Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by etacarinae View Post
    Do you have any pictures of your setup? Did you use any of these u.2 extension cables to clean things up a bit given the Sata power connector getting in the way? I've got four 905p ready to go for half of your setup. Just waiting for funds for purchasing my case.
    I don't have pics but I use this case:
    Thermaltake Tower 900 Black Tempered Glass Fully Modular E-ATX Vertical Super Tower Chassis CA-1H1-00F1WN-00

    And I use the u.2 to m.2 extension cables that came with the Intel 900P drives and the drives are in the back part of the case you cannot see them but there are 8 cables directed back there 4 from each card,

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array etacarinae PC Specs
    etacarinae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade 15 Advanced / RZ09-02386E91
    MotherboardAsus ROG RVIEE / Bios 0070
    ProcessorIntel I9 10980xe
    Memory (part number)128GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz C14 / F4-3000C14Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
    Monitor3*Asus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905p 1.5TB HH
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
    Headset/Speakers KEF LS50
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000
    etacarinae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    I don't have pics but I use this case:
    Thermaltake Tower 900 Black Tempered Glass Fully Modular E-ATX Vertical Super Tower Chassis CA-1H1-00F1WN-00

    And I use the u.2 to m.2 extension cables that came with the Intel 900P drives and the drives are in the back part of the case you cannot see them but there are 8 cables directed back there 4 from each card,
    Ah okay, so it's mostly out of sight. I'm planning to lay out 4 905p U.2 the same place the Toshiba SSDs are in the below build.



    Did you also have to leave off the top metal hyper m.2 chassis to allow room for the m.2 to u.2 cables? Also, how did you find the latency? Chris Ramseyer ‏of Tweaktown claimed the latency introduced by these in raid0 isn't worth it.
    Intel Core i9 10980XE | ASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME ENCORE | EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra | 128GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz C14
    Intel Optane 905P 1.5TB HH PCIe | 2*4TB Samsung EVO 860 | 8TB Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe | 4*14TB Seagate Ironwolf Pro
    Corsair AX1600i | EK-AIO 360 D-RGB | Phanteks Enthoo Elite Satin Black | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | 3*ASUS PG279Q
    Razer Mamba Elite | Razer Huntsman Elite / RAMA u80-A Lake

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by etacarinae View Post
    Ah okay, so it's mostly out of sight. I'm planning to lay out 4 905p U.2 the same place the Toshiba SSDs are in the below build.



    Did you also have to leave off the top metal hyper m.2 chassis to allow room for the m.2 to u.2 cables? Also, how did you find the latency? Chris Ramseyer ‏of Tweaktown claimed the latency introduced by these in raid0 isn't worth it.
    I left off the covers but you could prolly use a Dremel on the end and attach them and it would look better. I have a 10Gb network and I run multiple VMs so these drives in RAID 0 are worth it for me. It really depends on your use. I doubt his testing is valid for most users who have a specific need like mine. If I used the covers I would paint them black.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 01-21-2019 at 08:38 PM.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    One last note the faster you OC the faster your VROC is.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Old thread but since I just did a build related to this I wanted to add some important information.

    If you are using U.2 drives you can use the V1 or V2 without issue as the drives are powered independently.

    If you are using M.2 905P drives you MUST use the V2. The power delivery of the V1 card is not sufficient to power 4 905P drives, the V2 is.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #1Samsung EVO Plus 970 1TB/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5
    Accessory #2 Dual Loop Custom Watercooling

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Is there any way, with two Graphics cards, to recognize more than 4 SSD's using the Hyper M.2 16 V2?

    I've got a V2 populated with Intel 760p 512g's and Samsung 1TB EVO Plus's populating my Dimm.2 for a total of 7 drives, but can't seem to get more than 4 to show up.

    I have two 1080ti's and a i9-7920x so I realize I'm limited to 12 lanes for drives, and I'm not looking to RAID a boot drive, but would like to RAID the drives on the Hyper V2 as a storage drive, or at least get more than one drive to come up.

    I've read through all the old threads on VROC, but there is so much conflicting info its a little confusing.

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    378

    Quote Originally Posted by Megalamaniac View Post
    Is there any way, with two Graphics cards, to recognize more than 4 SSD's using the Hyper M.2 16 V2?

    I've got a V2 populated with Intel 760p 512g's and Samsung 1TB EVO Plus's populating my Dimm.2 for a total of 7 drives, but can't seem to get more than 4 to show up.

    I have two 1080ti's and a i9-7920x so I realize I'm limited to 12 lanes for drives, and I'm not looking to RAID a boot drive, but would like to RAID the drives on the Hyper V2 as a storage drive, or at least get more than one drive to come up.

    I've read through all the old threads on VROC, but there is so much conflicting info its a little confusing.
    Thing is lane limtations. Each drive takes 4 lanes. As soon as you populate the 3rd slot the second and 3rd become X8. The best you can do with two GPUs is one card running at X8 which means you can only populate with 2 drives. With this platform you cant have your cake and eat it too. You can run 2 cards at X16 and an antiquated GPU in the bottom slot. You get 40 lanes to use across the PCIE slots. The other 4 go to the PCH via the DMI bus. 2 GPUs at X16 leaves 8 which is two drives. You can run two cards at X8 with two drives in each but one of your GPUs will be at X8. With 1080Tis it doesnt matter as they dont use all the bandwidth of X8 much less X16, The 2080Ti is the first one that actually surpasses the X8 bandwidth and not by all the much.

    I know CharlieH had 8 drives running but had a cheap older GPU as he needed the drives more than the GPU for his purposes.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •