Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 95
  1. #51
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    ok so if i under stand this correctly

    go back to adaptive volts with these settings

    multy =52
    avx offset = - 1
    adaptive mode = totaly adaptive volts =1.392 v
    offset=auto ( 0 )
    svid to = on
    svid best case cinario
    load line =6
    ia/dc load line = 0.01

    and i shouldnt get those 1.392v up to 1.430 v spikes witha avx offset of -1 witch i already use a -1 offset in manual mode right now ?
    Yeah, only reduce LLC to level 5 and tune up target vCore if necessary
    I’ve already figured that LLC6 does greater overshoot in adaptive than in manual

  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array Cheesy86 PC Specs
    Cheesy86 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus - Prime Z370-A ATX
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-8700K 3.7GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair - Vengeance RGB 32GB CMR32GX4M2D3000C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA - GeForce GTX 1080 8GB FTW DT GAMING
    MonitorAsus mx279H
    Storage #1Samsung - 960 EVO 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate - Barracuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair - H100i v2
    CaseFractal Design - Define R6
    Power SupplySeaSonic - FOCUS Plus Gold 750W 80+ Gold
    OS windows 10 64 bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    DMT,

    Nice to hear that I wasn't the only one with this issue. I was only trying to get to 4.9GHZ and I can do it with full stability running manual vcore with 1.295V. Im talking about running AIDA64, Cinebench, Realbench, OCCT and Intel's burn test. Cant get stable in manual, go figure. Going to check out your link. Any advice for a newbie OC you got?

  3. #53
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I am new to this forum, so first of all - hello to everybody.

    I have been struggling with this for over two weeks now (since I switched to Strix Z370 after Z68) and having red what you are saying here correct me if I am wrong:
    - you can never set lower Additional adaptive turbo voltage than what the CPU VID tables says at particular moment for a specific muli-ratio?
    - what is the difference between adaptive with offset and offset alone mode? In adaptive you can limit the max Vcore despite the VID demand, and in only offset mode you are always going along the VID's table with that particular offset?

    Looking forward to your thoughts...

  4. #54
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    hey, turn off "aware adaptive voltage" if you have that on, its crazy. I have the same board, and my "adaptive" voltage setting is 1.000v with -0.100 for a total of 0.900v and hwinfo still reads 1.168 under load which is perfect but that's not what I entered.

    but when I had "aware adaptive voltage" on, it didn't matter what voltage I put in, it shot atleast 1.37v whatever setting I had.

    so I would suggest you up the switching frequency 50-100khz and check your settings. the vrm on maximus is good enough for 300khz but I run 350, it might be more sensitive with 8700k. I have 8600k.

  5. #55
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    [QUOTE=metadist;730151]Hi Carlyle

    Thanks!
    May be I have some misunderstanding of how Adaptive mode is supposed to work.
    see 1.35+0.5=1.40 V instead of supposed cap of 1.35. I believe @dmt.taran

    1.35+0.5=1.85 not 1.40.. do not put those numbers in lads. +0.05 is what he means

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    I set my Strix Z370F adaptative 1.200, LLC to 5, 4.5ghz on 8700k, still getting overshots like 0.048, 1.248. Tried EVERYTHING, there is no way around it. Sometimes i think setting a manual voltage and let it be. There will be degradation over time with constante voltage, but at least it will suply the right amont of vcore...dont know whos to blame for it, Asus or Intel, as i've only used asus for my cpu...
    Last edited by XPredator13; 09-13-2018 at 01:20 PM.

  7. #57
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Following what was said here already I think that LLC level has quite an impact on this.
    To contribute, in my case (exact same board) I set AV=1.23V, offset= -0,01 and by LLC=4 and multiplier ratio 48 I get Vcore: min. 1.200V, max 1.246V, average 1.216V, so overshot is ca. 0.026.


    Quote Originally Posted by XPredator13 View Post
    overshots like 0.48, 1.248. T
    I believe you missed a zero here...

  8. #58
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by regular_user View Post
    Following what was said here already I think that LLC level has quite an impact on this.
    To contribute, in my case (exact same board) I set AV=1.23V, offset= -0,01 and by LLC=4 and multiplier ratio 48 I get Vcore: min. 1.200V, max 1.246V, average 1.216V, so overshot is ca. 0.026.




    I believe you missed a zero here...
    LOL, edited! I've tried everything, always results in overshot...i think its 8th gen nature...

  9. #59
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    245

    Quote Originally Posted by XPredator13 View Post
    LOL, edited! I've tried everything, always results in overshot...i think its 8th gen nature...
    adaptive is broken allways over shoot by 0.30 -0.60 .... if u you use lessloadline cali then its still bad but tiny bit better but then you get under shoot on load and get a whea error . so you use a offset but then the offset doesnt work right and its still over shoots . asus needs to fix this . and the borked audio on the z 370 scrathcy , static , un balanced sound .

    back to manual 5.2 gzh @ 1.392v

  10. #60
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by regular_user View Post
    Following what was said here already I think that LLC level has quite an impact on this.
    To contribute, in my case (exact same board) I set AV=1.23V, offset= -0,01 and by LLC=4 and multiplier ratio 48 I get Vcore: min. 1.200V, max 1.246V, average 1.216V, so overshot is ca. 0.026.
    I need to correct my numbers so I am not misinforming you (was giving them out from my memory) - in fact I have the setting of adaptive voltage = 1.24V (not 1.23) with minus offset -0.01. With this when gaming I got Vcore min = 1.200 and max = 1.264. So the overshot is like 0.034V and on the other end we have like 0.03V less than setpoint.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •