I suggest you do the same.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    I have tested with my Biossettings. I make a Backupupimage to the first Saveslot in Bios and on a USB-Stick. Then I make a Bios-Reset and want to restore the Settings with the Backup-Files. But I can't restore. The Process fresses after starting the Restore. I use the latest Bios for my MB (3801). I have testesd this behavior with the second Bios with the original-Version which come with the Mainboard, so this Version have no Problems to restore onlie the newer Versions of the Bios cannot restore.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    283

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    It is actually not stupid at all. Each "bios" may work differently and settings and their impact change. Importing settings from xxxa release to xxxb release can cause some users problems. Basically, if you know so little about your overclock you can't make those changes after flashing a new bios you probably shouldn't be overclocking. I change 7 settings each time and it takes me about 30 seconds because I have learned and understand the UEFI environment. I suggest you do the same.
    I'm a Geek, I've been doing this a very long time.

    So if your comments weren't being rude, then becareful, people may take a comment like this the wrong way as rude.

    My rant was over the hopes that maybe some day things like this can change.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Quote Originally Posted by SlackROG View Post
    I'm a Geek, I've been doing this a very long time.

    So if your comments weren't being rude, then becareful, people may take a comment like this the wrong way as rude.

    My rant was over the hopes that maybe some day things like this can change.
    Well handled
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    283

    Quote Originally Posted by Snakeyes View Post
    Well handled

    Well I was trying to be nice...

    Those parts like;

    it is actually not stupid
    if you know so little
    you probably shouldn't be overclocking
    I suggest you do the same

    Well maybe some others might of thought this is being smart...

    Well gee I've only been on the forum for 5 years, I guess I'm still a noob that doesn't know what he's doing! LOL

    Anyhow...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •