Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 95
  1. #61
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    maximus x hero

    You guys must test your adaptive settings, and check if "aware adaptive" is on, if that is on, doesn't matter what you do the cpu will demand and MB will deliver. almost always overshoots.

    But test the settings, for example: I have my adaptive set to 1.000 negative offset to 0.100 for a total of 0.900, it works in bios but in windows I have 1.16 - 1.18 under load and goes to 1.200 sometimes (just a spike) but there is no amps being drawn at 1.2 so it doesn't matter.

    that is the settings I have tested my way too. in the beginning I had up to 1.43 volts with adaptive settings way lower. and it has nothing to do with LLC. it is just different quality parts for each board and settings being different for different quality silicon. that's why everyone has to test their way or you could destroy something.

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Intel 600P , 512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z-5300 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    243

    there is no "aware adaptive " on asus z 370 x hero . i dont feel like running 5.2 ghz stable @ 1.392v and switch to adaptive and get spikes to 1.45 - 1.49v in adaptive mode no thanks lmao . i hope this can get sorted out

  3. #63
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    ok

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    there is no "aware adaptive " on asus z 370 x hero . i dont feel like running 5.2 ghz stable @ 1.392v and switch to adaptive and get spikes to 1.45 - 1.49v in adaptive mode no thanks lmao . i hope this can get sorted out

    of course there is, if you have svid settings turned on... well it is not gonna spike under load. the difference between a good overclock and a bad one is the person behind the wheel.. so to speak.

  4. #64
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Intel 600P , 512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z-5300 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    243

    you spelled it wrong , its called svid = best case cinario , svid behavior to = on , of corase i have those on silly billy . doesnt help the spikes and yes ia / dc load line is set to lowest 0.01 asus has voltege spikes period in adaptive and its bad .

  5. #65
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    you spelled it wrong , its called svid = best case cinario , svid behavior to = on , of corase i have those on silly billy . doesnt help the spikes and yes ia / dc load line is set to lowest 0.01 asus has voltege spikes period in adaptive and its bad .
    no no, I didn't if you enable everything with SVID, a new option appears above the voltage settings called "aware adaptive voltage", I checked my bios recently when we were talking about it. if you have it on, the cpu demands what it "think" it needs and the mb delivers that. and it almost always overshoots. but if you don't have that option present I think its safe to say that in your case you have it turned off. since you run full power no shower to your cpu all the time I don't think this applies to you and asus adaptive is not broken it is just finicky you have to test and shut down and test again.


    but for everyone else I think this could be why adaptive is acting up.. I am 80% sure that it is SVID settings that enables this option and its not a hard thing to accidently turn it on if you are setting up an adaptive voltage setting..

  6. #66
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    here you go bubba

    i missed the "BCLK" before aware adaptive.. lul… you should have understood anyway mr.overclock (and no photoshop)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos untitledasdasd.jpg  


  7. #67
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    I think this option is present on the lower end boards as well, think it was on my tuf z370 plus also..

  8. #68
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    Could also be called cpu svid support
    Friend said it caused cpu voltage spikes on his board z370 apex too, disabled it doesn't.

    There is also a dram svid support option too.
    Last edited by ThrashZone; 09-22-2018 at 11:26 AM.

  9. #69
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    Could also be called cpu svid support
    Friend said it caused cpu voltage spikes on his board z370 apex too, disabled it doesn't.

    There is also a dram svid support option too.

    I think it is a mix of bad settings giving people voltage spikes, I have everything SVID related turned on except "BCLK aware adaptive voltage" and I just ran a game for 2 hours with logging and it stays between 1.156 - 1.168 (no spikes, adaptive voltage) at 4.7ghz all core. cache at 4.3ghz. and then when I go to idle it winds down to 800mhz core and cache with a solid 0.672 v

    I think this cpu will last me a long while
    Last edited by kalle-m; 09-22-2018 at 04:42 PM.

  10. #70
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    Yeah x99 I use +0.010 and +1.340 and it pretty much maxes at 1.35v
    X299 I use the negative because it will spike no matter what but very different numbers -0.035 and -1.185 and it turns out to be somewhat close to 1.3v

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •