Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by ftln46 View Post
    Yep, this is what I have done so far :

    Cmos cleared
    Started with default bios setting
    Set XMP
    No Boot, No windows loading screen
    After a few minutes mothorboard boots and asks me to press F1 to configure the bios
    Shutdown
    Clear CMOS
    Boot to bios
    Set overclock to manual
    disable MCE
    Set cpu voltage to 1.25 Manual & VCCIO/SA set to 1.225
    Manual Ram timings 19-19-19-39
    Set memory speed to 3400
    Boot = OK
    Restart to bios & set memory to 3700
    Boot = OK
    Restart to bios & set memory to 3766
    Boot = KO

    Tested same cpu and memory on xcode and no issues booting from default bios with memory at xmp 4000
    lets wait for z390 together

  2. #32
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    Ok nice, if it does struggle to boot you can also try to set RTL Init to 69 when using the timings ive posted.
    Be sure to test stability and look out for data corruption. The refresh interval that was recommended may not be suitable for 16GB DIMMs. Best test method is to set the system to S3 resume. If the refresh interval is too high there will likely be some issues resuming from sleep states on occasion.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 07-25-2018 at 07:40 AM.

  3. #33
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    Well i tested two of these https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3600c15d-16gtz kits in two different formula boards and XMP just doesnt work no matter what you do its not going to be stable, tested all bios versions, adjusted all voltage settings it doesnt work stable with the speed. This kit is in the Asus QVL for the Formula but not in G.Skills. I drove 2hours to a friend to check if my CPU and KIT's XMP profile would work on his HeroX (which is in G.Skills QVL) and it works stable flawlessly 10000% coverage with Karhu Ramtest didnt even had to adjust anything. Explanation please?
    I'm having exact same problem. I also have 3600C15 kit from G.SKill and can'get 3600C15 to work no matter what. Always getting errors on Karhu Ramtest. My motherboard is Z370-F Strix (and cpu 8700k) though. 3200C14 works fine but 3600C15 seems to be impossible no matter what settings I change. G.Skill would rma my mem kit but I really don't know anymore if it's my ram or motherboard/cpu since reading these topics here.

  4. #34
    ROG Member Array ftln46 PC Specs
    ftln46 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Z370-I Strix
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8086K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #11080 TI
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1NVME PCIe 2 x 1024TB
    CPU CoolerH110i
    CaseNZXT MANTA
    Power SupplyCorsair HX650

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by confu View Post
    I'm having exact same problem. I also have 3600C15 kit from G.SKill and can'get 3600C15 to work no matter what. Always getting errors on Karhu Ramtest. My motherboard is Z370-F Strix (and cpu 8700k) though. 3200C14 works fine but 3600C15 seems to be impossible no matter what settings I change. G.Skill would rma my mem kit but I really don't know anymore if it's my ram or motherboard/cpu since reading these topics here.
    Your only gonna find out by testing your ram cpu on another board.

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carbonicdk PC Specs
    Carbonicdk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX1080TI O11G GAMING
    Sound CardSchiit Modi 2 Uber
    MonitorAsus MG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960Evo
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 - Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Platinum Series AX860
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    Well i tested two of these https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3600c15d-16gtz kits in two different formula boards and XMP just doesnt work no matter what you do its not going to be stable, tested all bios versions, adjusted all voltage settings it doesnt work stable with the speed. This kit is in the Asus QVL for the Formula but not in G.Skills. I drove 2hours to a friend to check if my CPU and KIT's XMP profile would work on his HeroX (which is in G.Skills QVL) and it works stable flawlessly 10000% coverage with Karhu Ramtest didnt even had to adjust anything. Explanation please?
    Since the Z370 platforms memory controller is in the CPU chip is sounds like it might be your friends CPU that's better, not his motherboard. It's just a guesstimate ofc. you can't really rule out these things unless you have several RAM kits, several motherboards and several CPUs.

  6. #36
    ROG Member Array ftln46 PC Specs
    ftln46 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Z370-I Strix
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8086K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #11080 TI
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1NVME PCIe 2 x 1024TB
    CPU CoolerH110i
    CaseNZXT MANTA
    Power SupplyCorsair HX650

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Carbonicdk View Post
    Since the Z370 platforms memory controller is in the CPU chip is sounds like it might be your friends CPU that's better, not his motherboard. It's just a guesstimate ofc. you can't really rule out these things unless you have several RAM kits, several motherboards and several CPUs.
    He used his own cpu and ram on another motherboard and got a much higher speed. So all points to motherboard crapping out.

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    364

    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    I think its the same reason why my board gets 3600CL15 on the QVL, speeds just arent guaranteed. As long as the stick works and was tested it gets into the Asus QVL. G.Skill QVL is much more enlightened.
    Now where have I heard that before? The QVL at G.SKILL seems to be right on the money for every last board that Asus makes.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    You know, Karhu is still running for 3hours at the screenshot ive posted . Do you think there is even a slight chance that this CPU could be unstable? NO there isnt, should be proof enough that it is his 24/7 OC and fully stable. You just have a worse chip than him. Infact your chip is even worse than mine.

    The proof that you want so hard:
    https://abload.de/image.php?img=5400w1sdc.png
    Bro....I'm actually impressed.....care to start another post/thread to discuss??....As this has nothing to do with the original post here...You can actually chime into this thread …. https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...3ghz-overclock
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 07-26-2018 at 04:11 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Carbonicdk View Post
    Since the Z370 platforms memory controller is in the CPU chip is sounds like it might be your friends CPU that's better, not his motherboard. It's just a guesstimate ofc. you can't really rule out these things unless you have several RAM kits, several motherboards and several CPUs.
    You didnt read correctly, i used MY CPU and MY RAM in his MOTHERBOARD.

  10. #40
    ROG Junior Member Array accutronitis PC Specs
    accutronitis PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo Model A1211
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K Delidded Rockit Cool Copper IHS
    Memory (part number)GSkill DDR4 TridentZ RGB 4133Mhz 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX Titan
    Sound CardSupremeFX S1220A
    MonitorVizio TV
    Storage #1Oracle 3.2 TB NVMe SSD PCIe Card
    Storage #2Intel x4 SSD Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCool Master Liquid, Rockit Cool Copper IHS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W
    OS Windows 7 Forever !
    Network RouterNETGEAR Router DGND3700V2
    accutronitis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I'm finally running my ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming with the 5G OC Profile BUT with the CPU voltage set to 1.280 and the XMP 4000Mhz profile with 3 sticks of GSkill DDR4 TridentZ 4000Mhz 4GB each after I updated my motherboard with the 2001 bios and the ME_Intel_v11.8.65.3590 and now it running with no probs, I don't know if those updates had anything to do with it or not?

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •